facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
Print this review

Review of Nokia C5 GSM/UMTS

Live photos of Nokia C5

Contents:

  1. Positioning
  2. Design, size, controls
  3. Display
  4. Keypad
  5. Battery
  6. Memory
  7. USB, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi
  8. Camera
  9. Software details
  10. Impressions

In the box:

  • Phone
  • USB cable CA-101D
  • 2 GB memory card
  • Wired Stereo Headset WH-102
  • AC-8 Charger
  • BL-5CT Battery
  • User guide

Positioning

This model is offered as a variation of Nokia 6303i with bigger keypad and S60, which is not important with the small screen. The handset attracts attention with 135 price tag at the beginning, but it is anyway higher than the current price of Nokia 6303. We have a niche solution and it will become popular only on separate markets among limited groups of consumers.

I will not explain for the second time why we cannot view this handset as a smartphone. It has been already done in the review of Nokia 6700 Slide.

This model is for those who like classic candybar phones with large buttons and use them for calls and in a lesser degree for text messaging and other purposes. Such consumers need good value for money and quality frame materials. Nokia C5 had to offer these features, but due to the bestseller on S40 this model will be less popular with its higher price. This is a model for impulse buying by people who like Nokia brand and are used to its candybar phones.

For the Chinese market the company offers a similar model with the identical index, but it has 5 MP camera and bigger screen. There are other differences and you should not be mistaken.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Design, size, controls

This neat candybar with classic design is available in two colors white and dark grey. We reviewed a dark grey model with chrome band around the front cover and dark grey keypad. The back cover is made of silver colored metal with matted spraying. This spraying can wear off if scratched. The lower part features more bright metal. It is not the end of the world and if the back cover loses its matted spraying it will look homogeneous, but can irritate nonetheless.

Dual volume control button is on the right side and is sunk into the frame, which is not very convenient. Memory card slot is situated there as well and is closed with the fold out cap. The cap is not always easy to open.

The top features 3.5 mm headset jack, the standard charging socket and the microUSB connector (charging is supported).


Phone dimensions are 1124612.3 mm (4.40"x1.81"x0.48"), weight - 89 g (3.13 oz). The handset fits a shirt or a jeans pocket well.

Nokia C5 vs Nokia 6700 Slide:

Back to the table of contents >>>

Display

The handset uses 2.2" display with QVGA (240320) resolution. TFT matrix can boast of up to 16 million colors, picture brightness is average, but it is well visible under various conditions. In general the display is balanced, though it trails other Nokia models of the current generation. The screen fits up to 8 text lines and 3 status lines. In some modes you can see up to 14 text lines. The fonts are well legible.

In the sun visibility of information on the screen becomes an issue, first of all due to its size.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Keypad

Navigation key is large and pleasant to work with. Numeric keypad is raised and easy to use. Backlight of white color starts automatically, is always visible and balanced. The keypad is quite convenient. There are no complaints here.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Battery

The phone is equipped with Li-Ion Battery BL-5CT of 1050 mAh. The manufacturer claims that the handset can work up to 12 hours in talk time mode and 630 hours on standby. If we compare this time with the results for the majority of the latest Nokia phones, we will see that our handset can stay alive two times longer. In real life the more long lasting models will work for 24 hours in such a mode, while this phone gives you 2.5-3 days.

Music playback time is up to 29 hours, video recording with maximum quality 180 minutes.

The average operation time in European networks is around 2.5-3 days. It includes 1 hour of talk time, you can also take two dozens of pictures, record around 2 minutes of video and have up to 2 hours of music or radio playback time. It takes about 2 hours for a full recharge.

The maximum operation time in different modes is the following:

  • Video playback – 8.5 hours
  • WEB surfing (EDGE connection) – 3.5 hours
  • Music playback with the use of headset – 32 hours
  • Radio – 32 hours

Back to the table of contents >>>

Memory

The handset offers 128 MB of storage with 56 MB of free memory available for the user at the start. The traditional problem remains the same: when you open heavy web pages the phone may close the browser. In general, if you dont visit websites you wont experience any problems.

Around 50 MB of memory in the phone itself are available to users. You can store any data here.

The phone uses microSD memory cards, hot swappable, 2 GB in box, expandable to 16 GB.

Back to the table of contents >>>

USB, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi

USB. In USB settings 3 modes are available:

  • Data Transfer (Mass Storage USB) – here you have access to the phone memory and memory card without any drivers. The OS sees the phone without any help.
  • PC Suite – work with Nokia PC Suite, access to all handset functions, backup of all information, etc.
  • Image Print – photo printing.

Data transfer speed reaches 1 Mb/s.

Bluetooth. This smartphone uses Bluetooth version 2.0 with EDR support. The phone supports the following modules:

  • A2DP
  • AVCRP
  • BIP-ImagePush
  • DUN-GW
  • FT-Server
  • HandsFree-AG (1.0)
  • Headset-AG
  • OBEX
  • OPP-Client
  • OPP-Server
  • SIM Access-Server

Data transfer speed via Bluetooth reaches on average 100 Kb/s. We tested the transfer of stereo to a headset like Sony Ericsson DS970. Tracks handling, rewinding and skipping work without any problems, but the name of the track played at that time is not displayed on the screen.

Wi-Fi. This model doesnt support Wi-Fi.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Camera

The phone features 3.2- megapixel CMOS module with fixed focus and LED flash. It is a simple camera, which will not set the world on fire, but you can take pictures. This solution is typical for low end models. However, look at the pictures.

Samples of camera shots:

Video is recorded in VGA resolution (15 frames per second).

Video sample (mp4, 5,7 MB) >>>

Back to the table of contents >>>

Software details

By and large everything is quite standard for S60 platform and as far as we have described all standard functions we invite you to read the corresponding material.

S60 3rd edition Feature Pack 2

The phone has no additional applications, but Bounce. Cost cutting can be seen everywhere. We have to mention the unusual though Nokia tips on how to use the phone. There is nothing spectacular, just pop-up help.

Let me show you the screenshots from the handset without any classification according to the software used.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Impressions

The ringtone volume is enough for the majority of situations, but its sound is not very clear. The same can be said about the performance of the speaker during the talk. There is a bit of vibration and the sound is not clear enough. I deliberately checked it with a number of phones on sale and in every case I had the same result. The quality of connection was normal, but the speaker spoils the picture. The same can be seen in Nokia 6730 Classic and Nokia 6700 Slide. It must be a sign of a low-end phone.

This model has typical features and capabilities. The absence of Wi-Fi can be a downside for those who use the appropriate features as you cannot stay online through GPRS without paying fortunes. Another drawback, apart from the already mentioned frame wear off, is unstable software. In particular, on the video you can see how the handset reloads when you enter the gallery and work with the camera (our sample was a fully functional commercial handset). The absence of the camera button does not irritate as much as this issue. I am sure that in subsequent firmware versions it will be addressed and the phone will be stable. I am also sure that the buyers of this model do not need the camera much.

The handset is priced at 135 and up. The price is high and the purchases will be either impulsive or its owners will have definite expectations as to the phone.

Surprisingly, I came to the same conclusions as in the case of Nokia 6700 Slide, which is another niche phone. I will repeat here that this model is interesting as a phone for calls. If your expectations are not too high, the handset will not disappoint you. It is a pleasant phone with expected flaws, but surprisingly without rivals. It is unrivaled, because in this price range similar phones are just not offered. The power of Nokia brand will do the trick and the model will have reasonable sales, at least in the beginning. Then its popularity will subside to a moderate level.

Do you want to talk about this? Please, go to our Forum and let your opinion be known to the author and everybody else.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Related links

Review of Nokia 6700 Slide GSM/UMTS phone

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Livejournal

Published — 08 June 2010

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Версия для печати Блоггерам

Обзор GSM/UMTS-телефона Nokia C5

Фотографии Nokia C5 в интерьере

Содержание:

  1. Позиционирование
  2. Дизайн, размеры, управляющие элементы
  3. Дисплей
  4. Клавиатура
  5. Аккумулятор
  6. Память
  7. USB, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi
  8. Камера
  9. Программные особенности аппарата
  10. Впечатления

Комплектация

  • Телефон
  • USB-кабель CA-101D
  • Карта памяти 2 ГБ
  • Проводная стереогарнитура WH-102
  • Зарядное устройство AC-8
  • Аккумулятор BL-5CT
  • Инструкция

Позиционирование

Модель выступает вариантом Nokia 6303i с большей клавиатурой и наличием S60, которая не играет никакой роли при небольшом размере дисплея. Этот аппарат привлекателен ценой в 135 Евро на старте, но это все равно выше, чем стоимость Nokia 6303. Получается этакое нишевое решение, которое будет востребовано только на ряде рынков и небольшим числом людей.

Второй раз описывать, почему считать этот продукт смартфоном невозможно, я не буду. Это сделано в обзоре Nokia 6700 Slide.

Позиционирование модели - для тех, кто любит классические моноблоки с большими клавишами, использует телефон для звонков, в меньшей степени для SMS и других функций. При этом ищет неплохое соотношение цена/качество и обращает внимание на материалы корпуса. Все это и попытались дать в Nokia C5, но случилась незадача в виде бестселлера на S40, и поэтому данная модель осталась невостребованной при более высокой стоимости. Импульсивная покупка для тех, кто любит марку Nokia и привык к ее моноблокам.

Для китайского рынка компания выпустила модель с таким же индексом, но ее отличает 5-мегапиксельная камера и больший дисплей, имеется и ряд других отличий. Не стоит путать эти аппараты.

К содержанию >>>

Дизайн, размеры, управляющие элементы

Аккуратный моноблок со спокойным дизайном, он доступен в двух цветовых решениях – белом и темно-сером. В обзоре у нас аппарат темного цвета, по лицевой стороне идет кант из хромированного пластика, а вот клавиатура темно-серая. Задняя крышка из металла, она серебристая и покрыта матовым напылением. Это напыление может начать истираться, если вы поцарапаете его. Внизу – более яркий металл. Огромной проблемы нет, облезет крышка и снова станет однородной. Но некая раздражающая мелочь в этом все-таки скрывается.

На правой боковой стороне находится спаренная клавиша регулировки громкости, она сильно утоплена в корпус, нажимать на нее не очень удобно. Тут же слот для карты памяти, он прикрыт откидывающейся заглушкой. Открыть ее сразу не всегда получается, трудно поддеть крышку.

На верхнем торце находится разъем 3.5 мм для гарнитуры, стандартный разъем для зарядного устройства, а также microUSB-разъем (поддерживается зарядка).


Размер телефона – 112х46х12.3 мм, вес 89 грамм. Аппарат хорошо помещается в карман рубашки или джинсов.

Сравнение с Nokia 6700 Slide:

К содержанию >>>

Дисплей

В аппарате применяется 2.2-дюймовый дисплей с разрешением QVGA (240х320 точек). Дисплей отображает до 16 миллионов цветов (TFT), картинка средняя по яркости, но хорошо видна в различных условиях. В целом, экран оставляет спокойное впечатление, хотя и уступает другим моделям последнего поколения от Nokia. На экране отображается до 8 строк текста и до 3 служебных строк. В отдельных режимах может показываться до 14 строк текста. Шрифт хорошо читаемый.

На солнце экран становится плохо видим. В первую очередь, это связано с его размером.

К содержанию >>>

Клавиатура

Навигационная клавиша большая, она приятна в работе. Цифровая клавиатура выпуклая, с ней приятно работать. Без всяких скидок. Подсветка включается автоматически, она белого цвета, видна всегда неплохо, равномерная. Клавиатура вполне удобна, не вызывает никаких нареканий.

К содержанию >>>

Аккумулятор

В телефоне применяется литий-ионный аккумулятор BL-5CT, он имеет емкость 1050 мАч. По заявлению производителя, телефон способен проработать до 12 часов в режиме разговора, до 630 часов в режиме ожидания. Если сравнить заявленное время работы этого аппарата с большинством последних моделей от Nokia, то мы увидим почти двукратную разницу. Но на практике более долгоживущие модели работают при сходном профиле использования около суток, а этот аппарат - 2.5-3 дня.

Время проигрывания музыки – до 29 часов, записи видео в максимальном качестве – до 180 минут.

Время работы аппарата в среднем составляет около 2.5-3 дней в условиях европейских сотовых сетей. При этом вы можете поговорить до одного часа, сделать пару десятков снимков, записать пару минут видео и до двух часов прослушивать радио или музыку. Время полной зарядки аккумулятора – около 2 часов.

Приведем максимальное время работы в различных режимах:

  • Просмотр видео – 8.5 часов
  • WEB-серфинг (EDGE-соединение) – 3.5 часа
  • Прослушивание музыки в наушниках – 32 часа
  • Радио – 32 часа

К содержанию >>>

Память

В аппарате 128 МБ оперативной памяти, при загрузке пользователю доступно около 56 МБ свободной памяти. Сохраняется извечная проблема: при запуске тяжелых страниц в веб-браузере телефон может закрывать его. В целом, если не смотреть веб, то проблем как таковых не будет.

Пользователю доступно около 50 МБ памяти в самом аппарате, в ней можно хранить любые данные.

Карты памяти microSD, поддерживается их «горячая» замена, в комплекте – карта на 2 ГБ. Максимальный объем карт памяти ограничен картами на 16 ГБ.

К содержанию >>>

USB, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi

USB. В USB-настройках можно выбрать один из 3 режимов работы:

  • Data Transfer (Mass Storage USB) – видны как память телефона, так и карты памяти, не требуется никаких драйверов, ОС сама опознает телефон.
  • PC Suite – работа с Nokia PC Suite, доступ ко всем функциям аппарата, резервное копирование всей информации и так далее.
  • Image Print – печать фотографий.

Скорость передачи данных составляет около 1 МБ/c.

Bluetooth. Версия Bluetooth в смартфоне – 2.0 с поддержкой EDR. Аппарат поддерживает следующие профили:

  • A2DP
  • AVCRP
  • BIP-ImagePush
  • DUN-GW
  • FT-Server
  • HandsFree-AG (1.0)
  • Headset-AG
  • OBEX
  • OPP-Client
  • OPP-Server
  • SIM Access-Server

Скорость передачи данных по Bluetooth составляет в среднем 100 КБ/с. Мы проверили работу передачи стереозвука на такую гарнитуру как Sony Ericsson DS970. Управление композициями, перемотка, перескок работают без проблем, в то же время название текущей композиции на экране не отображается.

Wi-Fi. В этой модели нет Wi-Fi.

К содержанию >>>

Камера

В телефоне используется 3.2-мегапиксельный CMOS-модуль с фиксированным фокусом, а также светодиодной вспышкой. Обычная камера, которая не хватает звезд с небес и позволяет получать снимки. Это явно бюджетный вариант во всех смыслах. Впрочем, посмотрите фотографии.

Примеры снимков с камеры:

Видео аппарат пишет в разрешении VGA (15 кадров).

Пример видео (mp4, 5,7 мб) >>>

К содержанию >>>

Программные особенности аппарата

По большому счету, все стандартно для платформы S60, и мы описали все стандартные функции, приглашаем прочитать соответствующий материал.

Платформа S60 третьего издания Feature Pack 2

В телефоне нет никаких дополнительных приложений, только игра Bounce. Это - попытка сэкономить на всем. Из необычного стоит отметить наличие советов от Nokia по использованию телефона. Ничего особенного, просто всплывающие подсказки.

Позвольте показать вам скриншоты с устройства без особого деления их по программам.

К содержанию >>>


Впечатления

Громкость звонка вполне достаточна для большинства ситуаций, но звучит звонок не очень чисто. То же самое можно сказать о качестве динамика во время разговора. Есть небольшое дребезжание, звук не очень чистый. Специально проверил на нескольких продаваемых аппаратах, везде одно и то же. Качество связи при этом нормальное, но динамик несколько портит картину. Та же картина на Nokia 6730 Classic и Nokia 6700 Slide. Это, видимо, признак бюджетного аппарата.

Данная модель типична по функциональности, возможностям. Отсутствие Wi-Fi является минусом для всех, кто использует те или иные возможности, постоянно сидеть в сети через пакетную передачу данных будет накладно. К минусам, помимо упомянутого истирания корпуса, стоит отнести нестабильность ПО. В частности, на видео вы можете увидеть, как перезагружается аппарат при входе в галерею, то же самое происходит и при работе с камерой (это полностью рабочий, коммерческий аппарат). Отсутствие клавиши камеры не раздражает так сильно, как эта проблема. Уверен, что ее исправят в последующих прошивках, и тогда аппарат станет вполне стабильным. Также уверен, что покупателям этой модели камера особо не нужна.

Стоимость аппарата в Европе 135 Евро и выше, в России он доступен только в компании Связной по цене 7590 рублей. Цена высокая, поэтому продажи будут носить импульсивный характер, либо люди, напротив, будут четко понимать, чего они ожидают от этого телефона.

Удивительное дело, но выводы, сделанные для Nokia 6700 Slide, подходят и для этого нишевого аппарата. Повторю их: эта модель интересна как вариант телефона для звонков. Если не ожидать чрезмерно много, то телефон оправдает ваши надежды. Приятный аппарат с ожидаемыми минусами и отсутствием каких-либо конкурентов. Но конкуренты отсутствуют не из-за того, что модель настолько великолепна, а в силу того, что в данном ценовом сегменте такие аппараты не востребованы. Понятно, что сила марки Nokia сыграет свою роль, и модель будет продаваться. По крайней мере, первое время - точно, затем продажи спадут, и аппарат станет умеренно востребованным.

Посмотреть текущую стоимость модели можно на сайте Связного.

Обсуждение на форуме >>>

К содержанию >>>

Ссылки по теме

Обзор GSM/UMTS-телефона Nokia 6303

Обзор GSM/UMTS-смартфона Nokia 6730 Classic

Обзор GSM/UMTS-телефона Nokia 6700 Slide

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 08 июня 2010 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:
Hit

29.04.2017 Смартфон BLUBOO D1 с двойной камерой – бюджетный бестселлер по цене $69.99

28.04.2017 IDC: Apple и Samsung стагнируют, Huawei, Oppo и Vivo уверенно растут

28.04.2017 Решение ФАС заставит признать Google Крым российским

28.04.2017 Юристы Apple доказали права компании и на груши

28.04.2017 Samsung Galaxy S8 и Galaxy S8+ можно купить в России

Hit

28.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона Micromax Canvas juice A1 plus

Hit

28.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор HTC U Play

28.04.2017 «ВКонтакте» начал выдавать симки своего оператора связи в регионах

28.04.2017 В России стартовали продажи новых флагманских смартфонов Samsung Galaxy S8 и S8+

28.04.2017 Новые модели в линейке ноутбуков 2-в-1 Acer Switch

28.04.2017 ФАС завела административное дело на российскую «дочку» Apple за координацию цен на iPhone

28.04.2017 Acer Leap Ware — новая модель смарт-часов для фитнеса

Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор камеры Nikon KeyMission 360

Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Ваня Чебанов, MacBook Pro, Touch Bar и Logic Pro X

27.04.2017 iPhone 8 не будет?

27.04.2017 В Telegram появятся платежи

27.04.2017 Во время второго пришествия Samsung Galaxy Note 7 подешевеет на 250 долларов

27.04.2017 Отечественный софт должен быть совместим с ОС Sailfish

27.04.2017 Приложение «Мосгорпасс» заработало в тестовом режиме

27.04.2017 Alibaba запустит в России собственный платежный сервис

27.04.2017 В Госдуму внесен законопроект об усилении контроля за продажей SIM карт

27.04.2017 LG опубликовала финансовые результаты своей деятельной за прошедший первый квартал 2017 года

27.04.2017 Новые учебные программы от Apple стартуют в мае во всём мире в её региональных магазинах Apple Store

27.04.2017 Samsung объявила финансовые результаты за первый квартал 2017 года

26.04.2017 OnePlus 5 появился на рендерах

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.