facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Sony Ericsson J110i/120i

Live photos of Sony Ericsson J110i/J120i

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Charger
  • Wired stereo headset (for the J120i only)
  • User guide

All manufacturers focus on expanding their market share by releasing low-end and utterly cheap handsets. For Sony Ericsson such products are also of some interest, but they have never been the centerpiece, the company has come across high demand in mid and top price-brackets, whichs kept it from releasing great many of low-priced offerings. The way the things stood, playing on the companys hand, high average price of products - such factors let the company initiate expansion into the entry-level segment, mainly through ODM-products in the first half of 2006. Middle of 2007, the company has already formed the range of 100 USD worth handsets, yet keeps taking its presence even to higher levels.


The models Sony Ericsson J110i/J120i differ only by FM-radio, which is available in the latter, in terms of other features they are twins. These two also share most design cues and seem to be set apart only by the color choices. This way, Sony Ericsson J110i comes in Smooth Grey, Soft Cream, Precious Purple. The differences are hidden in paint on the side plates and rear, whereas the front fascia is always clad in black.

 

Video, looks, menu browsing (24,9 , mpeg)

Although, for Sony Ericsson J120i there is only one color available Night Black. On the side you may see orange label FM radio that can be deemed a sort of sign that this is a music-minded headset, an attempt to distinguish it in a way.


The handset measures 99x44x17 mm and weights 75 g. For the product of this class, the dimensions are par for the course; there is nothing special about them. The device lacks external controls, standard Fast Port is placed on the lower edge.

The handset sports STN display which shows 65000 K colors at 96x64-pixel resolution. The screen accommodates up to 3 text lines and 2 service lines, though its quality is pretty much in one league with offerings featured 3-4 years ago in this price-bracket. At that, in previous models Sony Ericsson swayed towards using displays with 128x128-pixel resolution. The picture quality is meager, it does no good in the sun either. Due to such mediocre displays, the models readily join the lines of outsiders in their price-bracket.

The keypad is made of plastic, quite cramped, though this doesnt pose any threat to the usability. The backlighting is blue and well-visible in various environments.



The handset utilizes 900 mAh Li-Pol cell - the BST-37. As the manufacturer claims, it is capable of keeping handset alive for up to 400 hours in stand by and up to 9 hours in talk mode. In conditions of Russian networks the handset lasted for about 4-5 days at about 20 minutes of calls per day. It takes the device a fraction less then 2 hours to charge from empty to full.






Menu

Like some other Sony Ericssons solutions, here vertically-arranged menus are implemented: the display shows only one item per screen and a large thumbnail. The handset lacks grid-style menu due to the lackluster visual merits it just cant get it on the screen.

Phonebook. The J110i/120i can store up to 200 entries, for one name you can submit only one number; the manufacturer hasnt provided the handset with such options as search by name and other capabilities, this is an utterly spartan solution.

Messaging. The handset supports predictive text input system (T9), handles SMS in a conservative fashion (though it even features the list of recent contacts).

Call lists. In the J110i/120i all these lists are merged, next to every entry you will see an icon indicating call type; the list contains up to 20 entries.

Settings. From here you are free to customize wallpaper, ring tone, as well as turn off vibration and manage other options. However there are not too many things available for setting up.

Extra. This menu item includes a number of functions such as single alarm clock, memos of birthdays with the ability to pick alert time, calculator, timer, countdown timer, and stopwatch.

Games. The handset comes pre-installed with two games Ping Pong and Insect Shooting.

FM-radio (for the J120i only). RDS support for FM-radio is getting to be par for the course even for such deeply budget solutions, in fact it is Sony Ericssons trademark. The other matter is that for the target audience there is probably no need in such technology, it is only an amenity thrown in for good measure. The Radio is capable of working in background mode - in this case the information on selected frequency is displayed on the screen. Up to 20 radio stations can be stored in the memory, auto-tuning is available, or you can track radio stations manually. The radio can be listened in handsfree mode, but a plugged in headset is always a must. Setting it off against the companys senior models the way radio is implemented is not the most gratifying out there, its sensitivity seems relatively low, unwanted noises interfere on regular basis. But I cant say this radio module doesnt work, it just requires better reception conditions. This serves as another proof of its ODM roots.

Impressions

The handset is equipped with 32-tone polyphony, call alert is surprisingly loud and with the built in tunes, it sounds quite clear. The J110i/120 supports no audio formats except I-Melody and Midi, Mp2 absence is a serious letdown, which is a thing to ponder on. On the other hand if you are after an entry-level buzzer, this wont be much of an obstacle.

The junior model will be available for 75-80 USD while its brother in arms will go for about 90 USD. Such price is unreasonable at all, the manufacturer tries to put its brand to a better use, as well as the senior products popularity, offering offers these solutions for rather high price. This proposition by Sony Ericsson has been brought about as the counterweight to Nokia 1600 and Nokia 2310. Taking into account that these models have been available for a while now and quite similar price, it is unlikely that Sony Ericssons products will be prioritized by the end-users. Functionality-wise the models by Nokia have more trumps up their sleeves.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 28 May 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Обзор GSM-телефонов Sony Ericsson J110i/J120i

Фотографии Sony ericsson j110i в интерьере.

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Проводная стереогарнитура (только для J120i)
  • Инструкция

Все производители ориентируются на расширение рыночной доли за счет бюджетных, максимально дешевых телефонов. Для Sony Ericsson такие продукты также интересны, но никогда не были основными, компания сталкивалась с высоким спросом в среднем и высоком ценовых сегментах, что останавливало ее от чрезмерного увеличения количества дешевых аппаратов. Отлично складывающаяся ситуация, высокая средняя цена продуктов позволила во второй половине 2006 года начать расширение и бюджетной линейки, в основном за счет ODM-продуктов. В середине 2007 года компания уже имеет сформированное предложение аппаратов стоимостью около 100 долларов, но продолжает наращивать свое присутствие.

Модели Sony Ericsson J110i/J120i отличаются между собой только наличием FM-радио во втором аппарате, все другие характеристики совпадают. Дизайн практически идентичный, отличия в цветовых решениях. Так, для Sony Ericsson J110i это Smooth Grey, Soft Cream, Precious Purple. Отличия кроются в окраске боковых поверхностей, задней панели, в то время как лицевая панель всегда из черного пластика.

 

Видео, внешний вид аппарата, работа с меню (24,9 мб, mpeg)

Для Sony Ericsson J120i доступен только один цвет – Night Black. На боковой стороне видна оранжевая надпись FM Radio, это своего рода знак, что аппарат музыкален, попытка хоть как-то выделить его.

Размер телефона – 99х44х17 мм, вес – 75 грамм. Это стандартные габариты для продуктов такого класса, нет никаких особенностей. Никаких внешних управляющих элементов не предусмотрено, ни нижнем торце располагается стандартный Fast Port.

Экран в телефоне STN, он отображает до 65000 цветов и имеет разрешение 96х64 точки. На дисплее помещается до 3 строк текста и до 2 служебных строк. Качество экрана соответствует моделям примерно 3-4-летней давности даже в этом ценовом сегменте. Причем в предыдущих моделях компания Sony Ericsson предпочитала использовать экраны с разрешением 128х128 точек. Качество отображения картинки низкое, поведение на солнце также не слишком хорошее. За счет экрана обе модели в своем классе явные аутсайдеры.

Клавиатура из пластика, кнопки достаточно близко расположены друг к другу, но это не доставляет больших проблем. Подсветка синего цвета, она хорошо видна в различных условиях.

В телефоне применяется литий-полимерный аккумулятор BST-37 емкостью 900 мАч. По заявлению производителя, он способен обеспечить до 400 часов работы в режиме ожидания и до 9 часов в режиме разговора. В условиях российских сетей телефон в среднем работал около 4-5 дней при 20 минутах разговоров всего в день. Полное время зарядки аккумулятора – чуть меньше 2 часов.

Меню

Как и в ряде других решений от Sony Ericsson, здесь применяется вертикальное меню, когда на экране виден только один пункт и большая иконка. Матричного меню нет, так как разрешение экрана низкое и нет возможности его отобразить.

Телефонная книга. До 200 имен можно сохранить в памяти телефона, есть только один номер на имя, поиск по имени, другие возможности отсутствуют, это максимально аскетичное решение.

Сообщения. Телефон поддерживает предикативный ввод текста Т9, работа с SMS-сообщениями привычна (даже есть список недавно использованных контактов).

Список вызовов. Он объединенный, для каждого типа вызова указывается своя иконка, всего присутствует до 20 записей.

Настройки. Можно выбрать обои, вариант мелодии звонка, отключить вибрацию и так далее. Не слишком большое количество установок.

Экстра. В меню ряд функций, в частности, однократный будильник, напоминания о днях рождения с возможностью вводить время предупреждения, калькулятор, таймер обратного отсчета, секундомер.

Игры. В телефоне две игры – Ping Pong, Insect Shooting.

FM-радио (только J120i). Поддержка RDS для FM-радио становится нормой и в таких бюджетных решениях, это фирменный знак от Sony Ericsson. Другое дело, что надобности в этой технологии у целевой аудитории, наверное, нет, просто небольшая добавка к функциональности. Радио работает и в фоновом режиме, тогда на экране отображается информация о выбранной частоте. До 20 станций можно сохранить в памяти, есть как автоматический их поиск, так и ручной. Радио можно прослушивать в режиме громкой связи, но всегда должна быть подключена гарнитура. В сравнении со старшими моделями компании в этой реализация радио не слишком нас балует, чувствительность относительно низка, есть посторонние шумы порой, не всегда воспроизведение корректно. Отнюдь не могу сказать, что радио не работает, но оно требует более хороших условий приема. В этом еще раз проявляется инородность модели в модельном ряду, ее ODM-корни.



Впечатления

В аппарате 32-тональная полифония, звонок на удивление громкий и со встроенными мелодиями звучит чисто. Аппарат не поддерживает никаких форматов для аудио, кроме I-Melody и midi, отсутствие мр3 – серьезное ограничение, о котором стоит подумать. С другой стороны, если вас привлекает бюджетное решение только для звонков, то это не должно стать препятствием.

Стоимость младшей модели составит примерно 75-80 долларов, в то время как старшая за счет радио будет стоить около 90 долларов. Цены отнюдь не оптимальны, производитель пользуется популярностью своей марки, старших продуктов и предлагает эти решения по достаточно высокой стоимости. Это предложение от Sony Ericsson создано как аналог таких аппаратов, как Nokia 1600 и Nokia 2310. Учитывая, что эти модели уже давно присутствуют на рынке и имеют сходную стоимость, ожидать выбора продуктов от Sony Ericsson не стоит. Функционально модели от Nokia выглядят немного лучше, интереснее.

 

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 23 мая 2007 г.

 

Поделиться

Мы в социальных сетях:




Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

17.07.2019 Android One смартфон Xiaomi Mi A3 представлен официально

17.07.2019 Panasonic KX-TU466 – защищённая раскладушка с GPS навигацией для пожилых людей

17.07.2019 Sony представила 61 МП полнокадровую беззеркальную фотокамеру – Alpha 7R IV

17.07.2019 Apple показала новые эмодзи, которые появятся в iPhone этой осенью

17.07.2019 OPPO выпустила лимитированную линейку смартфонов для фанатов ФК «Барселона»

16.07.2019 Торговые санкции Японии могут сорвать производство Samsung Galaxy Note 10

16.07.2019 MediaTek готовит чипсет для игровых смартфонов

16.07.2019 Внешний вид смартфона LG Harmony 3

16.07.2019 Появились официальные пресс-рендеры новых смартфонов Honor – 9X и 9X Pro

16.07.2019 HTC возродит линейку смартфонов HTC Wildfire

16.07.2019 Qualcomm представила обновленный процессор Snapdragon 855 Plus

16.07.2019 Facebook требуют внести в реестр запрещенной информации

15.07.2019 Xiaomi наращивает тизерную кампанию Mi A3

15.07.2019 TENAA рассекретила спецификации Honor 9X

15.07.2019 Компания Huawei продаст 260 миллионов смартфонов за год

15.07.2019 «М.Видео-Эльдорадо»: смартфоны Xiaomi стали самыми продаваемыми в интернете

15.07.2019 Флагманский смартфон ZTE этого года – Axon 10 Pro поступает в продажу в России

15.07.2019 «Живые» фото Xiaomi Mi A3 подтверждают его дизайн и спецификации

15.07.2019 Представлена версия смартфона Vivo S1 на MediaTek Helio P65

15.07.2019 Подтверждён дизайн фаблета Galaxy Note 10+ и часов Watch Active 2

12.07.2019 Опубликован предполагаемый облик Samsung Galaxy Watch Active 2

12.07.2019 Xiaomi анонсировала обновление линейки Mi A

12.07.2019 Bluetooth SIG раскрыла характеристики нового смартфона от OPPO

Hit

12.07.2019 Видео на канале: Распаковка и первый взгляд на Under Armour True Wireless Flash – Engineered by JBL

12.07.2019 В России стартуют продажи беспроводных наушников Huawei FreeLace

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.