facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM(UMTS)-handsets Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Part Four or Whats new in interface?

Official Photos>>>

Live Photos>>>

Review of GSM(UMTS)-handsets Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Part One>>>

Review of GSM(UMTS)-handsets Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Part two: design, display and technologies>>>

Review of GSM(UMTS) phones Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Part 3: Photographic>>>

Review of GSM(UMTS) phones Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Part 4, or Whats new in interface?>>>

Review of GSM(UMTS)-handsets Sony Ericsson K790/K800 Fifth Part, the conclusion Interface and all standard functions>>>

 

This is a brief version of major changes in the devices, as compared to Sony Ericsson W810i for advanced users and our permanent readers this essence is more preferable, than looking through a sizeable text for scruples of information on each function. We didnt include all the flavor here, so the fifth part will feature some interesting material as well.

The manufacturer guarantees that the user will have not less than 64 Mb of free storage space at his disposal. Depending on region, firmware version and pre-installed applications, the free memory size may range from 68 to 73 Mb. Deletion of some pre-set pictures, ring tones and programs will release a bit more of storage space (in our case we managed to reach 82 Mb). Of course in terms of software these phones differ from the junior models, though all improvements are evolutionary rather than revolutionary.

The interface version got updated, as well as some functions, e.g. alarm clock, organizer, where from now on you can set reoccurring events, Activity Menu, which features more capabilities in these phones, and multitasking system, which got way better. If we list insignificant adjustments and changes, we will only waste our time; therefore well try to cover them while we review functionality of the devices on the whole. Amount of improvements now can be compared with their quality, since these are not upgrades of old devices, but all-new products. In the next part we will feature all functions, and as to this article, here you can find a brief description of all major and distinguishable things about the device.

The interface of the models seems familiar, as it doesnt differ from all other Sony Ericsson devices: the main menu has the appearance of a grid, consisting of 12 icons, which are remained pretty much the same only a few items changed their images, e.g. Camera. Between K790 and K800 one can find only one slight difference: the former one features Video calls option in its menu and the latter one Radio. Both devices have fast number navigation function onboard these shortcuts can be created for the majority of pre-installed by the manufacturer items on the menu, though this option is disabled for personal files and applications.

Widening of Activity Menu functionality is the result of the fourth tab addition. The first three ones display various events, like missed calls, memos, messages actually all this regards the first tab. One can disable Activity Menu for these events as well in this case pop up windows, reminding of a certain event type will appear on the screen. The third tab features the shortcuts, which should you set up yourself. And the added fourth one contains links to the most frequently used applications and resources and the top of this list is claimed by Google search. To tell the truth, the way Google trade mark affects consumers can be compared to voodoo conjuration. Thats why this search engine is used by several other manufacturers as well.



The second tab is the most interesting, since it appears to be some kind of a task manager, featuring the list of all running applications. The previous handsets by Sony Ericsson supported only multitasking you could play a Java-game, listen to the radio or player and type a message at once. Though these devices made one more step forward user is able to run two Java-applications at a time and switch between them. This may come in handy, in case you use an ICQ-like mobile client, which should be constantly online, and at the same time want to play a Java-game. Up to now analogues of these devices by other manufacturers haven't been announces however Nokia is scheduling introduction of this function in its handsets for the end of 2006 beginning of 2007. The up-to-date models provide possibility of simultaneous execution only for standard applications and one third-party program, and at that they can share the same network access. Later on they intend to add the capability of running two third-party applications at once this function is going to be incorporated before commercial launch of the devices, as its very attractive and relevant nowadays.

The updated USB-connection function can be rated as innovative as well from this point on youll have to choose beforehand whether files on memory card will be accessed or not (data transfer mode). In the former case, the device shuts down, so youre able to browse memory card and in the latter one you are offered various USB settings for accessing the network basically the handset transforms into a modem. As far as I remember similar realization of this function was featured only in Motorola ROKR E2, where you could use USB Ethernet (though the main point here and there is the same).

Having stuck with issues regarding connection to PC, when in some cases devices were automatically detected and in some not (USB Mass Storage), the company decided to play safe and now all essential drivers for PC are already stored on the handset, and should the program need them installed, they will be automatically transferred to computer.

As to the changes relating to interface are not evident the developers managed to leave generation succession untouched. The main stress was laid on removing option menus, so from now on, for example, all actions in the phonebook are performed via the context menu. This means you dont have to scroll the list to the beginning in order to execute copying of data to other handsets and so on. Way simpler realization of the function, which will fit most of consumers. Though at the same time the phonebook allows adding a new contact only from the general list and this fact upsets a bit, since this solution turned out to be halved. However the other menus became much easier to navigate in. Despite the junior models, there is now a function for dynamic filtering by Last Name and Name fields available you just choose the desired type and the device instantly sorts the list, without requiring its further deletion and reconstruction. Finally, there is an option for viewing the entire data on a certain entry, so now in order to view it you just open a contact without making up some tricks with editing and so on. Additional information for all fields is accessed by pressing the joystick.


You can choose whether current time will displayed at the stand-by screen or not at some point the developers decided to disable this function for reasons of energy saving (previously this option was also disabled). While in stand-by mode one can choose displaying time at the bottom (on or off) and font size, even though the clock is translucent, while using large font size it is well-distinguishable.


Themes in this model are equal in capacities to Sony Ericsson W600, Sony Ericsson W810i they change not only the main menu appearance, but the corresponding icons as well. Unfortunately, all pre-installed themes affect only the main menu, while the icons remain the same.


The alarm clock was also changed now user can operate 5 alarms, which can be set for triggering off on certain days of week. Besides the alarm tone, one can apply a short note and a picture to the reminder, so they will be displayed on the screen.

The organizer now features reoccurring events you can choose from weekly, daily, monthly and yearly reminders. Unfortunately the developers didnt implement the second nesting level, so thats the simplest variant of reoccurances, but better than nothing anyway.



By tradition, the file list can be sorted by date, type and size. The picture album now features new presentation, going by the name of Timeline. Having chosen this type, in the upper part of the screen you will see a line, consisting of months names with small icons of photos, taken in these time spans. You can also particularize the search by pressing the key for the second time this will lead to daily view of each month. Rather fresh idea letting you orient yourself in complete chaos of photos.



This function is used for sending photos to PhotoBlog as well, another service by Sony Ericsson for its users, where they can save their photos.

The media player obtained support for AAC, AAC+, eAAC+ files, besides the standard MP3. In our sample the interface copied Sony Ericsson W800i, but it is to be repainted from orange into black with Walkman logo permanently removed. The player is rather good, but number of additional functions as compared to Sony Ericsson W950i seems to be quite limited.

FM-radio looks like any other one, unless you dont call at Identify Music tab. While listening to a radio-station, you always get stuck on the fact you like the song, but dont know the artist. Should you find yourself in this situation, just select this function, so the device will automatically record 3-4 seconds of broadcast and connect to a special server, which carries out identification - after this the result is displayed as a tag. Initially the service, which is to be launched approximately in summer, will be free for Sony Ericsson users.

Talking about different orientation of pages, we have to note that the handset saves the last used settings for NetFront browser and applies it on the next start. So if you were browsing pages in landscape mode, they will be brought up in this manner from all other applications. However this option isnt convenient in some cases there should be more variants for each function. On the whole the browser is handy and allows browsing standard Internet pages, though with some limitations. Nevertheless Opera Mini is the best all-round solution.


As regards messages, here the developers remade appearance of some smiles they now look even funnier. But the major improvement awaits us on the main list, where RSS Feed option is now available. All settings are extremely simple you just input the Feeds name and address and after this the device uploads it. There is a function for updating both a single Feed and all together. The built-in browser is used for displaying the feeds.


The E-mail settings feature a singled out password for SMTP-accounts, and that makes all the difference. The options are very flexible almost all codepages are supported in the handset, not only Unicode. All attachments in a letters body are displayed as icons. Any office files or PDF are not recognized by the device, however they can be received and saved in any folder. All limitations on the outgoing letters are set by mobile operators we managed to send several letters of 6-7 Mb in size without any problems though. The device also has support for Push Mail standard. The last but not the least letters are sent and received in background more.

There are some inexplicable things regarding the phone as well e.g. how can one explain a smile that appears any time when youre viewing some pictures? We didnt manage to figure out its purpose, maybe it is somehow connected with the future introduction of DRM function?

The handset, following the rule, freely receives any applications and files via Bluetooth and IrDA.

In the next part we will review all functions of the device step-by-step and sum-up everything there as well. As a bonus, youll be dropped a hint at the next device of the company in different form-factor.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Alexander "Lexx" Zavoloka (alexander.zavoloka@mobile-review.com)

Published — 28 February 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть четвертая или что изменилось в интерфейсе, функциях

Официальные фотографии>>>

Фотографии в интерьере>>>

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть первая>>>

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть вторая>>>

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть третья>>>

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть пятая>>>

Это краткая версия основных изменений по сравнению с Sony Ericsson W810i, для опытных пользователей или постоянных читателей такая выжимка предпочтительнее, чем поиск крупиц обновлений в большом тексте о каждой функции. Сюда, правда, вошло не все, так что и в пятой части найдутся интересные вещи.

Производитель говорит о том, что пользователь гарантированно получит не менее 64 Мб свободного места в памяти аппарата. В зависимости от страны, версии прошивки и предустановленных программ мы можем наблюдать разброс от 68 до 73 Мб свободного места. Удаление некоторых предустановленных картинок, мелодий, программ позволит высвободить еще место (в нашем случае мы достигли 82 Мб). Программно телефоны отличаются от предыдущих моделей, изменения носят эволюционный, но не революционный характер.

Обновилась версия интерфейса, изменились принципы работы с некоторыми функциями, например, будильником, появились полностью повторяющиеся события в органайзере, переработано Activity Menu, но главное - улучшена система многозадачности (возможность запуска двух приложений одновременно). Перечислять количество мелких изменений и улучшений в списочном порядке - неблагодарное занятие, поэтому постараемся пройтись по ним в процессе изложения функциональности всего телефона. Количество улучшений переросло в качественную составляющую, это не обновление, а продукт нового класса. В следующей части мы традиционно расскажем обо всех функциях, здесь же - выжимка из основных и наиболее отличных вещей.

Интерфейс модели хорошо знаком по аппаратам от Sony Ericsson, главное меню представляет собой набор из 12 иконок, они практически не изменились. Перерисовке подверглась только часть иконок, например, для камеры. Между K790 и K800 в меню существует единственное различие: для одного туда вынесены видеозвонки, а для второго - работа с радио. Присутствует быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей. Ярлыки быстрого доступа могут создаваться на большинство пунктов меню, предустановленных производителем, но не на свои приложения или файлы.

Расширение функциональности Activity Menu произошло за счет добавления четвертой закладки. На первых трех отображаются события, как-то: пропущенные звонки, напоминания, сообщения; это, собственно, первая закладка. Можно отменить для таких событий использование Activity Menu, в этом случае будут появляться всплывающие окошки с предупреждением для каждого типа событий. Третья закладка - это ваши ярлыки, вы устанавливаете их самостоятельно. Четвертая закладка - это ссылки на наиболее часто используемые ресурсы, здесь на первом месте гордо красуется поиск от Google. Велика сила веры людей в торговые марки, и использование Google в телефоне сродни шаманскому заклинанию для многих маркетологов. Этот же поисковик предпочитают использовать и некоторые другие производители.

Вторая закладка наиболее интересна, это список запущенных, выполняемых приложений. Предыдущие модели телефонов от Sony Ericsson поддерживали многозадачность: так, вы могли играть в Java-игру и одновременно прослушивать как радио, так и плеер, либо слушать музыку и набирать сообщение. Здесь сделан еще один шаг вперед: пользователь может запускать до двух Java-приложений и переключаться между ними. Это весьма полезно, если вы используете ICQ-подобный мобильный клиент, который должен постоянно находиться в сети, но в то же время хотите сыграть в игру, написанную на Java. На данный момент аналогичные аппараты других производителей не были анонсированы, Nokia готовит представление подобной функции на конец 2006 - начало 2007 года.

В текущих версиях моделей одновременный запуск возможен только для стандартных приложений и одного стороннего. Причем они могут разделять один и тот же доступ к сети. В дальнейшем будет добавлена возможность запуска двух сторонних приложений, это планируется сделать до коммерческого запуска аппаратов в продажу. Функция крайне интересная и реально востребованная.

К разряду таких же вещей стоит отнести поведение аппарата при USB-подключении. Теперь вы в принудительном порядке должны выбрать, будет ли осуществляться доступ к файлам на карте памяти, это режим передачи данных, или продолжится работа с телефоном. В первом случае телефон отключается, вы видите карту памяти. Во втором случае присутствуют различные настройки USB для осуществления доступа в сеть, телефон выступает в качестве модема. Подобная реализация до этого момента мне встречалась только в Motorola ROKR E2, там организована возможность использования USB Ethernet (суть и там, и здесь одинакова).

Обжегшись на том, что в каких-то случаях модели определяются автоматически при подключении к ПК, а в каких-то - нет (USB Mass Storage), в компании решили перестраховаться. В дальнейшем все необходимые драйвера для ПК находятся в самом телефоне и при подключении к компьютеру передаются на него (конечно, если они необходимы).

Изменения в интерфейсе не бросаются в глаза, преемственность поколений сохранена. Основной упор был сделан в сторону отказа от встроенных в списки опционных меню, например, в телефонной книге теперь буквально все операции совершаются из контекстного меню. То есть не надо как раньше прокручивать список в начало, чтобы вызвать копирование данных на другой телефон, и тому подобное. Более стандартная реализация и понятная большему числу потребителей. В то же время в той же телефонной книге добавление нового контакта оставили в списке, это расстраивает, то есть решение половинчатое. Но в остальных местах все очень неплохо с такой реализацией меню. В отличие от предыдущих моделей, стала поддерживаться динамическая фильтрация по полям Фамилия, Имя. Вы выбираете тип отображения, и телефон пересортирует тут же список, не требуется его удаления и последующего восстановления. Наконец-то, появилась опция просмотра всей информации для контакта, вам достаточно открыть его, не требуется исхитряться с редактированием и тому подобными глупостями. Дополнительная информация для полей доступна по нажатию на джойстик.

Для дисплея можно выбрать, будут ли отображаться часы в режиме ожидания на черном экране, в какой-то момент последовал отказ от этой возможности из-за соображений энергосбережения. Ранее функция была также не настраиваемой. В режиме ожидания можно выбрать отображение часов на экране внизу (есть или нет), плюс стал доступен выбор размера шрифта, при большом часы хорошо заметны, хотя и сделаны полупрозрачными.

Темы в данной модели ровно такие же по возможностям, как в Sony Ericsson W600, Sony Ericsson W810i. То есть меняется не только оформление меню, но и соответствующие иконки главного меню. К сожалению, все предустановленные темы не затрагивают вид главного меню, иконки остаются прежними.

Будильники изменились, их стало ровно 5, для каждого можно настроить работу в определенные дни недели. Помимо сигнала будильника, можно выбрать небольшую заметку и картинку, они будут отображаться на экране.

В органайзере добавили повторяющиеся события: так, можно выбрать еженедельные, ежемесячные, годовые повторы. К сожалению, второго уровня вложенности нет, это простейший вариант повторений, но хоть так.

Традиционно в списке файлов можно их сортировать по дате, типу, размеру. В альбоме для фотографий появилось новое представление под названием Timeline. Выбрав это представление, вы увидите вверху экрана линейку, на которой будет отображаться список месяцев. И в списке - небольшие иконки для фотографий, сделанных в этих месяцах. Вы можете уточнить поиск и нажать на клавишу повторно, тогда будет показываться уже список дней для выбранного месяца. Хорошее отображение, позволяющее ориентироваться между завалами из фотографий.

Оно же служит для отправки фотографий на PhotoBlog, это еще один сервис от Sony Ericsson для пользователей, последние могут сохранять свои фотографии, отправляя их с телефона.

Медиаплеер научился работать с AAC-, AAC+-, eAAC+-файлами (помимо стандартных мр3). В нашем образце интерфейс плеера был полностью заимствованным у Sony Ericsson W800i, но он будет переделан из оранжевого в черный цвет, и логотип Walkman не будет использоваться с данным продуктом вообще. Плеер хорош, но количество дополнительных опций, в сравнении с Sony Ericsson W950i, выглядит крайне небольшим.

FM-радио, казалось бы, обыкновенное, пока речь не заходит о пункте меню Identify Music. Прослушивая ту или иную радиостанцию, вы можете столкнуться с тем, что не знаете, как зовут исполнителя, а он вам нравится. Достаточно вызвать данную функцию, чтобы аппарат записал порядка 3-4 секунд эфира и связался со специальным сервером, который и проводит сравнение. Результат выдается в виде тега, который ползет в верхней части экрана (как в горизонтальной, так и в вертикальной ориентации). Первоначально сервис будет бесплатен для пользователей телефонов Sony Ericsson, его запустят ориентировочно летом.

Говоря о различной ориентации страниц, необходимо отметить, что телефон запоминает последнюю настройку для NetFront browser и использует ее. Коли вы смотрели страницы в сети горизонтально, то так же они будут вызываться из всех приложений. Подобная работа браузера не всегда удобна, хотелось бы отдельных настроек для каждой функции. В целом браузер удобен и позволяет просматривать обычный Интернет, хотя и с некоторыми ограничениями. Opera Mini в любом случае остается предпочтительнее.

В сообщениях переработали вид иконок смайликов, они стали забавнее. Но главное изменение нас ждет в основном списке: появился пункт RSS Feed. Настройки предельно просты: вы указываете название ленты и ее адрес, дальше телефон вытягивает ее. Есть возможность обновлять как одиночную ленту, так и все сразу. Для отображения используются возможности встроенного браузера (также стоит помнить про ориентацию).

В настройках электронной почты есть отдельный пароль для SMTP-аккаунтов, что очень приятно. Настройки гибкие, добавлена поддержка практически всех кодовых страниц, а не только Unicode. В теле письма вложения, поддерживаемые аппаратом, отображаются в виде миниатюр. Офисные файлы или PDF аппарат не понимает, но их можно принимать на телефон и сохранять в любой директории. Ограничения на размер файла, отправляемого с телефона или принимаемого на него, устанавливаются оператором. Письма с вложениями около 6-7 Мб уходят с телефона без всяких проблем. Аппарат поддерживает стандарт Push Mail. Естественно, что отправка и прием писем происходят в фоновом режиме.

К разряду необъяснимых вещей можно отнести смайлик, который появляется при просмотре некоторых изображений, это совершенно обычный смайлик, безо всяких изысков. Что он должен характеризовать - не совсем ясно, быть может, это как-то связано с будущей реализацией DRM? Ответа в данный момент нет.

Телефон традиционно принимает любые приложения, файлы по Bluetooth, ИК-порту.

Из других мелочей, запомнившихся в аппарате, стоит отметить появившиеся менюшки с помощью, объяснениями работы той или иной функции. Они сильно облегчают жизнь и разнообразят общение с аппаратом, направление развития интересное и правильное.

В следующей части шаг за шагом мы расскажем обо всех функциях аппарата, плюс подведем итоги. И в качестве бонуса дадим намек о следующем аппарате компании в другом форм-факторе.

Обзор GSM(UMTS)-телефонов Sony Ericsson K790/K800 – Часть пятая>>>

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 28 февраля 2006 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

19.01.2018 LG X4+: сертификат MIL-STD 810G и выделенный ЦАП, но только для Кореи

19.01.2018 Китайские власти озаботились финансовым здоровьем В и С-брендов

19.01.2018 Razer Phone 2 выйдет в сентябре

19.01.2018 Смартфон vivo со скрытым сканером отпечатков представят 25 января

19.01.2018 Для приставок NVIDIA SHIELD TV становится доступна 4К-видеосвязь

19.01.2018 Samsung начинает производство первой в отрасли 16-гигабитной графической памяти GDDR6

Hit

18.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор FullVision смартфона Leagoo S8

18.01.2018 Sony останется на рынке телефонов

18.01.2018 Samsung запатентовал камеру под экраном

18.01.2018 HMD обещает анонсы на MWC 2018

18.01.2018 ZTE выходит со складным смартфоном Axon M за пределы рынка США

18.01.2018 На MWC 2018 возможно покажут новый флагман Xiaomi – Mi7

18.01.2018 В новой версии iOS у пользователей будет выбор между производительностью и «долгожительством» устройства

18.01.2018 Обнаружена очередная «текстовая бомба», заставляющая перезагружаться iPhone, iPad и Mac

18.01.2018 Яндекс учится искать попутчиков

17.01.2018 Xiaomi обновит 40 устройств до MIUI 9

17.01.2018 YouTube ввел новые принципы монетизации каналов

17.01.2018 Безрамочный BQ 5500L Advance поступил в продажу

Hit

17.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор FullVision смартфона BQ Space X

Hit

17.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона ZTE Nubia Z17

Hit

17.01.2018 Samsung Galaxy S9 + большой аккумулятор на 8300 мАч = BLUBOO S3

17.01.2018 Skygofree — один из самых продвинутых зловредов под Android

17.01.2018 Представлен полноэкранный смартфон MEIZU M6s на процессоре Samsung Exynos

17.01.2018 Ростелеком получил частоты для тестирования сетей пятого поколения

17.01.2018 Samsung представил смартфон, посвящённым Зимним Олимпийским играм – PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Games Limited Edition

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2018. All rights reserved.