facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

First look at Samsung Omnia HD (i8910)

Live images of the Samsung Omnia HD (i8910)

To be honest I didn't even consider writing a review of the Samsung Omnia HD because it's one of those phones that can only be properly appreciated when it's been completed, prototypes and early release candidates just don't do it justice (they will come along some time in April or late March), although the units they are going to showcase at MWC have even more features up and running than those we had the pleasure to play around with a bit earlier. But we can give you a good idea of the Omnia HDs potential, positioning and whats under its hood already today.

Its an open secret that Samsungs S60-based solutions have never been sought-after, even the INNOV8, which is still one of the most capable phones out there, doesnt seem to be doing well as far as sales volume goes. At the same time, the Samsung Omnia is selling considerably better. The rub lies in the fact that while these phones arent fashion-savvy by any stretch of imagination, they cant please techi either for they dont brim with hi-tech functionality. At least, thats often the case with Samsungs offerings. For example, I used to hear a lot of complaints that the lack of some S60-specific utilities, that were quite essential nonetheless, marred those phones big time. On the other hand, the ordinary consumer isnt that sophisticated, so its absolutely vital for him to know that his phone is all the rage. But Samsung failed to cater for either audiences tastes.

Probably thats why having picked S60 5th edition (touchscreen-friendly, thats right) as the framework for their new phone, they tried to jam-pack the new UI with as many proprietary utilities and features as possible so as to make it distinguishable, and at the same time get a piece of the craze around the Nokia 5800. In other words, Samsungs goal is to jump on their rivals back and capitalize on his success. Definitely a valid approach, however it can easily fail simply because Samsung isnt perceived as a strong player in this segment they dont have a solid track record to boast, so its essential for them to roll out a series of successful and innovative solutions; and in this sense after the INNOV8, the brand-new Omnia HD is the second step on this way, so to speak.

As far as its physical design is concerned, the Omnia is housed in a metallic casing with its entire front fascia occupied by a huge (by mobile phone standards) 3.8-inch display, although it feels somewhat brick-y at 124x59x13 mm and 147 grams. Contributing to its size is the AMOLED display mentioned a few lines above for reference, the Nokia 5800s screen, while sporting the same resolution, measures only 3.2 inches from corner to corner. But in this case its not only the size that matters the picture quality put up by the Omnia HD is mind-blowing, as it delivers exactly what youd expect from a top-notch AMOLED screen. Not only are its colors juicy and natural, the top brightness settings can make your eyes hurt, and even when you slide the brightness bar all the way down, it beats TFT screens effortlessly. We pitted it against the Apple Touch and Nokia 5800 with highest display brightness levels, while the Omnia HDs settings were just above the minimum and it still looked superior. If you really spend a lot of time browsing images and watching videos on your mobile phone, then the new Omnia is probably your best bet primarily because of its dazzling display.

Samsung Omnia HD vs Nokia 5800 XpressMusic:

Samsung Omnia HD vs Apple iPod Touch:

The bundled motion sensor enables the picture to rotate automatically whenever you turn the phone; furthermore it occurred to me that the transitions were a tad faster and smoother than those of the Nokia 5800. Surprisingly, though, the Omnia HD we played around with had this option disabled perhaps due to the fact that its 3D engine (for rendering already running applications in a different layout) still required some tweaking.

Video, looks, user interface (wmv, 125 mb) >>>

All thanks to its larger display, the Omnia HDs virtual keyboard is so much easier to handle, in fact with the QWERTY keyboard on the screen it feels more like a portable thumbboard rather than a mobile phone. If, for some reasons, you arent satisfied with it, there is always another way to go a smaller vertically-arranged keypad. By the way the Omnia HD doesnt require you to use a stylus, as all interactions with it are easily done with bare fingers. I found that its screen was a tiny bit more responsive than that of the Nokia 5800, at least I didnt have to tap it as hard to get a reaction.

Mounted on the left is the volume rocker, while on the opposite side there are dedicated camera button HOLD key and microUSB socket. Sitting on the top edge is the 3.5 audio jack, covered by a plastic flat. Also, placed on either side of the casing are two speakers.

Speaking of which, these speakers are incredibly loud I even had to almost mute it when i was demonstrating the Omnia HD to a friend of mine in a cafe, as other visitors started turning around to find the source of all that noise. Housed on the phone's underside are the camera lens and a LED flash. While the cameras specs are different from those of the INNOV8, the Omnia HDs images didnt seem much worse, but again well have to reserve our final judgment until we get our hands on a commercial unit at this point both its hardware and software arent quite ready. However, I will say that its HD video clips look really smooth and eye-candy, although it can only record for 30-35 minutes before the battery dies, which is a pity.

The Omnia HDs battery, by the way, is worth a special mention first, its next to impossible to find out more about its model and size. Through a series of tests we determined that its capacity was around 1200 mAh, which wasn't all that bad, but in practice it managed keep the phone up and running for around a day (when we didn't max out its brightness settings). While this isnt much, I had some fears that its display would consume even more energy. So, all in all, nothing is perfect, and the battery time youll get with the Omnia HD is a fair trade-off for whats under its hood. Im curious, though, whether they are going to include a spare battery into the box, like they used to do a couple of years ago?

Moving on to the phones software, the Omnia HD runs on S60 5th edition platform, whose core features arent different from its standard version I suggest you read our comprehensive review of this operating system, in case you still dont know what its capable of.

S60 5th edition software

Here, though, we are more interested in what Samsung have done with this platform, and how it is different from other solutions running the same OS. Luckily, there is a lot we can talk about on this front.

By default currently running applications are displayed as thumbnails in a circle or as stickers on the main screen, so that you can close all apps you don't need in one touch.

Another thing of note about the Omnia HDs interface is that it boasts Samsungs famous widgets, and allows using TouchWiz home screen interface that can include up to three work screens (you can switch between them by tapping the cubes located at the top of the display) that can be fully customized. And at the same time it keeps all standard S60 UI tools intact, although regrettably, there is no Contact Bar feature, like the one found in the 5800, since its Nokias proprietary solution.

The Gallery application is nothing out of this world, although the Omnia HD does sport a separate image browser, plus it allows you to list through your photos by tiling the phone left and right.

Share Pix - this utility will soon become a part of the default feature pack in many Samsung-branded phones. It allows setting up an account with one of image-sharing services, so as to make the phone tag and send all your images there without your help.

MyTravel the purpose of this application is beyond me, as in essence its a virtual desk where you can place custom shortcuts. While it looks great, MyTravel isnt particularly useful.

Digital compass I believe no explanation required here.

FM transmitter its a nice extra feature to have around, but very few actually use it.

DivX Player a separate application that accompanies Real Player; obviously, the Omnia HD supports Xvid/DivX out of the box.

SmartReader this app reads and saves data from business cards.

SmartMemo allows drawing memos on the screen.

Video Editor to be completely honest, this application dazzled me when I first started it it simply oozes Apples trademark style with smooth, rounded menus and pop-ups to the extent when it feels somewhat out of place given how the rest of the phones UI looks. But if Samsung start designing their software along the same lines, one company will really have to devise some countermeasures.

Now that weve run through the Omnia HDs software, Id like to say a couple of words about the future of this phone. By and large, its a niche product that will appeal to tech geeks, rather than ordinary consumers with its hefty price tag, 16 Gb of bundled memory, huge screen and modest battery time. It seems very unlikely that Samsung will actually manage to create any sort of hype around the phones HD video recording that will cause its sales to skyrocket. The bottom line - it's a likable phone that some tech-savvy consumers might fall in love with, but that's about it.

Related links

Samsung at MWC 2009

S60 5th edition software

Review of GSM/UMTS-handset Samsung S8300 Ultra Touch

 

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 16 February 2009/p>

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Первое знакомство, впечатления от Samsung Omnia HD (i8910)

Фотографии Samsung Omnia HD (i8910) в интерьере

Скажу честно, что у меня не возникало желания написать обзор Samsung Omnia HD, так как это аппарат, который стоит смаковать. И смотреть не на уровне прототипов, а образцов для запуска, которые появятся ближке к апрелю. На выставке будут образцы еще лучше, чем тот, что смотрели мы. Но оценить потенциал модели, рассказать об основных фишках, позиционировании можно и сейчас.

Не секрет, что модели S60 от Samsung стабильно не пользуются успехом у покупателей, их приобретают, но весьма вяло. Даже выход Samsung INNOV8, который остается одним из самых сильных решений на рынке, выглядит в терминах продаж не очень сильным продуктом. Та же Omnia (в России это WiTu) продается намного лучше. Дилемма заключается в том, что с одной стороны это не модные, имиджевые продукты, с другой стороны для технологически зависимых любителей модных игрушек, у них недостаточен градус той самой технологичности. Зачастую недостаточен. Например, неоднократно приходилось слышать, что отсутствие мелких и характерных для платформы S60 утилит, это большой минус аппаратов от Samsung. Массовый потребитель в таких тонкостях не силен, он ориентируется на то, модный или не очень, продукт в его руках. Вывод из данных продаж однозначен – продукты получаются не слишком модными.

Наверное поэтому взяв за основу S60 пятого издания (ага, сенсорный экран), в компании попытались обвесить интерфейс своими утилитами, сделать его максимально другим, а заодно и использовать тот положительный эффект от продаж Nokia 5800, который наблюдается. То есть фактически сесть на хвост конкуренту и попытаться поднять свои продажи за его счет. Вполне здравый расчет, который может повалиться по одной простой причине, восприятии марки Samsung в этом сегменте. Пока нет положительной истории, требуется, чтобы потребители увидели не одно, а несколько поколений успешных, инновационых продуктов. Поэтому после INNOV8, стоит рассматривать OMNIA HD, как второй телефон на этом пути.

Металлический корпус, всю лицевую панель занимает экран, он гигантский по меркам мобильных телефонов. При размерах телефона – 124х59х13 мм, получилась своего рода небольшая лопатка. Вес аппарата 147 грамм. Не маленький, как ни крути. Основной вклад в такие размеры внес AMOLED-дисплей с разрешением 360х640 точек и диагональю 3.8 дюйма. Для сравнения в Nokia 5800 при таком же разрешении диагональ только 3.2 дюйма. Разница чувствуется моментально. И вопрос даже не в том, что экраны отличаются по размеру. Качество картинки на экране OMNIA HD удивительно, это настоящий AMOLED и точка. Яркие, насыщенные цвета. На максимальной подсветке глазам порой больно, запас по яркости гигантский, то есть если выкрутить деление влево, то экран будет выигрывать у TFT-матриц и с большим запасом. Проверено на Apple Touch, Nokia 5800, у них ставили максимальную яркость, на OMNIA HD минимальную. Экран выглядит лучше. Для просмотра фотографий, видео, это устройство, пожалуй, одно из предпочтительных и в силу именно возможностей экрана.

Cравнение с Nokia 5800 XpressMusic:

Cравнение с Apple iPod Touch:

Датчик движения позволяет вращать экран автоматически, функция работает лучше, чем в Nokia 5800, по крайней мере мне так показалось. Удивительно, но по умолчанию она отключена. Видимо в силу того, что не очень корректно пока работает визуальная отрисовка в 3D запущенных приложений.

Видео, внешний вид, сравнение габаритов, меню аппарата (wmv, 125 мб) >>>

За счет размера экрана очевидно стала намного удобнее полноэкранная QWERTY-клавиатура, вы держите телефон в двух руках и это напоминает некую клавиатуру, приятно. Также и маленькая вертикальная клавиатура удобна. Никаких стилусов, все управление руками. На мой взгляд, экран отрабатывает нажатия четче, чем на Nokia 5800, прикосновение с меньшим усилием.

На левой боковой стороне есть спаренная клавиша регулировки громкости, на правой стороне кнопка HOLD, клавиша камеры, а также разъем microUSB. На верхнем торце можно найти 3.5 мм разъем, он прикрыт пластиковой заглушкой, по двум торцам размещены динамики, их в аппарате два.

Наверное, чтобы не возвращаться к динамикам, отмечу, что они орут до неприличия громко. В кафе, показывая приятелю видео, мне пришлось выкрутить звук вполовину, на нас оборачивались. На задней панели виден объектив, светодиодная вспышка. Характеристики объектива отличаются от такового в INNOV8, но снимки примерно сравнимого качества, может чуть похуже. Опять таки не хочу приводить ни примеров видео, ни снимков, чтобы не создавалось ложных впечатлений. На данный момент они очень далеки от финальных. Но подразнюсь сказав, что видео в HD разрешении выглядит необычно приятным и гладким. Вот только снимает аппарат такое видео от силы 30-35 минут, дальше садится батарейка. Обидно.

Про батарейку отдельный сказ. Раздобыть ее маркировку представляется делом немыслимым, существуют различные версии того, что это за аккумулятор. Посредством непосредственных измерений, мы получили число в 1200 мАч. Не так плохо, но хватает его реально на один день работы, если посмотреть фильм, не баловаться максимальной подсветкой экрана, а еще звонить и совершать другие действия. Не много, но боялся, что экран съест еще больше энергии. Одним словом терпимо, а идеалов не существует. Мне интересно, второй аккумулятор как в старые, добрые времена к этому аппарату будут докладывать?

От внешних прелестей устройства, хочется перейти к его сути. Так как построен он на стандартной платформе S60 пятого издания, то основные интерфейсные возможности, программы, полностью совпадают со стандартными. Отправляю всех читать обзор платформы, особенно тех, кто не в курсе, что это такое.

Платформа S60 пятого издания

Нас же больше интересует трактовка Samsung этой платформы, что такого изменили, что добавили, чтобы сделать продукт другим. Работа проделана большая, и тут есть чем поделиться.

Отображение запущенных приложений происходит по умолчанию в виде их миниатюр, которые можно вращать по кругу, а можно разложить как листки на рабочем столе и тут же закрыть ненужные. Удобное представление, которое радует.

Виджеты от Samsung пришли на S60. Теперь в качестве рабочего стола можно использовать интерфейс TouchWiz, на нем будет до трех рабочих столов, довольно кликнуть по кубику вверху экрана. Каждый стол со своими настройками, виджетами. Хотите пользоваться обычным решениями от S60, пожалуйста. К сожалению, тут нет Contact Bar, как на 5800, это решение от Nokia.

Галерея стандартна, но присутствует отдельно браузер фото. Реагирует на наклоны аппарата, позволяет так листать содержимое. Знаком большинству по другим аппаратам от Samsung.

Share Pix - утилита, которая станет стандартной на многих аппаратах от Samsung. Можно выбрать один из сетевых сервисов, указать свои учетные данные, и телефон будет отправлять ваши фотографии в автоматическом режиме, попутно проставляя указанный вами тег.

Есть приложение MyTravel – не понимаю зачем оно нужно, это такая визуальная стена, на которую можно навешивать свои ярлыки. Красиво, но толку чуть.

Электронный компас – вообщем-то в представлениях не нуждается.

FM передатчик – опция и только, мало кто пользуется ей.

DivX Player – отдельный плеер в дополнение к Real Player, как вы понимаете Xvid/DivX поддерживается из коробки.

SmartReader – приложение для распознавания визитных карточек.

SmartMemo – можно рисовать свои записки на экране.

Video Editor – честно признаюсь, что это приложение ввергло меня в ступор. Настолько оно в стиле Apple, красиво сделано, выезжают менюшки, все такое глянцевое. Совсем не вяжется с обликом и другой начинкой аппарата. Вот в момент, когда Samsung сделает все в таком стиле, кое-кому придется тяжело, пока же можно отдыхать.

Описав весь дополнительный софт, хочу сказать буквально несколько слов о перспективах этого аппарата. Это нишевое устройство, интересное для гиков, но не для обычных потребителей. Высокая стоимость, наличие 16 Гб встроенной памяти, большой экран и малое время работы. Вряд ли компания сможет запись видео в HD-разрешении сделать такой беспроигрышной технологией, что все кинутся покупать OMNIA HD. Этого точно не будет. Но модель приятная для того, чтобы поиграть, кому-то она может подойти. Но и только.

Ссылки по теме

MWC. Samsung – официальные премьеры телефонов и не только

Платформа S60 пятого издания

Обзор GSM/UMTS-телефона Samsung S8300 Ultra Touch

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 16 февраля 2009 г.

 

Поделиться

Мы в социальных сетях:




Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

25.04.2019 Ростелеком сделает звонки с таксофонов бесплатными

25.04.2019 LG закрывает производство смартфонов у себя на родине

24.04.2019 Oppo Reno официально дебютировал в Европе

24.04.2019 Apple получит 5G модемы в 2020 году. И не только от Qualcomm

24.04.2019 Huawei Y5 образца 2019 года представлен официально

24.04.2019 Oppo A9 - еще один смартфон с 48-МП камерой, но в среднем ценовом сегменте

24.04.2019 VIVO Y17 – смартфон среднего уровня и мощным аккумулятором

24.04.2019 Xiaomi представила смартфон Redmi Y3

24.04.2019 OPPO представила в России новую модель смартфона – OPPO A1k

24.04.2019 OnePlus официально объявила дату презентации своей новой линейки смартфонов

24.04.2019 Сбербанк официально подтвердил приобретение доли в Рамблер

23.04.2019 Oppo Reno с 10-кратным зумом начнут продавать 10 мая

23.04.2019 Новые подробности о OnePlus 7 и OnePlus 7 Pro

23.04.2019 Samsung отзывает тестовые образцы Galaxy Fold

Hit

23.04.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy Fold - эргономика

Hit

23.04.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy Fold - распаковка, внешний вид

Hit

23.04.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy Fold - работа с основным экраном

Hit

23.04.2019 Видео на канале: МЫСЛИ 2.0 | Общение в мессенджерах

23.04.2019 Представлен бюджетный смартфон – Honor 8S

23.04.2019 ФАС: Samsung признана виновной в незаконной координации цен на смартфоны и планшеты

23.04.2019 Раскрыт внешний вид нового планшета-телевизора от Samsung

23.04.2019 Huawei опубликовала финансовый отчет за первый квартал 2019 года

23.04.2019 Samsung официально объявила о перенесении сроков запуска в продажу своего складного смартфона Galaxy Fold

22.04.2019 Samsung откладывает демонстрацию Galaxy Fold в Китае

22.04.2019 Nubia Red Devil 3 уже показали публике

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.