facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

First look at Sony Ericsson Vivaz U5i (Kurara)

This models development commenced at around the same time with the Satio (or IDOU, its original codename). Over at Sony Ericsson they never thought theyd manage beat their competitors to the market, and they didnt the Samsung i8910 HD has been around for a while now and has seen some decent success already. So, what can Sony Ericsson bring to the table to beat Samsung technology-wise? Basically, nothing. The Kukara offers a similar display, yet with worse image quality, since it doesnt boast AMOLED technology, nor does it offer a huge amount of bundled storage space. Although there is one area where it excels and thats UI, for its the fastest Symbian-based smartphone to date, based on Cortex A8 with 256 Mb RAM. However its impossible to see this feat on pictures, and there is not much else going for the Kukara on other fronts. This prompts the question why it has to come out in February or early March, when the Samsung i8910 HD will have already spent around six months on the market by then? In this case the pricing issue moves to the front at this point, its said the Kukara will retail for 400 Euro at the minimum, which is simply too much for a product of this caliber. If it hits the market at this price point, it wont have even a chance to make any sort of impact. Plus, given the fact that by then the Nokia X6 will be available without Comes With Music and the i8910 HDs price will dip even lower, leaving only a pretty narrow niche for the Kukara. This fact is well-understood by everyone bar the companys most loyal fans, who cant stop bragging about the technological marvel their favorite is about to roll out. They say thats it's all in the timing, but oftentimes pricing policy is just as important. The U5s production cost hovers at around 200 Euro, so by forgoing their lust for extra-high margins and opting to retail it for 300 Euro (without contract), theyd be able to turn it into a milestone device and a true icon for its segment. In a way, itd be more like the Sony Ericsson T610/K750 that shined on the market several years ago. Which route will they pick? Well see in a couple of months. At present there is a group of pragmatics over at Sony Ericsson who are struggling to deliver their message that the Kukara wont have any substantial sales at this price tag, since Sony Ericssons brand has lost most of its value in the average consumers eyes. The most glaring example in Sony Ericssons recent history related to this sad fact is the fate of the Sony Ericsson G700/G900, that boasted terrific price/quality ratios, however never managed to occupy a significant market share. The pragmatics also insist that Sony Ericsson show throw all their resources at Android, for this OS allows implementing all ideas they have and getting the best possible products on the other end, while the Satios sales are so miniscule that its successors wont stand a chance against the competition. In fact, this group of people is comprised of the vast majority of Sony Ericssons employees, including people, who buried UIQ. So, perhaps, for them this is initiative is a way to show their disapproval of Symbian on the whole. Judging from Sony Ericssons roadmap, theyve got five Symbian-based phones in development, two of which will definitely see release, while the fate of other three isnt as certain they might get ditched in favor of some new Android projects.

On the other hand, the group of Symbian supporters is losing its weight within Sony Ericsson. Why? The reason lies in the Satios success as a product and Im not even going to touch upon its technological merits and countless drawbacks. It was a PR-oriented project from the very beginning and was never meant to become a milestone. But apart from this PR part, inside Sony Ericsson it was positioned as the right solution for generating profit and sales volume. By volume here we mean not millions or even hundreds of thousands of units, but rather a certain niche. However even within that niche the Satio failed to live up to the companys expectations. What conclusions have been made? Now Sony Ericsson consider Symbian to their weak spot and if their upcoming phones wont be able to turn things around, theyll most certainly dump it.

However is it possible to assess any platforms potential judging by the sales of niche solutions? In my opinion, this is wrong. Its quite another matter, though, that Sony Ericsson cant afford to invest into several platforms at a time these days, so they are forced to ditch some. In this case, ditching Symbian is a logical step, as Nokia are moving this platform to the mass-market and itll be difficult to put up a good fight in the lower end of the market. In light of this fact, hopping on the Android train is a much more sound decision, although Sony Ericsson shouldnt expect a bump-less ride here either. All in all, their current situation is quite complicated, hence the uncertainty within Sony Ericsson as to what OS to pick, and whether they should focus on several platforms. At this point in time they seem to favor the idea of running with one single OS. Surprisingly, Motorolas recent success with the DROID has served as an argument in favor of Android.

Another question that has been bothering me for a while, is why such phones as the Sony Ericsson U5, U7, X10 dont debut at the end of 2009, even though they are ready for release? While there is an explanation for the X10, since its proprietary software still requires some tweaking, nothing stands in the way of U5 or U7. As it turns out, Sony Ericsson believe that theyll be able to cut some costs early in 2010, while these phones dont have a chance to top the Christmas sales charts. All in all, thats a reasonable approach, however there is one more thing since they are moving away from the management of service centers and customer care, they need some more time to finish this process.

On balance, weve got a pretty grim picture the pragmatics will definitely win, and therell be no more products like the U5 in Sony Ericssons portfolio, at least not in its Symbian part. And if they fail to cut its price down to 300 Euro, the U5 will pass unnoticed.

But lets get back to our first impressions of the U5. While made out of plastic (which is what we have come to expect from Sony Ericsson), it feels pleasant in the hand. The back cover is so thin that sometimes it seems that youd be able to pierce it with your finger. Yet, it feels quite sturdy and not loose by any means. The phone carries a microSD memory card slot, although there isnt much bundled memory at all. The display seems to be pretty sensitive, as its similar to the one employed in the Satio. On top of that, the U5 boasts a 3.5mm audio jack at the top, as well as a microUSB socket. As far as its battery time is concerned, in our tests it lasted around one day, although we did give it a run for its money there. Its proprietary UI sports a twitter client, and a Satio-esque Facebook app.

The U5s camera is nothing to write home about, and except for its 720p resolution for video, its little to no different from your average cheap 8 MP module, although our sample shots can indicate that better than any words.

(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) enlarge, 3264x1836, JPEG

Video sample (mp4, 213 mb) >>>

The product doesnt offer any innovations that can make one open his mouth and say Wow its a solid, likable phone, whose fate depends entirely on its price tag. At 300 Euro itll be a bestseller, make no mistake about that; however if they opt to charge a premium for the non-existent brand value, it wont make any impact on the market. All in all, the U5 is a decent phone, but it needs a fitting marketing strategy more than anything else right now.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 23 November 2009

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Первый взгляд на Sony Ericsson Vivaz U5i (Kurara)

Обновление от 20.01.10. Официальная цена для российского рынка объявлена на уровне 16000 рублей, что делает ее равной европейской. При такой цене у модели есть возможность неплохо продаваться в своей ценовой группе, 3-4 тысячи аппаратов в месяц. Для Sony Ericsson это достижение, но цену нельзя назвать максимально низкой, для такого рода устройств она типичная. Модель найдет своих покупателей, но не станет хитом.

Эту модель начали создавать примерно в то же время, что и Satio (IDOU как его представили в то время). В Sony Ericsson не считали, что смогут вывести этот аппарат раньше конкурентов, так и вышло, тот же Samsung i8910 HD появился значительно раньше и продается уже в неплохих объемах. Что может предложить компания Sony Ericsson в техническом плане, что будет превосходить продукт от Samsung? Ответ ничего. Экран сходен, но качество картинки хуже, так как это не AMOLED, встроенной памяти в телефоне нет в таком же объеме. В чем выигрыш? В скорости работы, на сегодня это самый быстрый Symbain –смартфон основанный на Cortex A8, оперативной памяти 256 Мб. Но скорость работы не увидишь на картинках, а других преимуществ у смартфона нет. Так зачем он нужен в феврале, начале марта, если Samsung i8910 HD к тому моменту будет на рынке уже около полугода? Тут в полный рост встает вопрос стоимости этого решения. В данный момент она описывается на уровне 400 Евро минимум, что крайне дорого за этот продукт. При такой цене он станет всего лишь одним из продуктов, представленных на рынке. Учитывая, что к тому моменту подобный же Nokia X6 будет идти без сервиса Nokia Comes with Music, цена Samsung i8910 HD снизится еще, то продукт от Sony Ericsson обречен занять небольшую нишу. Это прекрасно понимают все, кроме фанатов компании, с жаром обсуждающих какое превосходное устройство выпустит производитель. Есть пословица, - дорога ложка к обеду, так и тут, кто успел первым на рынок, тот и снимает сливки, все остальные довольствуются объедками. Но ситуация всегда зависит и от такой составляющей как стоимость решения. Себестоимость U5 для компании составляет порядка 200 Евро, отказавшись от высокой маржи и продавая устройство по 300 Евро (без субсидий операторов), компания способна совершить прорыв, сделать модель сверхмассовой для своего сегмента. В какой-то мере повторить опыт Sony Ericsson T610/K750, но на другом историческом отрезке. Сможет ли? Узнаем в начале года. В данный момент, внутри Sony Ericsson идет ожесточенная борьба между прагматиками, которые утверждают, что модель не будет продаваться хорошо даже при таком уровне цены, так как марка потеряла свою ценность в глазах потребителей. В качестве примера приводится провал таких моделей как Sony Ericsson G700/G900, которые обладали наилучшим соотношением цена/качество, но не смогли завоевать сколь-нибудь значительной доли рынка или получить хорошие отклики. Прагматики также настаивают на том, что все силы компания должна отдать Android, так как именно эта операционная система, позволит получить наилучшие продукты, реализовать концепции, а продажи Satio столь мизерны, что и другие модели не станут хитами. Фактически к стану прагматиков относится большинство, интересно, что в него входят и люди похоронившие UIQ. Возможно это что-то на уровне неприятия Symbian решений как таковых. Из планов компании известно, что в разработке находится пять Symbian-устройств, до рынка точно дойдет еще два, судьба остальных остается под большим вопросом. От них могут отказаться в угоду Android.

Партия тех, кто поддерживает Symbian внутри Sony Ericsson, стремительно теряет любое влияние. Причина? В «успехах» Satio как продукта на рынке, причем я не затрагиваю технические аспекты, превосходство или недостатки этой модели. Аппарат не стал значимым, это PR-продукт, которым он и задумывался. Но помимо PR-составляющей, внутри его позиционировали как «правильное» решение для генерирования прибыли, объема продаж. Под объемом не понимаются миллионы и даже не сотни тысяч аппаратов, это определенная ниша. Но в рамках этой ниши модель не добралась до планируемых продаж. Какие выводы делают внутри Sony Ericsson? Что Symbian как платформа, не слишком успешна для производителя. Если это подтвердится продажами ряда других устройств, то судьба этой ОС для Sony Ericsson будет предрешена.

Можно ли по нишевым устройствам оценивать перспективность платформы как таковой? На мой взгляд, это неверно. Другое дело, что инвестировать сегодня сразу в несколько платформ в Sony Ericsson не могут, у них нет средств. Поэтому надо отказываться от какой-то из платформ. Отказ от Symbian логичен, так как Nokia переводит платформу в массовый сегмент (читай недорогие модели) и конкурировать с ней будет тяжело. Лучше вскочить в поезд под названием Android и попытаться сделать что-то в этом направлении. Правда и тут конкуренция уже высока. Ситуация сложная, отсюда неуверенность внутри компании, какой выбор сделать и разрываться ли пытаясь поддерживать несколько ОС или сосредоточить все усилия только на одной. Пока побеждает вторая точка зрения. Удивительно, но успехи Motorola с моделью DROID послужили еще одним аргументом в пользу Android.

Вопрос, который удивлял безмерно меня, это почему такие аппараты как Sony Ericsson U5, U7, X10 не выходят в конце 2009 года, хотя фактически они готовы к запуску в том, или ином виде. Если для X10 это как-то можно объяснить доработкой фирменного софта, то другие модели этого не требуют. Выяснилась интересная ситуация, в компании посчитали, что стоимость производства, экономия на ней будет выше в начале года, а продажи в Рождество не будут оглушительными. Здравый, рациональный подход. Другая причина, отказ от собственного управления сервисными центрами, поддержки продуктов. Поэтому компания и ждет пока этот процесс пройдет окончательно.

Итого, в сухом остатке у нас, нерадостная картина. Победят прагматики, и такие продукты как U5 на рынок выходить не будут, во всяком случае, не на Symbian. Не смогут снизить цену на телефон до 300 Евро, и аппарат затеряется среди других моделей (в России цена в марте может составить 22-23 тысячи рублей, что дорого на тот момент).

Вернемся к телефону и впечатлениям от него. Приятный, из пластика, что типично для последних продуктов компании. Задняя крышка настолько тонкая, что иногда создается впечатление, что ее легко пробить пальцем. Но люфта как такового нет, все нормально. Слот для карт памяти microSD, встроенной памяти немного. Экран реагирует на нажатия нормально, он аналогичен по типу тому, что используется в Satio. Есть разъем 3.5 мм, он у верхнего торца, сбоку, также присутствует microUSB-разъем. Батарейки хватает в среднем на день активного использования телефона. Фирменная оболочка включает в себя twitter-клиент, также программу для доступа к Facebook, все аналогично Satio.

Камера обычна, кроме 720p разрешения для съемки видео, она ничем не отличается, это недорогой 8-мегапиксельный модуль. Впрочем, по снимкам вы можете посмотреть и сами на это. Пример видео снял с ноутбука (YouTube), что делает его ценность минимальной. На улицу выходить и снимать не захотелось. Снимки с кухни при искусственном освещении показательны для камеры.

Примеры снимков с камеры:

(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG (+) увеличить, 3264x1836, JPEG

Пример видео (mp4, 213 мб) >>>

В продукте нет никаких инноваций, о которых можно сказать Wow, уверенная модель, приятная в обращении, и ее судьба будет зависеть только от цены. Будет цена в 300 Евро и тогда это, безусловный, хит. Будет наценка за мифическую марку, высокая маржа, цена от 400 Евро, и это будет провал на рынке. Все предельно просто. Продукт неплох, но к нему надо добавить еще немного здравого смысла в маркетинге.

Обсуждение на форуме >>>

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 23 ноября 2009 г.

 

Поделиться

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

22.10.2020 Xiaomi продаст более 14 млн телевизоров на рынке Китая

22.10.2020 Представлены премиальные часы Huawei Watch GT2 Porsche Design

22.10.2020 В 2021 году рынок умных колонок вырастет на 21%

22.10.2020 На PS5 появятся Netflix, Disney Plus и Twitch

Hit

22.10.2020 Видео на канале: ПЕРВЫЙ ВЗГЛЯД | Huawei Mate 40 Pro - флагманский смартфон

22.10.2020 Huawei анонсировала флагманские смартфоны из новой серии Huawei Mate 40

22.10.2020 Porsche Taycan получит расширенную интеграцию с Apple

22.10.2020 ZTE анонсировала смартфон ZTE V2020 5G

22.10.2020 Утечка раскрыла цену и срок выпуска TWS наушников Apple AirPods Pro 2

22.10.2020 Смартфоны Vivo Y3s и Vivo Y30 вышли в Китае

22.10.2020 Продажи люксовых автомобилей в России продемонстрировали рост в сентябре

22.10.2020 Рынок традиционных ПК уверенно растёт в регионе EMEA

22.10.2020 Легендарный Hummer возвращается в виде электрокара

Hit

22.10.2020 Sony PlayStation 5: стоило ли ждать новинку 7 лет?

22.10.2020 В продажу на российский рынок поступил смартфон на Android 11 - vivo V20

22.10.2020 Samsung разработал новую разновидность технологии изготовления телевизионных панелей QLED

22.10.2020 Opera открыла вакансию на должность «человека-браузера»

22.10.2020 У Garmin появились новые часы для дайверов

22.10.2020 Tesla установила рекорд по выручке

22.10.2020 Acer выпустила стильную «умную» колонку Halo

Hit

21.10.2020 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Полноразмерные наушники Microsoft Surface Headphones 2

Hit

21.10.2020 Видео на канале: Сравнение смартфонов Sony Xperia 5 и Xperia 5 II

Hit

21.10.2020 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Смартфон Sony Xperia 5 II

21.10.2020 Acer анонсировала хромбук на платформе Snapdragon 7c от Qualcomm с поддержкой 4G/LTE

21.10.2020 DJI представила портативную камеру со стабилизатором DJI Pocket 2

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2020. All rights reserved.