facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of Sony Ericsson HBH-DS970 stereo Bluetooth headset

Sony Ericsson has always been much interested in Bluetooth headsets production in fact the company is one of the leading manufacturers of such gadgets. So it is not a secret why its first music stereo Bluetooth headset HBH-DS970 has attracted so much attention. There arent so many headsets with similar functionality available on the market, and this product has become the first one to hit the mass market. The headset has been created to support the companys music-optimized in the first place, thats why it has Walkman logo on the body. I have to mention, that it can be used with any Sony Ericssons handset equipped with Bluetooth, and for music playback with all devices having A2DP profile. The most of the Sony Ericssons portfolio meets this requirement: we tried the headset with Sony Ericsson M600 and also with Sony Ericsson W850i, Sony Ericsson K800i. The choice of the handsets isnt accidental, as all of them support A2DP profile, and formally have similar Bluetooth specifications. In reality however there are obvious differences between Symbian smartphones and ordinary devices in the sense of Bluetooth implementation.

The headset has something in common with the latest models of Walkman MP3-players - the design concepts are somewhat similar. The black and orange combination has been around for quite a while and doesnt create any negative emotions. Fingerprints stay on the glossy plastic of the casing, but in the end they might stay unnoticed for your eye. The headset weights 27 grams, which isnt too much taking into account the way of wearing. The D970 will hang around your neck with a woven strap that is interlaced with a wire. Unfortunately the ear-phones of the headset arent removable, they cant be changed to the own ones; there is no 3.5 mm audio jack on the D970s casing.

The headphones are made in bud-style (in some ways similar to the HPM-70), the sales package includes ear-plugs of different sizes, which allows you to find something specifically for your tastes. Running a few steps forward, I should notice that the sound quality provided by the earphones is one the best for such headsets, the sound is penetrating, basses are well audible (not for all devices). Judging the headphones alone, we can rightfully say they live up to the Walkman brand on them. Nowadays there are no products that could match the D970 in the sense of sound quality (among small headsets, whereas some large devices produce the same quality of the sound). Roughly speaking the sound is a bit better than that in the HPM-70, the difference is quite minor, though (used the same tracks for comparison).

A good thing about the DS970 is adjustable length of the strap, so that you may increase or decrease the distance to the head-phones. One of the head-phones retains the pick up key that doubles as redial button.

The headsets body retains a single-line inverting display; there you can see information about caller, contacts name, if there is an appropriate record in the phone book. During music playback it displays tracks title that will be scrolled through in case its too long.

And thats the point where differences between devices start popping up: Sony Ericsson M600 and Sony Ericsson W850i make a perfect track-titles transferring to the display, whereas Sony Ericsson K800i refuses to do that at all (only the playback icon appears on the display). Other distinctions include extremely quite sound volume of Sony Ericsson M600i, which is not enough in most cases. Yet the sound is quite or even exceedingly loud with the other devices. Headsets with first versions of firmware might sound quite on all devices without exception should you stumble upon that, make sure you updated the firmware.

Heterogeneous headsets performance with various devices results from different release dates of the phones that we tested out basically, the manufacturer not always had been able to create the appropriate software. The Walkman-branded products, though, support it without any limitations. If you are hesitating over purchasing the DS970, check the efficiency of the headset with your handset.

The casing houses the dedicated music key (playback, pause), which allows starting up music playback outright (either the last played track or the whole playlist).The side plate retains Next/Previous rocker key, enabling you to navigate through playlists. But due to the single-line display the headset cant show the entire list of the tracks at once. There is no fast forward feature available in the DS970.

Video, outlook and the headsets operation (wmv, 3.5 Mb)>>>

The sound volume can be also adjusted with a shortcut button that also allows for cutting the headsets microphone off during the call.

To the interesting features of the device we can refer variety of available modes and also a special shortcut key (point point, point number of points). The first profile makes the headset pair with only a single handset that will be used for all ways of sound transferring. But while in the second profile, the headset can be coupled with up to 10 devices and only one will be used in the given moment (the last activated or the one with enabled Bluetooth, for example PC). The best thing about such solution is that you can listen to the music from your PC, and when somebody calls you, playback will be paused and the caller will be put through. The ability to work with several devices should not be undervalued - its the DS970s very unique feature.

The charger socket is placed on the body; the sales package includes a standard charger. All you need to do is plug in the pin and wait for about 2 hours, which is full recharging time for the DS970. The headset can provide 6-7 hours of music playback time - its not bad at all. Battery status, indicated on the screen, works pretty bad: the full charge keeps being shown on the display for about 60% of time, and then the rates decreases dramatically and the headset turns off.

Voice commands with the headset dont cause any troubles (Magic Word function is disabled). Once you have set ring tones, as well as personal tunes for contacts, on the handset, they will be automatically transferred to the headset (works not with all software versions for Sony Ericsson K800i). If you listen to the music and somebody phones you, the playback stops and you hear the ring tone. After the call the playback continues automatically. On outgoing calls the headset sometimes doesnt continue the playback, or the sound gets muted (but the headset keeps on indicating that everything is fine). You can get over that by switching the track.

The headset doesnt work properly with BlueSolei on PC (sound doesnt get beamed to it), we strongly recommend that you use Widcomm drivers.

The full list of supported profiles:

  • Handsfree
  • Headset
  • AVDTP 1.0
  • AVCTP 1.0
  • GAVDP 1.0
  • A2DP 1.0
  • AVRCP 1.0

The headset is based on the TIs chipset BRF6150.

Conclusion

Taking account of how poor this segment is, Sony Ericsson DS970 doesnt have any credible competitors. Having the price of 90-100 Euros the headset is a bit cheaper than Nokia HS-12W (105-115 Euro). However Nokia products strengths are metal casing and FM-radio, embedded in the headset itself. But the sound quality of the similar non-removable headphones is worse. The purchase of the DS970 headset is justified for using it with Walkman-branded products in the first place in this case compatibility is topping out, while possible problems are few. Also the headset can be paired with Sony Ericsson K800i but then you will encounter certain shortcomings (missing track title for example). Its remarkable that Sony Ericsson M600i is the only device showing off insufficient sound volume in music playback mode with the headset, whereas Sony Ericsson P990i/W950i doesnt have such issues. By the way, Sony Ericsson P990is sales package frequently includes this headset

The conclusion is simple enough. The headset has turned out to be an interesting one and the lack of the significant competitors makes it worth buying.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Ilya Baranov

Published — 13 October 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Обзор стерео Bluetooth-гарнитуры Sony Ericsson HBH-DS970

В Sony Ericsson приверженность к выпуску Bluetooth-гарнитур всегда была велика, компания является одним из сильнейших разработчиков такого рода устройств. Не секрет, что поэтому первая музыкальная стерео Bluetooth-гарнитура HBH-DS970 привлекла повышенное внимание потребителей. На рынке в целом не так уж много гарнитур со сходной функциональностью, этот продукт стал первым массовым. Гарнитура создавалась для поддержки в первую очередь музыкальных решений компании, поэтому она обзавелась значком Walkman на корпусе. Оговорюсь, что применять ее можно с любым телефоном компании, оснащенным Bluetooth, а использовать для прослушивания музыки – с аппаратом, имеющим профиль A2DP. Таких в портфолио от Sony Ericsson сегодня большинство, мы испытывали гарнитуру с Sony Ericsson M600, а также Sony Ericsson W850i, Sony Ericsson K800i. Выбор продуктов не случаен, все они поддерживают A2DP-профиль, формально имеют сходные спецификации Bluetooth. В реальности присутствуют явные отличия в организации Bluetooth между Symbian-смартфонами и обычными аппаратами.

Гарнитура невольно напоминает последнее поколение мр3-плееров Walkman, она выполнена в сходном дизайне. Сочетание черного и оранжевого цвета привычно и не вызывает отторжения. Пластик глянцевый, на нем остаются следы от рук, но на них особо не обращаешь внимания. Вес гарнитуры 27 грамм, что не много, учитывая ее способ ношения. Гарнитура одевается на шею, шнурок тканный, в него вписан сам провод. К сожалению, ушки у гарнитуры не съемные, заменить их нельзя на свои, разъема 3.5 мм на корпусе не предусмотрено.

Наушники выполнены в виде затычек (чем-то напоминают HPM-70), в комплект входят резинки для наушников различного размера, это позволяет подобрать их под особенности анатомии. Забегая вперед, хочу отметить, что качество звука в наушниках одно из лучших для таких гарнитур, звук чистый, хорошо слышны басы (не для всех аппаратов ситуация такова). Оценивая именно наушники, можно говорить о том, что они на уровне и вполне оправдывают принадлежность к линейке Walkman. Аналогичных продуктов по качеству передачи звука на данный момент нет (в классе небольших гарнитур, некоторые большие продукты позволяют получать такой же звук). Если проводить грубое сравнение, то звук чуть лучше такового в HPM-70, разница почти незаметна (слушали на одинаковых композициях).

К приятным моментам относится тот факт, что длина шнурка может регулироваться, то есть расстояние до наушников можно увеличивать или уменьшать. На одном из наушников находится клавиша ответа на звонок, с ее же помощью можно набрать последний номер, на который вы звонили.

На корпусе гарнитуры располагается однострочный инверсионный дисплей, здесь можно видеть информацию о звонящем, его имя, если соответствующая запись есть в телефонной книге. При проигрывании музыки вы видите название композиции, если оно не помещается целиком, то гарнитура прокручивает его на экране.

Вот тут начинаются различия между разными аппаратами: так, Sony Ericsson M600 прекрасно передает на гарнитуру, как и Sony Ericsson W850i, названия композиций. В то время как Sony Ericsson K800i это делать отказывается (появляется значок проигрывания мелодии и только). К другим отличиям стоит отнести крайне низкую громкость звука в Sony Ericsson M600i, запаса нет, громкость недостаточна для большинства ситуаций. В то же время для других аппаратов она иногда и чрезмерна, но особого запаса нет и тут. Оговорюсь, что гарнитуры с первыми версиями прошивок могут быть тихими на всех аппаратах, требуется сменить прошивку.

Неоднородная работа гарнитуры с разными устройствами связана с различиями во времени их выхода на рынок. Не во всех случаях производитель успел подготовить соответствующий софт на стороне телефона. В полной мере поддерживается гарнитура семейством Walkman.  Если у вас есть какие-то сомнения, то стоит проверить гарнитуру на работоспособность.

На корпусе присутствует музыкальная клавиша (проигрывание, пауза), с ее помощью можно активировать автоматически плеер в телефоне и начать прослушивание (либо последняя композиция, которую вы слушали, либо полный список файлов). На боковой стороне присутствует спаренная клавиша перескока композиций, можно их листать. При этом гарнитура не умеет показывать список песен, все-таки однострочный дисплей накладывает свои ограничения. Ускоренной перемотки в пределах композиции нет.

Видео, внешний вид и работа гарнитуры (wmv, 3.5 Мб)>>>

Регулировка громкости осуществляется также отдельной клавишей, с ее помощью можно во время разговора отключить микрофон на гарнитуре.

К интересным особенностям этого продукта относится наличие различных режимов работы, есть специальный переключатель (точка – точка, точка – ко многим). В первом режиме телефон спарен с гарнитурой и используется только он (передача звука в любой ипостаси). Во втором режиме с гарнитурой можно спарить до 10 устройств и использоваться будет в конкретный момент только одно (последнее активированное либо то, с которого идет сигнал на гарнитуру, например, это может быть ПК). Прелесть такого решения заключается в том, что вы можете прослушивать музыку с вашего ПК, а при входящем звонке проигрывание прервется, и соединение пойдет от вашего телефона. Недооценить удобство работы с несколькими устройствами нельзя, это уникальная функция DS970.

Разъем зарядного устройства располагается на корпусе, в комплект с гарнитурой входит стандартная зарядка. Вы просто вставляете зарядку одним из усиков и все. Общее время заряда аккумулятора – около 2 часов. Гарнитура способна обеспечить до 6-7 часов прослушивания музыки, это неплохой показатель. Уровень заряда аккумулятора, отображаемый на экране, работает плохо: так, полный заряд показывается примерно 60 процентов времени, затем следует резкое сокращение уровня и выключение гарнитуры.

Использование голосовых команд с гарнитурой не вызывает никаких проблем (функция Magic Word не работает). При установке на телефоне мелодии звонка она передается на гарнитуру, так же, как и персональные мелодии для отдельных абонентов (работает не на всех версиях софта для Sony Ericsson K800i). Если вы слушаете музыку и идет входящий звонок, проигрывание останавливается, и вы слышите сигнал вызова. После окончания разговора проигрывание автоматически возобновляется. При исходящих звонках иногда гарнитура не возобновляет проигрывание, либо не появляется звук (но гарнитура показывает, что играет). Выйти из этого положения можно, перескочив на следующую композицию.

Гарнитура плохо дружит с BlueSolei на ПК (звук не передается на нее), рекомендуем использовать Widcomm-драйвера.

Полный список поддерживаемых профилей следующий:

  • Handsfree
  • Headset
  • AVDTP 1.0
  • AVCTP 1.0
  • GAVDP 1.0
  • A2DP 1.0
  • AVRCP 1.0

Аппаратно гарнитура построена на чипе от TI – BRF6150.



Итог

Учитывая ненасыщенность этого сегмента рынка, у модели Sony Ericsson DS970 как таковых нет конкурентов. При стоимости в 90-100 Евро эта гарнитура чуть дешевле Nokia HS-12W (105-115 Евро). На стороне продукта от Nokia металлический корпус, наличие FM-радио, встроенного в саму гарнитуру. Но при этом качество звука за счет наушников, которые также несъемные, похуже. Выбор гарнитуры DS970 оправдан для использования в первую очередь с линейкой телефонов Walkman, здесь совместимость гарнитуры и телефонов максимальна, а число возможных проблем минимально. Использовать гарнитуру с Sony Ericsson K800i можно, но с рядом оговорок (отсутствие названия композиции, например). Интересно, что Sony Ericsson M600i – единственный продукт, не выдающий достаточную громкость при проигрывании музыки с этой гарнитурой. Например, Sony Ericsson P990i/W950i не имеют таких проблем. К слову, в комплект с Sony Ericsson P990i зачастую добавляют эту гарнитуру.

Вердикт прост. Гарнитура получилась интересной, а отсутствие прямых конкурентов делает ее оправданной для покупки.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 03 октября 2006 г.

 

Поделиться

Мы в социальных сетях:




Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

19.06.2019 Xiaomi выпустила официальное заявление

Hit

19.06.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Sony Xperia 1 - флагман!

19.06.2019 Xiaomi поймали на краже работ художника, часть которых он делал для LG

19.06.2019 В Связной вернулись продажи SIM карт МТС

19.06.2019 ONYX BOOX Faust – облегченная и доступная версия топовой модели букридера

19.06.2019 Появились пресс-рендеры смарфтона Motorola One Pro

19.06.2019 Microsoft рассматривает вариант замены на клавиатуре клавиши Меню на клавишу Office

Hit

18.06.2019 Видео на канале: БЛИЦ | Гаджеты, представленные на презентации Xiaomi 17 июня 2019 в Москве

18.06.2019 В первом квартале в Россию было импортировано 11,6 млн мобильных телефонов

Hit

18.06.2019 Видео на канале: ПЕРВЫЙ ВЗГЛЯД | Xiaomi Mi 9T - флагманы будут рыдать в сторонке

18.06.2019 В салонах МТС теперь можно переводить наличные по номеру телефона на карты Сбербанка

18.06.2019 Состоялся официальный российский анонс новейшего фитнес браслета Mi Smart Band 4 от Xiaomi

18.06.2019 Билайн и Tele2 представили социальные тарифы

18.06.2019 Xiaomi представила в России свой недорогой функциональный смартфон – Mi 9T

17.06.2019 BQ 5528L Strike Forward – недорогой смартфон в металлическом корпусе

17.06.2019 NVIDIA, скорее всего, в ближайшее время порадует нас новой версией своей ТВ-приставки SHIELD TV

17.06.2019 Чаще всего из России по tax free вывозили смартфоны, ноутбуки и аксессуары к ним

Hit

17.06.2019 Видео на канале: БЛИЦ | Как Mail.ru Group обиделся на Билайн и испортил жизнь абонентам оператора

17.06.2019 Конфликтом между Билайн и Mail.ru заинтересовалась ФАС

17.06.2019 Mail.Ru представила свою голосовую помощницу Марусю

17.06.2019 Появились качественные рендеры нового смартфона от Motorola – One Action

14.06.2019 Samsung готовит два планшета к релизу

14.06.2019 Xiaomi представила POCO Launcher 2.0

14.06.2019 Samsung Galaxy Fold не появится в июле

14.06.2019 Huawei приступила к регистрации торговой марки HongMeng

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.