facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Preview of GSM-smartphone Motorola MPx220

Motorola is planning to replace its smartphone MPx200 to a new model MPx220. We already told you about the upcoming update when you were reading the newly appeared MPx200 review. The way to the market for the new smartphone became longer than we were predicting, this was caused by huge popularity of the first phone and delay of OS Windows Mobile release. The main lacks of MPx200 according to users were: external camera, which could have been inserted in the SD/MMC slot, which automatically declined the possibility to save pictures on the memory card; lack of Bluetooth. In the new model which was developed as replacement all these lacks were fixed.

Alright, so the phone is powered with built-in camera, and flashlight near it. Because of the good tradition the camera is 1mpx, thats what all Motorolas smartphones will have in near future. The settings are rather wide, you can setup not only the balance of white manually, but define such parameters like: contrast, brightness, saturation, colors manually. Each parameter can be customized with the help of 8 positions. We shall not provide the pictures in this article, there will be a separate material about it. So far wed like to notice that the camera is worse than the one installed in Sharp GX30, but can be compared with Nokia 7610.

The phones height is slightly higher than the previous model, but is less in thickness aspect (90x48x20 mm with the 110 grams weight against 89x48x27 mm, 118 grams).

The form-factor remained the same in terms of convenience of usage, plus the keyboard was made more convenient. The backlight color is blue, it is nicely visible in various conditions. The navigational key and the built-in OK button (blue color) are nicely placed as well. On the whole the keyboard leaves us only with positive impressions.

The front panel of the smartphone was made unruffled, this is typical for both silver and black color solutions. Behind the unruffled surface an external screen is hidden, it can display up to 4096 colors (STN). The quality of this display is similar to the one installed in Motorola C350, v150, its resolution is 98x64 pixels. Because of the fact that the surface is unruffled, the external screen is seen worse, it is considerably bright only indoors, meanwhile outdoors its quality turns to a horrible one, add the sunlight which is playing on the front panel, the whole thing is not very good. In my opinion they should have left monochrome display in a product of such class, instead of packing this model with this one, probably this was an honor to the fashion.

The speakers holes are located under the display, they are used for playing back the ring tone. The polyphony is in this phone is 40 chord, it sounds exactly like in the previous model, the same thing can be said about the sound and the volume. A curios fact, subjectively the vibrating alert became stronger, perhaps this was caused by the change of the case?!

The camera and the flashlight are located in the very bottom of the front panel. The interface connector is located in the low edge, there are no any ports in the top of the phone, the very same hole for the strap is located on the phones side edge.

You can see the joined volume regulation button on the left side, this is replacement for the wheel that was placed in MPx200. A lot of MPx200 users were often accidentally positioning the wheel wrong, but here it is impossible. The more used element of control in this model is a certain advantage of this model. The turn on/turn off button is located on the very same side, as well as headset connector.

The IrDA is located in the right side, followed by the Camera button and slot for miniSD-cards. The decline of using full-sized MMC/SD-cards seems to be a political move, there is enough space in order to place standard slot.

The sign Quad is located on the top edge, the phone is really quad band (850 frequency was added comparing to MPx200). It is curios that exactly in the upper part of the case, the phones antenna and Bluetooth modules are located.

The back cover is covering the battery section, it does not have backlash. Inside you can see the SIM-cards slot, it is inserted in the phones upper side and can be inserted only when the battery is removed. The battery itself is Li-Ion with 1000mAh capacity, according to the manufacturer it can provide up to 110 hours of work in the stand by mode and up to 4.5 hours when you are having phone calls. We were testing this phone in Moscow, our operator was MTS. The phone has been working for 1.5-2.5 days depending on the number of calls. Subjectively the phones working time is slightly more than MPx200s was, for about 10-15 percent with equal amount of phone calls made and other functions used.

This is more than just a good result, especially considering the fact that the display which can display up to 65000 colors is installed. The picture quality is better than MPx200 had, but worse than the screens in Motorola v300, v500, v600 (it is physically bigger).

The screens resolution is 176x220 pixels, up to 8 text lines can be displayed at once. On the whole the screen can be rated as average one among modern day mobiles, it does not have any major cons, but there arent major pros either. When the sun hits direct sunlight it behaves exactly the way MPx200 does, this means that during summer you will have to make certain amount of efforts in order to read the information, rotate the phone (other phones are no better though).

The phone has 64mb of built-in flash memory, about 40mb are dedicated to users needs (the size depends on the package type, amount of installed applications). The operating memory size is 32mb. The smartphone is working under the Windows Mobile OS, the software is all common.

Motorola was planning to develop own Bluetooth control manager in this mobile, but our sample did not have one. Thats why the only way to activate Bluetooth was doing it with the help of OS. It will be enough for all activities, there wont be any problems.

Id like to point out one interesting software which comes with the handset tool for taking pictures and video (sound, unlimited length). One more thing is tool which can be used together with the standard phone book of Windows Photo Contacts. Here the limitations caused by the OS are removed, and you can attach any picture to any contact and it will be displayed on the internal display in case of incoming call. There are similar utilities from various manufacturers, thats why you can use whichever you like.

Javas performance does not raise any problems, the applications are loading fast, the same can be said about their working speed.

Smartphone MPx220 will be released in September 2004, the retail price will not exceed 450 dollars. Since it comes as replacement to MPx200, the MPx200 will not be available after some time, and in the end of its life cycle the price will remain attractive (about 250 dollars). As you probably guessed the manufacturer of this model is Chi Mei Communications. The life cycle of Motorola MPx220 will be a year and a half, after that a new model will be released (MPx260 non official title), which will have bigger and better external display, support of lighting effects (haptics), EDGE and some more enhancements. But that model will not be released any time soon.

Well MPx220 can be compared with MPx100 in a lot of factors, this is actually one and the same phone released in different form-factors. When the model will be released it will not have any real competitors, it will allow it to conquer the niche and become as popular as Motorola MPx200 was. The only competitor is Nokia 7610, but here it is the question of your preferences, the users will be forced to make a choice between Windows or Symbian. Motorola MPx200 is good in the role of casual mobile phone, it has all required functions, and the most important it has Bluetooth. We cannot call this phone an ideal one, it has issues like MPx200 had, but most of them are problems of the OS. In my opinion this model will be popular and will become well spread in shortest terms.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Alexander "Lexx" Zavoloka(alexander.zavoloka@mobile-review.com)

Published — 10 June 2004

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Версия для печати

Предварительный обзор GSM-смартфона Motorola MPx220

Компания Motorola планирует в скором времени заменить свой смартфон MPx200 на новую модель MPx220. Об этом обновлении мы писали еще в тот момент, когда только появился MPx200. Путь на рынок для нового смартфона растянулся, это было связано с популярностью первого аппарата и задержкой с выходом новой ОС Windows Mobile 2003 for Smartphone. Основными недостатками MPx200 пользователи считали отсутствие Bluetooth, тот факт, что камера внешняя, подключаемая в слот SD/MMC-карты, что делало возможным сохранение фото только в основную память. В новой модели, которая разрабатывалась на замену, все эти недостатки учли.

Итак, аппарат оснащен встроенной камерой, рядом с ее окошком располагается вспышка. По доброй традиции камера мегапиксельная, это примета последних смартфонов от Motorola. Настройки камеры достаточно широки, вы можете не только выставить баланс белого вручную, но и определить самостоятельно такие параметры, как контраст, яркость, насыщенность, цвета. Каждый параметр регулируется по шкале из 8 значений. Приводить в этом небольшом материале снимки с встроенной камеры, не будем, мы подготовим отдельный материал. Пока же отметим, что камера несколько уступает таковой в Sharp GX30, но сравнима с Nokia 7610.

По размерам телефон несколько выше предыдущей модели, но меньше в толщину (90х48х20 мм при весе 110 грамм против 89х48х27 мм, 118 грам).

Форм-фактор остался таким же по удобству использования аппарата, плюс еще более удобной сделали клавиатуру. Подсветка клавиш синего цвета, она хорошо видна в различных условиях. Навигационная клавиша и вписанная в нее кнопка ОК (синего цвета) хорошо расположены. В целом клавиатура оставляет только положительные впечатления.

Лицевая панель смартфона сделана зеркальной, причем это характерно как для серебристого, так и для черного цветовых решений. За зеркальной поверхностью скрывается внешний экран, он цветной, отображает до 4096 цветов (STN). По качеству исполнения экран похож на таковой в Motorola C350, v150, его разрешение 98х64 точки. За счет того, что поверхность такова экран видно хуже, он относительно ярок только в помещениях, на улице качество экрана оставляет желать лучшего, да еще и лучи от солнца, играющие на лицевой панели. На мой взгляд, в продукте такого класса проще было оставить монохромный дисплей, нежели устанавливать столь неказистый экранчик, но, видимо, это дань моде.

Под экраном располагаются отверстия динамика, они служат для воспроизведения мелодии звонка. Полифония в аппарате 40-тональная, звучит также как и в предыдущей модели, это касается и звучания и громкости. Любопытно, что субъективно виброзвонок стал сильнее, быть может, сказалась новая форма корпуса?!

В самом низу располагается камера и вспышка. На нижнем торце вы можете наблюдать интерфейсный разъем, вверху нет никаких разъемов, то же отверстие для шнурка располагается на боковой грани.

На левой боковой поверхности вы можете видеть спаренную клавишу регулировки громкости, она пришла на смену колесику. Многие пользователи MPx200 зачастую ошибочно позиционировали колесико, здесь это невозможно. Более привычный элемент управления является плюсом для этого аппарата. На этой же стороне находится клавиша включения телефона, разъем для подключения гарнитуры.

На правой боковой поверхности находится ИК-порт, кнопка активации камеры, а также разъем для miniSD-карт памяти. Отказ от поддержки полноразмерных MMC/SD-карт скорее политический ход, нежели технологический, места в корпусе для карт первого типа предостаточно.

На верхнем торце гордо красуется надпись Quad, действительно аппарат четырехдиапазонный (добавился диапазон 850 по сравнению с предшественником). Любопытно, что именно в верхней части корпуса, в его выступе находится антенна телефона, а также Bluetooth модуль.

Задняя крышка прикрывает аккумуляторный отсек, она не имеет люфта. Внутри вы можете видеть разъем SIM-карты, она вдвигается вверх аппарата, установка возможна только при снятом аккумуляторе. Сама батарея литий-ионная емкостью 1000 мАч. По заявлению производителя она способна обеспечить до 110 часов работы в режиме ожидания и до 4.5 часов в режиме разговора. В условиях московской сети МТС аппарат работал около 1.5-2.5 суток в зависимости от количества разговоров. Субъективно, аппарат работает немногим больше, чем MPx200, примерно на 10-15 процентов времени при одинаковом числе разговоров и использования других функций.

Это более чем хороший результат, особенно учитывая, что внутри установлен экран, отображающий до 65000 цветов. По качеству картинки экран лучше MPx200, немногим хуже экранов в Motorola v300, v500, v600 (он больше дисплеев этих моделей).

Разрешение экрана 176х220 точек, на нем помещается до 8 строк текста. В целом экран можно охарактеризовать как средний для современных аппаратов, нет явных минусов, но и плюсов не так много. На солнце экран ведет себя также как в MPx200, а значит, информацию летом придется высматривать под различными углами (да и другие телефоны не лучше в тех же условиях).

В телефоне есть 64 Мб встроенной флеш памяти, пользователю доступно около 40 Мб свободной памяти (размер отличается от поставки, количества предустановленных приложений). Размер оперативной памяти 32 Мб. Смартфон работает под управлением Windows Mobile 2003, весь набор программного обеспечения стандартен.

Компания Motorola планировала разработать свой менеджер для управления Bluetooth в телефоне, но в нашем образце его не было. Поэтому активировать bluetooth пришлось используя встроенные возможности самой ОС.

Из дополнительных приложений стоит отметить утилиту для съемки фотографий, получения видео (звук, длина неограниченна). Также отдельно к стандартной телефонной книге Windows поставляется утилита под названием Photo Contacts. Здесь обходится ограничение, заложенное в ОС, имени можно назначить любую фотографию, она будет отображаться на внутреннем экране при звонке. В принципе уже существуют аналогичные утилиты сторонних производителей, так что здесь вы не привязаны к чему-либо.

Работа Java на устройстве не вызывает никаких нареканий, приложения загружаются быстро, то же самое касается скорости их работы.

Смартфон MPx220 появится в продаже, начиная с сентября этого года. Розничная стоимость составит примерно 450 долларов, не выше. Так, как он приходит на смену MPx200, то на производственных линиях произойдет плавное вытеснение старой модели, ее цена в конце жизненного цикла будет достаточно привлекательной (около 250 долларов). Как вы уже догадались, производителем этой модели является Chi Mei Communications. Жизненный срок Motorola MPx220 составит около полугода, затем на смену придет модель MPx260 (условное название), которая будет отличаться большим и качественным внешним экраном (цветной), поддержкой световых эффектов haptics, EDGE и рядом других улучшений. Но до запуска этой модели пройдет еще много времени.

Во многом MPx220 сравним с MPx100 можно сказать, что это один и тот же аппарат в различных форм-факторах. В момент появления на рынке MPx220 у него не будет реальных конкурентов, что позволит ему закрепиться в своей нише и быть таким же популярным, как Motorola MPx200. В качестве косвенного конкурента могут выступать продукты подобные Nokia 7610, но здесь уже речь идет о войне операционных систем. Пользователи будут делать выбор между карманной версией Windows и Symbian. В качестве обычного телефона Motorola MPx220 неплох, все необходимые функции у него есть, а главное появился bluetooth. Нельзя назвать аппарат идеальным, есть те же шероховатости, что и у MPx200, но они заложены в саму ОС. На мой взгляд, данная модель будет популярна и в короткие сроки станет распространена.

   

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 8 июня 2004 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор камеры Nikon KeyMission 360

Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Ваня Чебанов, MacBook Pro, Touch Bar и Logic Pro X

27.04.2017 iPhone 8 не будет?

27.04.2017 В Telegram появятся платежи

27.04.2017 Во время второго пришествия Samsung Galaxy Note 7 подешевеет на 250 долларов

27.04.2017 Отечественный софт должен быть совместим с ОС Sailfish

27.04.2017 Приложение «Мосгорпасс» заработало в тестовом режиме

27.04.2017 Alibaba запустит в России собственный платежный сервис

27.04.2017 В Госдуму внесен законопроект об усилении контроля за продажей SIM карт

27.04.2017 LG опубликовала финансовые результаты своей деятельной за прошедший первый квартал 2017 года

27.04.2017 Новые учебные программы от Apple стартуют в мае во всём мире в её региональных магазинах Apple Store

27.04.2017 Samsung объявила финансовые результаты за первый квартал 2017 года

26.04.2017 OnePlus 5 появился на рендерах

26.04.2017 iPhone 8 может задержаться с выходом из-за поставщиков комплектующих

26.04.2017 В ближайшие два года Xiaomi выйдет на рынок США

Hit

26.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Alcatel A3 enjoy now

26.04.2017 Lenovo может закрыть свой суббренд ZUK

26.04.2017 Skylink обновляет тарифную линейку

26.04.2017 ARCHOS Drone - первый квадрокоптер Archos доступный в России

26.04.2017 Российские операторы связи начали отказываться от СМС в пакетных тарифах

26.04.2017 ZTE MAX XL – недорогой 6-дюймовый фаблет для североамериканского рынка

26.04.2017 AliExpress вводит для России услугу однодневной доставки товара

26.04.2017 ESET: «всеядный» троян перехватывает пароли от мобильного банка, Facebook и Instagram

25.04.2017 Sega показала пневматическую копию «силового кулака» из Warhammer 40k

25.04.2017 Google Maps переведут все на язык пользователя автоматически

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.