facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handsets SonyEricsson K200/K220i

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • Charger
  • Battery
  • User Guide
  • Wired stereo-headset HP-62 (only for the K220i)

The entry-level segment of SonyEricsson generates good sales thanks to ODM-products, although the company does not strive for heavy advertising campaigns for such offerings or excessive demand for them. The reason is nothing new: these devices differ too much from those coming from the mid price-bracket, sport other capabilities onboard and do not ooze that familiar aura, which many have used to feel with the companys top solutions. The release of a duo - SonyEricsson K220/K220i that are set apart only with presence of radio module in the senior handset, is meant to freshen up the range. These devices shouldnt be considered as bestsellers or something like that nothing more than an adequate proposal without any trumps or cutting edge over other makers in the respective price bracket, thats the role they play.

Over at Sony Ericsson they compare these devices with such handsets as Sony Ericsson J220i and Sony Ericsson K310i. Both models take intermediate position between the J220i and the K310i.

In the sense of design the handsets are twin brothers, and as we dig deeper into the review, we will highlight only substantial differences, while all the rest of it goes for either of the handsets. Looking at the phones it is easy to recognize Sony Ericssons style, as both the front plate and the sides are finished in glossy plastic. At that, the front fascia features an inset made of transparent plastic, boosting overall impression. The design can be characterized as staid and not too flashy, which is good for budget offerings.

Sony Ericsson K200 comes in two colors: Metallic Black (black) and Light Champagne (gold).

Sony Ericsson K220i is also available in two color variations: Frost White (white) and Ocean Blue (dark blue).

The handset measures 1034616.7 mm at 82g. For modern handsets such dimensions are pretty much standard, youll face no issues with carrying the phone in the pocket of jeans, shirt or suit.

Unlike the senior models, these two handsets have no side-mounted controls; only the left spine is equipped with Infrared window, while on the lower end you will find Fast Port, and an eyelet for a carrying strap under the back cover. The rear houses lens of VGA-camera with quite mediocre quality which is typical for handsets in this price-bracket. There you will also find the socket of the main loudspeaker that plays back music on inbound call.

The handset sports display with a resolution of 128x128 pixels, 1.6-inch diagonal and ability to show up to 65 K colors (cSTN). For todays offerings such screen is everything but a wild dream, it is rather par for the course for low-end solution. The screen accommodates up to 5 text lines and 2 service lines. In the sun it does absolutely no good and you have to search for a good angle to pick out the image.

The keypad here is a cross between skinny buttons of older models (two soft-keys designed in such way here) and staggered keys coated in transparent plastic (the rest of the keypad), which adds some points to its overall ease-of-use. Ergonomics in these devices is pretty good, though the four-way navigation key is not particularly convenient to handle due to its tiny size. The keypad is evenly lit in bright blue; captions remain visible in various environments.

Should you put some strain into it and push the back cover, you may hear slight crackling noise but generally the cover exposes no gap. The device utilizes already familiar 900 mAh Li-Pol unit (BST-37) used in all previous handsets. As the manufacturer claims this capacity is enough for up to 300 hours of stand by and up to 8 hours of talk time. In the conditions of Moscow networks the handset lasted for about 4-5 days at 40-50 minutes of calls (in all) and about 10-15 message (sent). Pretty good result for the given price-bracket is achieved through the screen features and being a non-heavily-packed device. As for the senior model, 1.5-2 hours of radio cuts the battery life down to 3-2 days. It takes the device a bit more than 2 hours to charge from empty to full.

Menu

Menu layout is typical for recent Sony Ericsson-branded handsets, thus for the sake of convenience the main menu is displayed in the Nokia-esque horizontal style, when menu and its caption are shown on the display. At the same time you are free to swap to the traditional grid mode (3x3), which is is more comfortable, from my point of view. Menu here comes enabled with shortcut number navigation.

Your snaps and other multimedia content can be stored on 2 Mb of the phones memory. For want of MP3 support, one would hardly need more, though.

Phonebook. Each name can be assigned with up to 3 numbers; length of the Name field makes up 20 symbols. The phonebook in the K200/220i can store up to 300 names. In the general list you can search for contacts, although it is called up before the list appears, which can be uncomfortable and inadmissible sometimes. Thats pretty much about the phonebook in the K200/220i, if not taking speed dial into account.

Messages. The phone memory can keep up to 250 messages, when typing predicative text input T9 is available, EMS-standard is supported. Everything here is quite spartan; MMS support would barely get the target audience curios.

Call list. There is a merged call list with up to 20 numbers in it; each number has an icon indicating the call type.

Settings. Using this menu you can enable automatic key lock, change wallpapers, choose theme or ring tone. Pre-installed tunes are good enough and sound rather interesting. This menu item can be also used to turn on Infrared-port.

Camera. The device sports VGA-camera onboard with slide-show mode available. As you might have already guessed, camera offers you no cutting edge abilities, snaps quality is poor.

Extras. In this menu item you may find such functions as single alarm clock, calendar with month-view an ability to submit simple events with reminder, calculator, countdown timer and stopwatch.

The handset will keep you entertained with 3 games: Black Deal, Honey Cave 2, Quadra Pop.

The WAP-browser gives you access to Internet, though its capabilities are pretty prosy and will be unused by consumers (as one cant install custom apps here, Opera Mini, for example).

FM-radio (only in K220i). Even in such budget solutions RDS support in FM-radio is becoming a default feature, which is SonyEricssons trademark. But it is quite another matter that the target audience probably wont need such functionality, it is just a tiny extra thrown in for good measure. The radio is capable of working in background mode, in this case the information on chosen frequency is shown on the screen. You are at liberty to store up to 20 radio stations and search for them either in automatic or manual mode. Radio signal can be played through the loudspeaker, but whatever the case is, the headset must be plugged in.

Compared with the older models by the company, the radio module in the K220i can not indulge the user with anything out of this world - sensitivity is quite low, so that you will occasionally hear noises and distractions. I cant say that radio does not work at all - it works, but requires better reception conditions. In this respect the model looks like an alien in the line-up due to its ODM origin.

Impressions

The handset comes included with 32-chord polyphony; to our surprise call alert was rather loud, preinstalled tunes sounded penetrating. The device does not support any audio formats except I-Melody and midi, MP3 absence is a serious restriction which should be pondered. On the other hand, if you need a budget solution only for calls it wont be an obstacle to you.

The problem of choice between the K200 and K220i is very obscure. Do you need radio with middling headphones or will you be quite content with the phone only? It is up to you to decide, how adequate the difference in price is. In any case these are budget devices with very poor specifications. Going for these offerings would be justified for those who arent into handsets and tend to base on their emotions in the first place, when buying a phone. The two models are expected to be available for purchase in June at the prices of 70 and 95 USD respectively. Is that reasonable? From my point of view, not exactly, as we already have Nokia 2626 in the market for about 100 USD (by June the price will go down to 90-85 USD). This handset offers better functionality with the radio onboard. Samsungs line-up also proposes a handful of entry-level candy-bars armed with FM-radio in the same price-bracket. Thus we will draw a conclusion that purchase of either of these models is the result of an emotions-driven or random choice, nothing more than that.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Vera Paderina (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 29 March 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

Обзор GSM-телефонов Sony Ericsson K200i/K220i

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Аккумулятор
  • Инструкция
  • Проводная стереогарнитура HP-62 (только в K220i)

В бюджетном сегменте компания Sony Ericsson имеет хорошие продажи за счет ODM-продуктов, но отнюдь не стремится рекламировать широко такие аппараты либо создавать излишний спрос на них. Причина банальна: эти телефоны сильно отличаются от моделей среднего сегмента, имеют иные возможности, не несут той ауры, что знакома многим пользователям топовых решений компании. Выход на рынок пары моделей Sony Ericsson K200i/K220i, которые отличаются исключительно наличием радио в старшей модели, призван обновить модельный ряд. Рассматривать эти аппараты в качестве бестселлеров или чего-то подобного нельзя – приемлемое предложение в своей ценовой группе, без всяких плюсов или преимуществ по сравнению с другими производителями.

В компании сравнивают эти два аппарата с такими моделями, как Sony Ericsson J220i, а также Sony Ericsson K310i. Обе модели занимают промежуточное между ними положение.

Дизайн телефонов совпадает, и далее мы будем останавливаться и заострять внимание только на актуальных отличиях, во всех остальных случаях все написанное относится к обоим аппаратам. Внешность телефонов однозначно выдает производителя, пластик глянцевый как на передней панели, так и сбоку. При этом передняя панель имеет вставку из прозрачного пластика для усиления эффекта. Дизайн можно охарактеризовать как спокойный, не очень броский, такой ценится среди бюджетных аппаратов.

Модель Sony Ericsson K200i доступна в двух цветовых решениях – Metallic Black (черный), а также Light Champagne (золотистый).

Модель Sony Ericsson K220i выпускается также в двух цветах – Frost White (белый), Ocean Blue (темно-синий).

Размер телефона – 103х46х16.7 мм, вес – 82 грамма. Это стандартные размеры для современных аппаратов, вы спокойно сможете носить телефон как в кармане рубашки, джинсов, так и в костюме.

В отличие от старших моделей нет никаких управляющих клавиш на боковых сторонах, на левой стороне – окно ИК-порта, на нижнем торце – Fast Port, крепление ремешка под заднюю крышку. На задней стороне аппарата также находится VGA-камера, ее качество среднее или посредственное, что и верно для подобного класса телефонов. Тут же находится отверстие основного динамика, который воспроизводит музыку во время звонка.

Экран в данной модели имеет разрешение 128х128 точек, диагональ – 1.6 дюйма, отображает до 65000 цветов (cSTN). Для сегодняшних моделей такой экран отнюдь не является пределом мечтаний, это типично бюджетное решение. На экране помещается до 5 строк текста и до 2 служебных строк. На солнце он сильно выцветает, приходится искать угол для комфортного отображения картинки.

Клавиатура комбинирует тонкие клавиши, характерные для старших моделей, тут такие две софт-клавиши. Остальная клавиатура из прозрачного пластика, сделана уступами, что повышает комфортность при работе с ней. Эргономика на высоте, но навигационная четырехпозиционная клавиша не слишком удобна в силу небольшого размера. Подсветка клавиш синего цвета, она яркая, обозначения хорошо видны в различных условиях.

Задняя крышка при сильном нажатии начинает похрустывать, но в принципе она лишена люфта. В телефоне применяется известная по всем предыдущим моделям батарея BST-37, она литий-полимерная емкостью 900 мАч. По заявлению производителя, батарея способна обеспечить до 300 часов работы в режиме ожидания и до 8 часов работы в режиме разговора. В условиях московских сетей аппарат работал порядка 4-5 дней при 40-50 минутах разговоров всего, около 10-15 сообщениях (набор сообщений). Результат вполне хороший для бюджетного решения, обусловлен особенностями экрана, отсутствием большой функциональности. Для старшей модели прослушивание радио примерно в течение 1.5-2 часов в день сокращает общее время работы до 3-4 дней. Полное время зарядки аккумулятора – чуть больше 2 часов.

Меню

Организация меню типична для бюджетных решений от Sony Ericsson последнего времени; так, в угоду удобству в стиле Nokia основное меню представлено горизонтальными пунктами, когда на экране отображается иконка и подпись к ней. В то же время в меню можно переключиться на матричное отображение (3х3 иконки), оно, на мой взгляд, удобнее. В меню действует быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей.

Для хранения своих картинок, фотографий и прочего контента в телефоне около 2 Мб памяти. При отсутствии поддержки мр3 надобности в большом объеме памяти нет.

Телефонная книга. Для имени можно сохранить до 3 различных номеров, длина поля «Имя» составляет 20 символов. В памяти можно сохранить до 300 имен. В общем списке есть поиск, он вызывается, собственно, до отображения самого списка, что не всегда удобно и приемлемо. На этом возможности телефонной книги заканчиваются, если только не вспомнить про быстрый набор номеров.

Сообщения. До 250 сообщений может быть сохранено в памяти телефона, при наборе присутствует предикативный ввод Т9, поддерживается стандарт EMS. Все очень аскетично, наличие поддержки MMS не очень-то интересно целевой аудитории аппарата.

Список вызовов. Он объединенный, для каждого типа вызова указывается своя иконка, всего присутствует до 20 записей.

Установки. Из этого меню можно активировать автоматическую блокировку клавиатуры, сменить обои экрана, выбрать тему, мелодию звонка. Предустановленные мелодии хороши, интересно звучат. ИК-порт активируется из этого же меню.

Камера. В аппарате VGA-камера, есть режим слайд-шоу для полученных снимков. Как вы понимаете, эта камера не дает никаких возможностей, качество снимков весьма неинтересное.

Экстра. В меню ряд функций, в частности, однократный будильник, календарь за месяц с возможностью вводить простые события с предупреждением, калькулятор, таймер обратного отсчета, секундомер.

В телефоне три игры – Black Deal, Honey Cave 2, Quadra Pop.

WAP-браузер позволяет работать через точку доступа internet, но его возможности весьма обыденны, да и не будут востребованы пользователями (ведь поставить свои программы сюда нельзя, например, Opera Mini).

FM-радио (только K220i). Поддержка RDS для FM-радио становится нормой и в таких бюджетных решениях, это фирменный знак от Sony Ericsson. Другое дело, что надобности в этой технологии у целевой аудитории, наверное, нет, просто небольшая добавка к функциональности. Радио работает и в фоновом режиме, тогда на экране отображается информация о выбранной частоте. До 20 станций можно сохранить в памяти, есть как автоматический их поиск, так и ручной. Радио можно прослушивать в режиме громкой связи, но всегда должна быть подключена гарнитура.

В сравнении со старшими моделями компании в этой реализация радио не слишком нас балует, чувствительность относительно низка, есть посторонние шумы порой, не всегда воспроизведение корректно. Отнюдь не могу сказать, что радио не работает, но оно требует более хороших условий приема. В этом еще раз проявляется инородность модели в модельном ряду, ее ODM-корни.


Впечатления

В аппарате 32-тональная полифония, звонок на удивление громкий и со встроенными мелодиями звучит чисто. Аппарат не поддерживает никаких форматов для аудио, кроме I-Melody и midi, отсутствие мр3 – серьезное ограничение, о котором стоит подумать. С другой стороны, если вас привлекает бюджетное решение только для звонков, то это не должно стать препятствием.

Выбор между Sony Ericsson K200i и Sony Ericsson K220i крайне условный. Нужно ли вам радио со средними наушниками, или вы будете довольствоваться только телефоном? Решать вам, насколько оправданна разница в цене. В любом случае, это бюджетные аппараты с весьма скромными характеристиками. Их покупка оправданна для людей, которые не разбираются в мобильных телефонах, осуществляют эмоциональную покупку. Выход на рынок обеих моделей запланирован на июнь, цена составит порядка 2000 и 2400 рублей (75 и 90 долларов соответственно). Оправданна ли стоимость этих аппаратов? На мой взгляд, она не совсем интересна, так как на рынке уже есть Nokia 2626 по цене порядка 100 долларов (к июню она будет стоить порядка 85-90). Этот аппарат предлагает большую функциональность, в наличии также радио. В линейке от Samsung также хватает бюджетных моноблоков, оснащенных FM-радио и в той же ценовой группе. Отсюда и вытекает, что покупка этих моделей – исключительно вопрос эмоционального или случайного выбора. 

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 22 марта 2007 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

24.03.2017 ZTE потерпела убытки в 4 квартале из-за штрафа в США

24.03.2017 Цены и варианты Xaiomi Mi 6 и Mi 6 Plus попали в сеть

24.03.2017 В сервисе Google Авиабилеты для России теперь можно планировать поездки и на поезде

24.03.2017 Samsung продемонстрировал концепты умных часов на базе Gear S3

24.03.2017 Meizu M621C-S прошел сертификацию TENAA

24.03.2017 EZVIZ представила на российском рынке полнофункциональную систему «умный дом»

24.03.2017 Флагман Nokia получит сдвоенную камеру с оптикой Carl Zeiss

Hit

24.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона 4Good R407

24.03.2017 В России представлены игровые ноутбуки Lenovo Legion Y520 и Legion Y720

24.03.2017 Google избавит Hangouts от поддержки SMS

24.03.2017 Panasonic сделает крупного испанского разработчика автомобильных систем своей дочерней компанией

23.03.2017 Fossil представила более 300 моделей умных часов

23.03.2017 Le XiubaleR получит Helio X20 и Android 7.1.2

23.03.2017 LG Pay будет запущен в Корее в июне

23.03.2017 Casio представила версию смарт-часов Pro Trek WSD F20 с сапфировым стеклом

23.03.2017 Два смартфона Meizu с быстрой зарядкой зарегистрированы в Китае

23.03.2017 Красный iPhone оказался аномально популярным в Китае

23.03.2017 Яндекс увидел угрозу для своих «Денег» в СП Сбербанка и Alibaba

23.03.2017 Apple запустила вебсайт «Бизнес» в России

Hit

23.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Huawei P10

23.03.2017 «Связной» и «Евросеть» могут объединить

23.03.2017 Panasonic представил для тайваньского рынка новый смартфон – ELUGA PURE

23.03.2017 В Карты Google возвращается возможность делиться с друзьями своим местоположением

22.03.2017 ZTE представила обновление линейки Nubia в Китае

22.03.2017 Huawei представит смартфон линейки Honor 5 апреля

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.