facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

Sharp at 3GSM a pinch of exotics

I just cant help visiting Sharps booth at various exhibitions, for this company doesnt come up with great many of models, but those available always present you with some kind of flavor unseen before. This year saw a handful of Sharps European models, with Sharp 770SH for Vodafone being the highlight of the show a fold phone designed after the latest trends, specifically boasting mirror-like fascia coating. The already run-of-the-mill cars theme is also there with McLaren Mercedes edition of this model that has exclusive wallpapers, sounds onboard, as well as a label above the display. The GX29 comes in a motor edition generally these offerings look really out of the ordinary.

But everyones eyes were naturally caught by the solutions for the Japanese market: for example Foma SH903i makes a statement with its offbeat design patterned plastic with nicely fitted LED indicators (dot-indicators on the sides). Imagining a Symbian-smartphone housed in this casing is next to impossible, all menus are styled in operators trademark colors, but there are some aspects that make everybodys eyes round.

It is not a secret that for Sharp displays are its major trump, and this model is no exception, having a 2,6-inch 240x320 pixels wide-screen display. The European market will see such displays not earlier than 2008. On top of that the 16 mln-color matrixes available in Europe today just get humiliated by the 262000-capable Sharps offering that display is simply brilliant or even better.

The handset is armed with a 3.2 Mpix CCD-matrix, presenting you with excellent picture quality, especially if snaps are viewed on a big screen, like they were at the exhibition. Video recording capabilities are fine at a resolution of 400x240 pixels (tailored for watching on TV again), and 15 FPS. The video clips looked fairly good on the big screen.

For transferring photos to TV they used IrSimple connectivity, which is an enhanced version of Infrared, allowing for up to 4 Mb/s speeds. Basically, development of dated services and features is another, if I may say so, a national trait in Japan. Really, they dont go for technologies just for the sake of it, dont forgo solutions that might be improved and combined with already existing offerings on the market of household appliances. Beaming a file, a full-size photo taken with the handset, over this protocol takes about 1 second, which was the main highlight at the companys booth.

On the Japanese market this handset comes enabled with GPS maps and other navigation services. Also there is a number of fetching utilities for protecting you information, specifically face recognition with the help of the forward-facing camera (what fingerprints are you talking about it is time to get the handset to know you by sight).Among things I thought were very promising, I shall mention Vivid UI, allowing you to set an animation as a background for the handsets menu.

We could spend a long time harping on Symbian 8.1 found in the handset, its being morally dated, but when you see what can talented arms of programmers do with the devices interface and its capabilities, well, it does boggle the mind. The model is extraordinary and extremely interesting, thus deserves special attention, particularly in 3G-enabled countries, where it will work without any problems.

We only have to add that this is a music-heavy offerings (WMA support is onboard), featuring a revamped, compared to the default, player. Overall, it a fine example of how to turn a standard product into a marvel, where you would barely find traces of the standard code it bases off. To cut a long story short, this handset is mind-blowing.

As for the prototypes, lacking hardware implementation, there was a music phone that might even make it to the European market.

At the booth one could also spend some quality time with the SideKick 3 from T-Mobile, housed in an unconventional form-factor, making it a good piece of exotics.

The Windows Mobile 5 range of the company offers a couple of Willcom-branded offerings, arriving in the Japanese market this summer. These models are interesting owing to the concept they employ Sharp didnt set out to go into minimalism and aimed at coming with powerhouses in the first place. The W-Zero3 a VGA display model equipped with a thumbboard (horizontal slider) and miniSD memory expansion slot. I didnt particularly like the handset because of its brick-like looks, and wholl buy it, even with its touchscreen I really cant say.

Its close sibling, W-Zero3 Premium Version is indeed another pair of shoes styled in conventional candy-bar form-factor, if big, it sports quality plastic (either white or black). Having a top-notch wide-screen touch sensitive display onboard, it also plays host to a QWERTY-keyboard. Weighing in at 175 grams, it is beyond what we call normal, but generally speaking for a tad more feature-packed offerings that are to come in future, these dimensions and weight will be not something out of the ordinary. This device appeals mostly due to having its own, unique face.

Wrapping up the brief story on the Sharp-branded exotic gadgets, I hope I have evoked at least a slightest desire to take a closer look at the companys products in you. If you happen to be in Japan, dont miss the chance to play around with similar models, they are really interesting.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 01 March 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

Sharp на 3GSM – немного экзотики

Мне нравится приходить на стенд Sharp на различных выставках, так как компания не производит неисчислимого количества моделей, а те, что есть, всегда радуют какой-то необычной фишкой. В этом году Sharp показывал горстку европейских моделей, интерес представлял аппарат Sharp 770SH для Vodafone – раскладушка, выполненная в стиле последних веяний, в частности, имеющая зеркальную поверхность на внешней стороне. Присутствует и уже ставшая обыденной автомобильная тема: так, вариант этой модели McLaren Mercedes имеет соответствующие заставки, звуки, плюс надпись над экраном. Модель GX29 также имеет подобную автомобильную версию, выглядят они необычно.

Но основной интерес, конечно же, представляют продукты для японского рынка: так, Foma SH903i порадовал необычностью внешней отделки – пластик с геометрическим узором, плюс в него отлично вписаны световые индикаторы (на боковых сторонах точечные индикаторы). Заподозрить в этом телефоне Symbian-смартфон крайне сложно, все меню выполнены в фирменном стиле оператора, но есть несколько моментов, которые просто поражают.

Не секрет, что дисплеи для Sharp являются фирменным коньком, так и в этой модели экран диагональю 2.6 дюйма имеет разрешение 240х320 точек, причем он широкоформатный. В Европе подобные экраны появятся только в моделях 2008 года, не ранее. Издевательством выглядит заявленная поддержка 262000 цветов, экран настолько отличный, что матрицы с поддержкой 16 миллионов, которые так активно продвигают в Европе сегодня, не выдерживают сравнения.

Камера в аппарате 3.2-мегапиксельная с CCD-матрицей, качество фотографий отличное, особенно если смотреть их на большом телевизоре, как это можно было сделать на выставке. Запись видео приемлемая, разрешение – 400х240 точек (оптимизация под ТВ вновь), а частота – 15 кадров в секунду. На телевизоре такие ролики смотрятся неплохо. 

Для передачи фотографий на телевизор использовался протокол IrSimple, это улучшенная версия ИК со скоростью передачи данных до 4 Мб/c. Собственно, развитие «устаревших» сервисов – еще одна, не побоюсь сказать, национальная черта японцев. Действительно, они не столь падки на технологии ради технологий и не стремятся отказываться от чего-то, что можно улучшить и совместить с имеющимися на рынке моделями бытовой техники. Передача одного файла через данный протокол занимает около 1 секунды. Это полноразмерная фотография с телефона.  Собственно, демонстрация данной технологии и была центральным местом на стенде компании.

На японском рынке для этого аппарата доступны сервисы GPS-навигации с картами, другими возможностями по ориентированию. Также есть ряд интересных утилит для защиты доступа к вашей информации, в частности, распознавание лица за счет фронтальной камеры (какие отпечатки, пора анализировать лица). Из того, что показалось очень перспективным, стоит отметить Vivid UI – вы можете установить анимационный файл в качестве подложки обычного меню телефона, выглядит это необычно.

Можно долго рассуждать, что версия Symbian в аппарате 8.1, что она морально «устарела», но когда видишь, что способны сделать талантливые программисты как с интерфейсом аппарата, так и с его возможностями, просто диву даешься. Модель удивительна, крайне интересна, заслуживает особого внимания. В тех странах, где есть сети третьего поколения, этот аппарат будет работать без всяких проблем.

Остается добавить, что модель музыкальная (есть поддержка WMA), переработанный от стандартного плеер. В целом это отличный пример того, как превратить стандартный продукт в конфетку, в которой вы вряд ли узнаете тот самый стандартный код, лежащий в основе. Одним словом, модель впечатляет.

Из разряда прототипов, не воплощенных в реальном железе, была показана некая музыкальная модель, вполне возможно, она доберется до Европы и в реальности чуть позднее.

На стенде можно было покрутить SideKick 3 от T-Mobile, в качестве экзотики модель также интересна, форм-фактор необычен.

На Windows Mobile 5 компания имеет пару моделей под маркой Willcom, они продаются в Японии с лета. Модели интересны своим подходом, компания не стала обращать внимание на размеры и постаралась сделать в первую очередь функциональные аппараты. W-Zero3 – модель с VGA-экраном, QWERTY-клавиатурой (горизонтальный слайдер), картой miniSD. Мне модель не слишком понравилась, так как она выглядит, как кирпич, и кому нужна, даже с сенсорным экраном, – не совсем понятно.

Другое дело ее собрат W-Zero3 Premium Version – этот аппарат выполнен в стиле обычного моноблока, пусть и большого. Качественный пластик, он может быть как черный, так и белый. Экран также WideScreen, причем сенсорный, очень качественный, присутствует QWERTY-клавиатура. Модель весит 175 грамм, что выше разумных пределов, но в принципе для чуть более функциональных моделей в будущем это допустимые габариты и вес. Аппарат имеет свое лицо, и понравился именно этим. Модель интересная.

Завершая краткий рассказ об экзотике от Sharp, надеюсь, что пробудил у вас хоть небольшое желание познакомиться с такими продуктами поближе. Будете в Японии, постарайтесь поиграть при случае с подобными моделями, они весьма любопытны.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 28 февраля 2007 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

  [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Новости:
Hit

20.05.2019 Видео на канале: МЫСЛИ | США отнимет Android у Huawei

Hit

20.05.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Samsung Galaxy A70

20.05.2019 Яндекс по ошибке удалял виртуальные серверы активных пользователей

20.05.2019 Redmi Note 7S – крепкий «середнячок» за небольшие деньги

20.05.2019 VIVO Y3 – недорогой смартфон с огромным аккумулятором и 128 Гб встроенной памяти

20.05.2019 «Убийца» флагманов от Xiaomi анонсируют 28 мая

20.05.2019 Google приостановила отношения с Huawei после внесения китайской компании в «черный» список

17.05.2019 Redmi 7A все ближе к официальному представлению

17.05.2019 Oppo K3 появился на официальном сайте компании

17.05.2019 Oppo A9x представлен официально

17.05.2019 Meizu M16Xs появился на TENAA

Hit

17.05.2019 Видео на канале: APPLE - ВСЁ! Компания, ориентированная на потребителя

Hit

17.05.2019 Видео на канале: ПЕРВЫЙ ВЗГЛЯД | ASUS Zenfone 6 флагман с поворотной камерой

Hit

17.05.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР | Лучший смартфон Xiaomi по доступной цене

Hit

17.05.2019 Видео на канале: НЕФОРМАТ | Ты и вы

17.05.2019 LG представила чип для бытовой техники с поддержкой искусственного интеллекта

17.05.2019 Билайн предлагает новые семейные тарифы, с которыми обещает сэкономить в два раза

17.05.2019 Sony Xperia Ace – компактный «середнячок» для японского рынка

17.05.2019 Xiaomi официально выводит свой «облегченный» флагман Mi 9 SE на российский рынок

17.05.2019 ASUS вывела в свет свой новый смартфон с поворотной камерой – ZenFone 6

16.05.2019 ESET предупреждает о новой угрозе в WhatsApp

16.05.2019 Western Digital запустил в продажу первую microSD карту памяти объёмом в 1 Тб

16.05.2019 МТС будет выдвать SIM-карты для интернета вещей всего за один рубль

16.05.2019 ФАС обвинила МТС, Tele2 и Билайн в нарушении Закона о защите конкуренции при SMS рассылках

16.05.2019 Состоялся анонс смартфона Motorola One Vision

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.