facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Nokia Communication Center

We never fail to mention in our reviews that standard means of PC synchronization, that is, Microsoft Outlook, are not the best way to go while Windows Mobile devices embrace a more or less passable system, Nokias smartphones and feature phones will make you go through a whole lot of trouble when synchronizing them with PC (primarily due to a different layout of entries and fields). A possible way-out are third-party applications (along the lines of Oxygen Phone Suite), however not just about every user is willing to pay for extra conveniences. Thats why the debut of Nokia Communication Center software package is a reasonable step in the right direction, and since its only beta as yet, we wont be too harsh on it throughout this quick review.

You can upload the latest available version of the application from this page to actually install the Communication Center you will need a PC (obviously) and one of the latest versions of Nokia PC Suite. Curiously, it refused to start up with Nokia Nseries PC Suite on our PC, so we had nothing else to do but get the standard version of PC Suite. As the description of Nokia Communication Center reads, this utility will ship as a part of Nokia PC Suite that has been moving towards modular structure of late, meaning that utilities may be executed separately from the software shell (you only need to have it on PC and thats it).

The applications main screen is pretty spartan, although we cant blame it for being uninformative. Featured on the left is info on the device thats currently linked to your PC, while on the right are entries from your phonebook or the messaging panel. Since Nokia Communication Centers primary purpose is to save, restore and move personal data, the File drop-down menu allows the user to import and export contacts (to some specific file that can be used to get your contact list on some other phone afterwards), as well as send MMS, SMS and e-mail messages.

For exporting and importing needs the application employs .txt and .csv extensions. Make sure you have a lot of free time on your hands before you start importing data, though it look the Communication Center over 20 minutes to import our 220-contact long contact list.

Also this utility has a neat contact categorization system apart from standard means of sorting (that is, by first and last name), you can group them up by first letter, forming expandable lists with appropriate entries stored inside.

Naturally, Nokia Communication Center comes included with the search function that sorts all matches and displays them in real time as you type in the search box. When we attempted to restore our contact list, we stumbled upon the following failings of the application:

  1. Contacts werent thrown in their assigned groups in other words, the application did a good job importing the group list, however it shows no entries in these groups.
  2. Phone numbers with identical tags got deleted (for instance, out of two mobile numbers the program saved and restored only one).
  3. No data on images and tunes assigned to contacts.

All in all, while Nokia Communication Center has the basics covered, the developers still have a long way to go if they want to make it usable and error-free. Ideally, wed like to have an application that can make exact copies of phonebooks and restore all data the way it once was.

You may add and edit contacts right in the applications window there fields you can actually edit are pictured on our screenshots. Interestingly, Nokia Communication Center doesnt allow the user to change fields, and on top of that, there arent many of them to begin with. In other words, thats exactly the reason that makes the program omit some portions of the original data upon importing. Also, its not clear what happens to images bound up with contacts while you can add it right in the application and it will pop up in your phone as well, the Communication Center doesnt allow saving it in the backup file.

And again, I would like to stress the fact that its a beta version we are dealing with, so all our niggles are more of our wish-list meant for the developers. On balance, Nokia Communication Center should be able to match Oxygen Phone Manager functionality-wise.

Messaging

First of all, some words about what the application still lacks. For one, it cant transfer messages from your phone to a PC in any way. Needless to say, this is one of the features we would like to see in the final version of the application. On the upside, though, the message editor is dazzling by default the application calls up the window for creating text messages, but the multimedia mode is always only one click away from you. It allows beefing up your messages with graphics, sounds and video, as well as numerous slides. Our only gripe with it is its stability oftentimes it just crashes for no apparent reason.

All in all, Nokia has come up with a product that is worth your while, and soon enough it will have what it takes to replace shareware alternatives. The ideas underpinning Nokia Communication Center signify a breakaway from Microsoft's default utility for copying and restoring personal data. And this is the right thing to do many users simply opt to use other email clients and dont even bother about installing Microsoft Outlook on their PCs, so the problem of storing their data and contacts in one place is pretty crucial for them. Especially when it comes to transferring contact lists from one device to another. At present Nokia Communication Center isnt particularly usable for routine backup/restore procedures, but mind the fact that its only a beta version well keep a close eye on its development.

 

Viktor Dashkevich (viktor.dashkevich@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 21 May 2008

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Nokia Communication Center

Мы уже писали о том, что стандартная синхронизация личных данных для мобильных устройств с Microsoft Outlook является далеко не лучшим выходом. Если для аппаратов под управлением Windows Mobile она еще и приемлема, то при синхронизации контактов для смартфонов и телефонов Nokia возникает масса проблем, связанных с различной структурой полей для хранения данных. Выходом может быть использование софта сторонних производителей (например, Oxygen Phone Suite), однако далеко не каждый пользователь готов платить за дополнительные удобства. Поэтому появление программы Nokia Communication Center – шаг логичный и в правильном направлении. Поскольку версия носит статус «бета», то не будем к ней слишком строги. Это скорее анонс возможностей, а не готовый продукт.

Установка

Загрузить доступную версию можно с сайта, для установки потребуется наличие на ПК одной из последних версий Nokia PC Suite. Причем с установленным на ПК Nokia Nseries PC Suite программа дружить не пожелала и потребовала установки стандартной версии. В описании Nokia Communication на сайте разработчика сказано, что утилита будет составной частью Nokia PC Suite, который в последнее время приобрел блочную структуру. То есть отдельные утилиты можно запускать отдельно от основной оболочки. Главное, чтобы она присутствовала на ПК.

Главное окно программы пока выглядит довольно аскетично, хотя и имеет всю необходимую информацию. В левой части окна выводится информация о подключенном устройстве, в правой – данные из адресной книги или панель для работы с сообщениями. Поскольку основное предназначение программы – сохранение, восстановление и перенос личных данных, в меню «Файл» присутствуют стандартные опции экспорта и импорта контактов и отправки сообщений в виде MMS (SMS) или е-mail. Экспорт и импорт контактов совершается в файл, данные из которого потом можно загрузить на другой телефон.

Для экспорта и импорта используется формат txt или csv. Операция импорта занимает достаточно много времени. На импорт телефонной книги, включающей 220 контактов, потребовалось более 20 минут. Во время импорта данные в телефоне также динамически обновляются. На добавление одной записи программе требуется примерно 4-5 секунд.

В программе реализован интересный тип группировки контактов. Помимо обычной сортировки по имени или фамилии список контактов можно сгруппировать по первой букве. Тогда все контакты, начинающиеся с этой буквы, будут разворачиваться при нажатии на соответствующую иконку.

Присутствует, разумеется, и поиск. Причем он имеет динамический режим. При вводе нескольких букв на экране сразу отображаются соответствующие вхождения. Во время восстановления контактов были обнаружены следующие неточности:

  1. Не добавились контакты в существующие группы. То есть список групп импортирован правильно, но информация о контактах в группах отсутствует.
  2. Исчезли данные о номерах телефонов, дублирующих основные идентификаторы (например, из двух мобильных сохранен и восстановлен только один).
  3. Исчезла информация о картинках и мелодиях, привязанных к контакту.

То есть при правильном стратегическом направлении в работе утилиты разработчикам еще предстоит сделать ее удобной для пользователя и избавить от ошибок. В идеале хотелось бы видеть программу, позволяющую в точности сохранять и восстанавливать данные по принципу телефонной книги, реализованной в смартфонах.

Контакты можно добавлять или редактировать непосредственно в окне программы. Параметры данных, которые можно редактировать, показаны на скриншотах. Обращает на себя внимание отсутствие возможности изменения полей и их малое количество. То есть это как раз те причины, которые приводят к исчезновению части данных при импорте и последующем восстановлении. Не совсем понятно также обстоит дело с картинкой, принадлежащей контакту. Ее можно в явном виде добавить, и она появится и в программе, и в адресной книге телефона. Но параметры сохранения контактов не позволяют сохранять картинку в резервном файле.

Еще раз подчеркну, что мы имеем дело с бета-версией продукта, поэтому высказанные замечания нужно рассматривать как пожелания разработчикам. В идеале программа должна уметь делать то, что сейчас может делать версия Oxygen Phone Manager.

Работа с сообщениями

Сразу о том, чего в программе пока нет. Полностью отсутствует возможность переноса сообщений из телефона на ПК. Эту возможность очень хотелось бы видеть в финальной версии. Зато редактор создания сообщений просто шикарный. По умолчанию сразу открывается окно для создания текстовых посланий, но нажатие одной кнопки на экране переводит его в мультимедийную форму. Редактор позволяет вставлять графику, звук и видео, причем сообщение имеет слайдовую структуру, то есть можно размещать элементы на отдельных страницах. Хорошая идея требует дальнейшей реализации, так как редактор мультимедийных сообщений работает нестабильно и часто приводит к самопроизвольному закрытию программы.

В целом у компании Nokia получился интересный продукт, который в скором времени сможет потеснить платные аналоги. Идеи, заложенные в ее основу, подчеркивают уход от утилиты Microsoft для создания резервных копий личных данных. И это совершенно правильный подход. Очень многие пользователи просто не устанавливают Microsoft Outlook на свои ПК, и проблема сохранения личных данных для них стоит достаточно остро. Особенно если нужно просто перенести книгу контактов с одного устройства на другое. На сегодняшний день для повседневного использования утилита Nokia Communication Center еще малопригодна, поэтому мы будем следить за ее развитием.

Ссылки по теме:

Коммуникационное программное обеспечение. Nokia PC Suite

Коммуникационное программное обеспечение. Oxygen Phone Manager II

Дашкевич Виктор (viktor.dashkevich@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано - 13 мая 2008 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

Новости:

17.07.2019 Android One смартфон Xiaomi Mi A3 представлен официально

17.07.2019 Panasonic KX-TU466 – защищённая раскладушка с GPS навигацией для пожилых людей

17.07.2019 Sony представила 61 МП полнокадровую беззеркальную фотокамеру – Alpha 7R IV

17.07.2019 Apple показала новые эмодзи, которые появятся в iPhone этой осенью

17.07.2019 OPPO выпустила лимитированную линейку смартфонов для фанатов ФК «Барселона»

16.07.2019 Торговые санкции Японии могут сорвать производство Samsung Galaxy Note 10

16.07.2019 MediaTek готовит чипсет для игровых смартфонов

16.07.2019 Внешний вид смартфона LG Harmony 3

16.07.2019 Появились официальные пресс-рендеры новых смартфонов Honor – 9X и 9X Pro

16.07.2019 HTC возродит линейку смартфонов HTC Wildfire

16.07.2019 Qualcomm представила обновленный процессор Snapdragon 855 Plus

16.07.2019 Facebook требуют внести в реестр запрещенной информации

15.07.2019 Xiaomi наращивает тизерную кампанию Mi A3

15.07.2019 TENAA рассекретила спецификации Honor 9X

15.07.2019 Компания Huawei продаст 260 миллионов смартфонов за год

15.07.2019 «М.Видео-Эльдорадо»: смартфоны Xiaomi стали самыми продаваемыми в интернете

15.07.2019 Флагманский смартфон ZTE этого года – Axon 10 Pro поступает в продажу в России

15.07.2019 «Живые» фото Xiaomi Mi A3 подтверждают его дизайн и спецификации

15.07.2019 Представлена версия смартфона Vivo S1 на MediaTek Helio P65

15.07.2019 Подтверждён дизайн фаблета Galaxy Note 10+ и часов Watch Active 2

12.07.2019 Опубликован предполагаемый облик Samsung Galaxy Watch Active 2

12.07.2019 Xiaomi анонсировала обновление линейки Mi A

12.07.2019 Bluetooth SIG раскрыла характеристики нового смартфона от OPPO

Hit

12.07.2019 Видео на канале: Распаковка и первый взгляд на Under Armour True Wireless Flash – Engineered by JBL

12.07.2019 В России стартуют продажи беспроводных наушников Huawei FreeLace

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.