facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials

Rambler's Top100

Review Sony SJ-33

“More well made pocket PC's!” - with such, probably, motto, Sony once again fills up the SJ model line. This time, handheld computer Sony SJ-33 differs in design, and, perhaps, also the built - in mp3-player. So, a brief review.

Set and package - all is standard - green box, cradle, battery charger, headphones without remote control.


Actually, it was the area with the most number of changes. The case of the new model is executed from black smooth plastic with rounded edges, is similar to a soap tray:-). The screen is closed too black, but a translucent cover, the screen is even visible through it when illumination works. The case could be very good, if not one small shortcoming: fingers prints immediately appear on smooth black plastic. They are erased, by the way, not so easy, leaving postings. Just from the box SJ-33 looks wonderful, but this beauty blots right now … It is insulting.

The cover of the screen fastens on the powerful closed loop in the top part of the screen and opens as in smartphone TREO on 150-170 degrees. But you can't remove, and cast away back too, so that the cover does not bear special functional work, it's a wrong decision.

On the cover a proud inscription flaunts now: Personal Entertainment Organiser.

Practically full restyling have undergone the basic hardware buttons under the screen: they have appreciably decreased and have located in round deepenings. Scrolling buttons are semicircular too and are located in a deepening and between them has settled down the indicator light-emitting diode. In my opinion, Sony engineers once again preferred design to functionality (first time it was in model PEG N 415). On the other hand, and I repeatedly spoke about it, the function of scrolling buttons in SONY handheld computers is assumed by JogDial module, and buttons become a certain atavism. On both sides from the block of buttons are small rubber fixings - stoppers for protective screen, above buttons flaunts grey inscription Clie.

From other controls it is possible to list JogDial module, the power-on button, which being shifted upwards, also carries out blocking of keys function - HOLD, and RESET button on the back panel, which in model SJ-33 is so big, that is possible to press on it simply with the end of stylus.

Under the power-on button one more compartment is located, closed with bibb and screw. By similar design in NX90 model, behind it settles down the Backup accumulator battery. To experiment untwisting the screw I did not begin - was afraid to spoil commodity view.:-)

Hardware characteristics

Motorola Super VZ processor - 66 MHz, 16 Mb of RAM, 8 Mb Flash ROM, polyphonic speaker, to a word - enough loud, built - in mp3-player (without remote control), with capability of playing ATRAC-4 files. The color display, 65000 colors, back illumination - in this area Sony are standard - ahead of all the planet! Palm OS 4.1. The battery is built - in. Whether I know, a merit of these batteries are, but Sony promises till 10 hours of music playing (with the switched off screen). I did not have opportunity to lead detailed tests, but in my opinion, it is no more than an advertising course, maybe, the player became more economic, but at normal work Sony consumed energy in a usual for SJ series mode.

Conclusions and comments

Frankly speaking, for me it is not clear, what for the company makes similar models of pocket PC's and deduces them on the market. It is not absolutely true from the marketing point of view, in fact the products with identical commodity qualities are competitors in their product niche. It means, for example, that with coming out of SJ-33 Sony obviously reduces sales of SJ-30 … An interesting opinion was stated by one colleagues of mine - that Sony simply fulfils a certain producing technology of pocket PC's … Anyway for the time being this is the most reasonable explanation.


Successful and, naturally, original model of a pocket PC. It is not necessary to doubt, that Palm admirers will pay attention to it. It is insulting only, that for its normal work, it is necessary to upgrade it, installing programs more suitable for work , than built in operational system, to select utilities, to find musical players for realization of all opportunities and operational system and hardware.


Alexander Ereemeev (eremeev@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Andreas Von Horn (andreas@mobile-review.com)

Published - 18 April 2003

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com



[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean


Register | Lost password?



© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Sony SJ-33 - Больше компьютеров хороших и разных!

Больше карманных компьютеров, хороших и разных, с таким, видимо, девизом, Sony в очередной раз пополняет линейку SJ. В этот раз, КПК Sony SJ-33 отличается дизайном, да, пожалуй, еще и встроенным mp3-плеером. Итак, краткий обзор.

Комплектность и упаковка – все стандартно – зеленая коробка, кредл, зарядник, наушники без пульта управления.

Дизайн.

Собственно, область, где и произошло наибольшее количество изменений. Корпус новой модели выполнен из черной гладкой пластмассы с закругленными краями, чем то похож на мыльницу :-). Экран закрывается тоже черной, но полупрозрачной крышкой, через нее даже видно экран, когда работает подсветка. Корпус был бы очень хорош, если бы не одно но: на гладкой черной пластмассе тут же остаются отпечатки пальцев. Стираются они, к слову, не так легко, оставляя разводы. Так что сразу из коробки SJ-33 выглядит замечательно, но эта красота тут же заляпывается… Обидно.


Крышка экрана крепится на мощной закрытой петле в верхней части экрана и открывается как в смартфоне TREO градусов на 150-170. Причем снять ее нельзя, откинуть назад тоже, что, при том, что крышка не несет особой функциональной нагрузки, не очень правильное решение.


На крышке же теперь красуется гордая надпись: Personal Entertainment Organiser.

Практически полному ристайлингу подверглись основные аппаратные кнопки под экранчиком: они заметно уменьшились и обосновались в круглых углублениях. Кнопки прокрутки полукруглые тоже расположены в углублении а между ними расположился индикационный светодиод. По-моему, инженеры Sony в очередной раз предпочли дизайн функциональности (первый раз это было в модели PEG N 415) С другой стороны, и я об этом неоднократно говорил, функцию кнопок прокрутки в КПК SONY берет на себя модуль JogDial, и кнопки становятся неким атавизмом. По обе стороны от блока кнопок находятся небольшие резиновые вставочки – стопоры для защитного экранчика, над кнопками красуется серая надпись Clie

Из остальных органов управления можно перечислить модуль JogDial, кнопку включения, которая, будучи сдвинутой вверх, выполняет и функцию блокирования клавиш – HOLD, и кнопку RESET на задней панели, которая в модели SJ-33 настолько большая, что на нее можно нажимать просто концом стилуса.




Под кнопкой включения расположен еще один отсек, закрытый заглушкой с винтом. Судя по подобной же конструкции в модели NX90, за ним располагается Backup-батарейка, причем аккумуляторная. Экспериментировать с откручиванием винта я не стал – боялся попортить товарный вид. :-)

Аппаратные характеристики.

Motorola Super VZ процессор – 66 Мгц, 16 Мб ОЗУ, 8 – ПЗУ, полифонический динамик, к слову – достаточно громкий, встроенный mp3-плеер (без поддержки пульта управления), с возможностью проигрывания файлов ATRAC-4. Цветной дисплей, 64000 цветов, задняя подсветка – в этой области Sony стандартно – впереди планеты всей! Операционная система Palm OS 4.1. Аккумуляторная батарея встроенная. Не знаю заслуга ли это батареи, но Sony обещает до 10 часов проигрывания музыки (с выключенным экраном). У меня не было возможности провести детальные тесты, но по-моему, это не больше чем рекламный ход, может быть, плеер и стал экономичнее, но при нормальной работе Sony потребляла энергию в обычном для серии SJ-режиме.

Выводы и комментарии.

Если честно, мне непонятно, зачем компания делает похожие модели карманных компьютеров и выводит их на рынок. Это не совсем верно с маркетинговой точки зрения, ведь продукты с идентичными товарными качествами являются конкурентами в своей продуктовой нише. Значит это, например, то, что с выходом модели SJ-33 сони заведомо снижает продажи модели SJ-30… Интересное мнение высказал один из моих коллег – о том, что Sony просто отрабатывает некую технологию производства карманных компьютеров… Во всяком случае пока это самое разумное объяснение.

ИТОГО

Удачная и, естественно, оригинальная модель карманного компьютера. Не стоит сомневаться, что поклонники Palm обратят на нее внимание. Обидно только, что для нормальной работы ее придется еще доводить до ума, устанавливая программы, более подходящие для работы, чем встроенные в операционную систему, подбирать утилиты, изыскивать музыкальные плееры для реализации всех возможностей и операционной системы и «железа».

 

Александр Еремеев (eremeev@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано - 21 марта 2003 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... anton.kotov@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

20.03.2019 У Google появился свой Стадий – для стриминга игр

Hit

19.03.2019 Видео на канале: МЫСЛИ | Общество потребления

Hit

19.03.2019 Видео на канале: СРАВНЕНИЕ Samsung Galaxy S10+ vs S10e

19.03.2019 Apple обновила линейку компьютеров iMac

19.03.2019 Неофициальные подробности о Google Pixel 3A

19.03.2019 ZTE сообщила основные характеристики для смартфона Nubia Red Magic 3

19.03.2019 Опубликованы изображения для прессы смартфона Samsung Galaxy A40

19.03.2019 Elari SmartBeat – беспроводная колонка с голосовым помощником Алисой от Яндекс

19.03.2019 Huawei официально представила очередной смартфон – Honor 10i

19.03.2019 Xiaomi выпустила новый игровой смартфон – Black Shark 2

19.03.2019 NVIDIA представила миниатюрный, но производительный компьютер на NVIDIA CUDA-X – Jetson Nano за $99

19.03.2019 Redmi 7 – смартфон на Snapdragon 632 за 104$

Hit

18.03.2019 Видео на канале: МЫСЛИ | О компании AKG

Hit

18.03.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy Watch Active

Hit

18.03.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy Buds

18.03.2019 Samsung готовит обновление линейки смартфонов

18.03.2019 Apple после долгого перерыва обновила планшет iPad Mini

18.03.2019 iPad Air 2019 - с поддержкой Apple Pencil, но без Face ID

18.03.2019 Появились изображения нового смартфона ZTE Axon S, выполненного в форм-факторе бокового слайдера

18.03.2019 Samsung представила в России новые смартфоны – Galaxy A50, A30 и A20

18.03.2019 Sony разработала новый многослойный КМОП сенсор – более миниатюрный и производительный

18.03.2019 Vivo раскрыла детали о новом смартфоне Vivo X27

18.03.2019 В России предлагают легализовать технологию eSim

Hit

15.03.2019 Видео на канале: Apple - всё! | Стриминговые сервисы

Hit

15.03.2019 Видео на канале: Баг распознавания лица Samsung Galaxy S10

Подписка
 
[an error occurred while processing this directive]