facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Samsung X650

Standard kit:

  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Wire handsfree set
  • Charger

Samsung has made it a rule to release its entry-level models one after another. But why not? These devices are always in demand, and there is no need in inventing cutting-edge technologies to create a successful representative of this class. The recipe is simple: bring some freshness to the design, add a function, cut the other, and thats it a new handset. Today we are putting our hands on one of the phones made using this formula, namely Samsung X650.

The handset have the appearance of a clamshell without an external display, yet FM-radio and a VGA camera are meant to somehow compensate this. The model looks pretty austere: slightly curved edges, black trim of the shell this handset is target to appeal to wide audience for sure, no matter whether its a man or a woman. The dimensions are reasonable (87x44x20.6 mm, weight 80 grams), so the phone will nicely fit in your palm, and easily go in your shirts or jeans pocket.

The casing of the device is made entirely of top-quality plastic, thus I can hardly find a fault with the assembling. The surface itself is smooth to the touch, yet it doesnt get soiled.

The left side plate holds headset jack, covered by a plastic stub, here a double key assigned to volume adjustment finds its place this allocation cannot be called smart, as while talking you are to find it blindfolded. The right side features the camera key, Infrared port is positioned towards the bottom end. The upper rim has an eye for a strap, and the lower one interface connector, protected by another plastic stub, sticking to the casing itself.

The upper cover meets you with a common solution, applied almost to all Samsung-branded phones, which makes them easily recognizable its a glossy framing with the companys logo engraved on it. This very framing also homes a service indicator, camera lens, deepened in the casing, and beneath it a small mirror for self-portrait is found.

Opening the device doesnt cause any negative experience, to make it even handier, the manufacturer made a small hollow along the perimeter of the shell. Having opened the handset, you will discover a small-sized UFB screen capable of providing a resolution of 128x169 pixels (28x35 mm) and reflecting up to 65 K colors. For an entry-level model, the picture looks rather sharp, yet it is still inferior to phones adopting a TFT display.

A standard for Samsung keypad layout is applied. A small 4D button with an "Ok" one centered in it is comfortable in use and rather large. Two soft keys of medium size are also very handy in operations. All buttons on the device, saving for the navigation key are made of rubber, they are easy to press and have moderate click sensation.

The numeric keys are located right up to each other, although thanks to their size and the material used, you wont experience any nuisances with wrong presses. In order to make your experience even better the upper keys row is a bit prominent, while the line at the bottom has a small ledge. This solution makes the keypad look pretty, though the main thing about it is comfort. The backlighting is bright-blue and evenly spread over the keypad, so that all symbols can be easily distinguished in any lightning conditions.

Almost the whole back part of the phone is taken by an 800 mAh Li-Ion battery. The battery, to the constructors credit be it said, is fixed firmly, exposing no gap, yet the only inconvenient thing is they way it is placed in the slot in order to install the battery you will need certain skills. In the condition of Moscow MTS network the device worked for about 3 days in case of 15-20 minutes of talks and about 20 minutes of other functions. When load level is increased by 2 hours of listening to radio and more intensive operation with other functions, life time drops down to 2 days. Full recharging takes about 2 hours

Menu

The main menu of the device is standard for last models by the company and represents a 33 matrix. A portrayal of menu's icons is good, icons are animated. Submenus are presented as vertical lists. There is fast navigation with the help of number sequences. You can assign fast aess to various menu items from standby screen to the navi key press.

The handset has about 3 Mb of dynamic memory incorporated.

Phonebook is accessed only by pressing the right functional key in the standby mode, otherwise through the main menu. The phone memory can keep about 1000 numbers. Any number of phone numbers (you can select even its type - mobile, work, home) and e-mail addresses (up to 50 characters) can be assigned to each user. Besides this each contact may be associated with a picture or a photo, and also with a melody of a ring tone. You may add a contact to one of ten callers group

The device has five contact groups, each of them can be renamed (20 symbols maximum), assigned to an image or a shot and also a personal ring tone.

Contact search letter by letter is carried out. Both data from the internal memory and SIM-one is represented. Fast dialing for 8 numbers is present. At incoming call a photo assigned to a contact is shown only on the internal display, almost full-screen.

Messaging. About 200 messages can be kept in the phone's memory. Since this handset supports EMS standard, it provides a preset of small pictures, animations and melodies. Besides, you will find a set of emotion icons, which will be suitable if a recipient's phone has no EMS support. You can also create about 10 own templates. Besides, you are allowed to attach calendar events, contacts from the phonebook and wap-links. Predictive text input T9 is supported. When in typing mode, font size (small, medium, large) and style can be adjusted to your liking. Multi-messaging to 20 numbers at once is also on-board.

MMS editor is plain and clear, for your comfort special pictures are kept besides explicative tips. The maximum size of an outgoing message cannot exceed 95 KB.

Call list. Standard lists (up to 30 numbers in each) of incoming, outgoing and missed calls are stored here. Calls from the same numbers are not summarized, but shown separately. Pressing a name/number, you see the number itself, date and time of call. Call counters are exactly here.

Organizer. In the phone's memory it is possible to keep up to 100 events of four existing types - "meeting", "business", "anniversary", and "misc". For each record you may set date and time, and alarm tune.

In a calendar only monthly viewing is possible. Those dates which have records are marked with color, everything is very representative.

A dictaphone allows recording both in the standby mode and during a conversation (activated only through the menu). Each entry is limited only by amount of available storage space, that you can set the cap of 2 minutes (for an MMS).

Alarm clock. Three separate alarm clocks are used in the phone - once, recurrent and daily. You are allowed to set own melody for each.

World time is displayed for two selected cities, everything is plain and visual.

In the same menu there is a measure converter, stopwatch with intermediate values and countdown timer.

Fun box. Browser. Here is a WAP-browser version 2.0.

Multimedia. This section homes folders with shots, pictures and sounds.

Java. The device supports Java MIDP 2.0 and has two games installed a puzzle Bubble Smile and an arcade Snow Ball Fight. All additional applications can be installed through WAP services.

FM-radio. This service works only with a handsfree set plugged in, which performs an external antenna. Sound is directed to the headset itself or the loudspeaker at your choice. Reception quality is average, the function has auto-search option, though you better do it manually. The handsets memory may store up to 30 stations at a time.

Camera. There is a built-in VGA-camera in the device. The camera can take pictures of the following resolutions: 640x480, 320x240, 160x120 and 128x120 pixels. Besides it is possible to expose compression quality: super fine, fine, normal, economy. While shooting, it is possible to take advantage of one of 8 effects. Multi shot mode is also on its place 9 or 15 frames, taken at pre-set intervals, the device also embeds high and normal procession speeds.

The camera's quality is average; more or less good pictures can be received only at good illumination, otherwise it is rather difficult to determine what the photo represents. All shots are transferable to a PC or any other external device via Infrared.

 (+) , 640x480

 (+) , 640x480

In a picture album you can view pictures both as thumbnails (9 pictures are displayed simultaneously) and one by one in a full screen mode..

Sound setting. Here you will find all options and checkbox that have something to do with the sound. Unfortunately the phone doesnt support profiles system, thus all settings are changes via this very menu only. You can set one of the following as alert type: light indication only; vibration alarm only; tune only; vibro and then tune.

Network Services. No wonder that here you will discover settings regarding your current network settings.

Settings. All standard handset settings are located right here through this menu you are at liberty to alter the wallpaper, by default the phone offers 5 pre-installed pictures, yet you can upload some more images. Its possible to pick one of the provided color themes of the menu, as to the other options, brightness and contrast are also set here, as well as numbers color when dialing a number.

The section also holds an Infrared with two options available either connection to a PC or another mobile terminal.

Impressions

The phone provides good connection almost under any condition. Both loudspeaker's volume and microphone sensitivity are on a good level. The 40-tones polyphony sounding is wholly satisfactory. Call signal volume is higher than average. However the power of vibra is lower than it should. A speakerphone is also present and works without a problem.

Presence of FM-radio set, built-in camera and Java support, combined with appealing design and portability, are more likely to attract youths attention. Its a pity, of course, that the manufacturer hasnt materialized MP3 tunes support. Absence of video recording looks strange, although I think they just dont want to raise competition within its own product line.

The model is scheduled to appear in retail stores in the end of May beginning of June of 2006 at an approximate price of 200-220 USD. Still, taking into account all the abovementioned advantages, this one will encounter serious difficulties with gaining popularity, since this market is crowded with other manufacturers models and the competition is incredibly tough.

Ring tones samples Samsung X650( 233 , 3)

Vladimir Fokin (vladimir.fokin@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 20 April 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung X650

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор
  • Проводная стереогарнитура
  • Зарядное устройство

Компания Samsung поставила на поток свои бюджетные модели, новинки выходят буквально одна за другой. А почему бы и нет? Аппараты пользуются стабильным спросом, а для выпуска новой модели требуется минимум вложений. Слегка обновили дизайн да заменили одну функцию другой, вот и готова новая бюджетная модель. Сегодня речь пойдет об одном из таких бюджетных аппаратов, а именно о модели Samsung X650.

Аппарат выполнен в форм-факторе раскладушка без внешнего дисплея, из особенностей стоит отметить наличие встроенной VGA-камеры и FM-приемника. Дизайн модели строгий: слегка сглаженные края, черный цвет корпуса; аппарат явно рассчитан на массовую аудиторию, без деления по половому признаку. Габариты модели небольшие (87x44x20.6 мм, вес 80 грамм), она хорошо ложится в руку, без проблем помещается в карман рубашки или брюк.

Корпус аппарата полностью выполнен из качественного пластика, к сборке также нет претензий. Покрытие гладкое на ощупь, совсем не маркое.

На левой боковой поверхности располагается разъем для подключения гарнитуры, который прикрыт пластиковой шторкой. Практически посередине расположилась сдвоенная клавиша регулировки громкости, такое ее расположение нельзя назвать удобным: во время разговора приходится искать ее вслепую. На правой боковой поверхности находится кнопка активации камеры, а в самом низу – окошко полнофункционального ИК-порта. На верхнем торце по центру находится отверстие для крепления ремешка (шнурка), а на нижнем – интерфейсный разъем, прикрытый пластиковой заглушкой, закрепленной на корпусе.

На верхней крышке сделана глянцевая вставка с логотипом компании, такое решение стало для Samsung стандартом и делает аппараты компании узнаваемыми. На вставке также находится служебный индикатор и объектив VGA-камеры, утопленный в корпус, а под ним – небольшое зеркальце для автопортрета.

Открытие аппарата не вызывает проблем, для удобства вдоль корпуса сделано небольшое углубление. Открыв аппарат, вы видите небольшой UFB-дисплей с разрешением 128х160 точек (28х35 мм), способный отображать до 65000 цветов. Для бюджетного аппарата качество дисплея вполне приемлемое, хотя и не дотягивает до моделей с TFT-дисплеями.

Раскладка клавиатуры в целом стандартна для телефонов Samsung. Небольшая четырехпозиционная клавиша с вписанной в нее клавишей «Ок» удобна в работе. Две функциональные клавиши средних размеров также удобны в работе. Все клавиши аппарата, за исключением навигационной клавиши, сделаны из резины. Они нажимаются мягко и имеют средний ход.

Цифровые клавиши расположены вплотную друг к другу, но благодаря размерам и фактуре с ними удобно работать, ошибочных нажатий не возникает. Для удобства у клавиш крайних вертикальных рядов немного выступает верхний край, в то время как у клавиш по центру выступ сделан в нижней части. Такое решение делает клавиатуру более привлекательной внешне, а основное, конечно, это то, что с ней более комфортно работать. Подсветка клавиатуры ярко-синего цвета, равномерно распределена по всей поверхности, поэтому символы на клавишах читаются хорошо при любом освещении.

Практически всю заднюю стенку аппарата занимает литий-ионная батарея емкостью 800 мАч. Крепление ее надежное, люфта нет, единственное, что крепление не очень удобно, для того, чтобы поставить батарею, нужна некоторая сноровка. В условиях сетей московских операторов аппарат работал в среднем 3 суток при 20-25 минутах разговора и до 15 минут использования других функций. При увеличении нагрузки, до 2 часов прослушивания радио и увеличения работы с другими функциями аппарата, время работы сокращается до 2 дней. Время полного заряда батареи – около 2 часов.

Меню

Главное меню аппарата стандартно для последних моделей компании и представляет собой матрицу 3х3. Значки хорошо прорисованы, иконки анимированы. Подменю представлены вертикальными списками. Есть быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей.

Нажатию навигационной клавиши в режиме ожидания можно присвоить доступ к выбранным пунктам меню.

В аппарате около 3 Мб памяти, динамически распределяемой между приложениями.

Телефонная книга. Попасть в нее можно, только нажав на правую функциональную клавишу в режиме ожидания, в главном меню пункт «Телефонная книга» отсутствует. В памяти аппарата может храниться до 500 контактов. Каждому абоненту можно присвоить до 5 телефонных номеров, адрес электронной почты (до 50 символов) и небольшую текстовую заметку (до 50 символов). Кроме этого, контакту можно присвоить картинку или фотографию, а также мелодию вызова. Также абонента можно добавить в одну из групп.

В аппарате пять групп абонентов, для каждой есть возможность записать название (до 20 символов), присвоить картинку или фото, а также установить сигнал вызова.

Поиск контактов осуществляется побуквенно. Информация отображается как из памяти аппарата, так и с SIM-карты, есть быстрый набор – до 8 номеров. Во время входящего вызова фото, присвоенное контакту, отображается практически на полный экран.

Сообщения. В памяти аппарата может храниться до 200 сообщений. Аппарат поддерживает стандарт EMS, в памяти телефона уже предустановлен набор небольших картинок, анимаций и мелодий. Кроме того, в аппарате есть набор эмотиконов – они пригодятся, если у человека, которому отправляется сообщение, в аппарате нет поддержки EMS. Есть возможность создать до 10 собственных шаблонов. Аппарат поддерживает предикативный ввод текста Т9. Во время набора сообщения можно изменить размер текста (small, medium, large), а также его стиль. Предусмотрена мультирассылка сообщений до 20 номеров.

Редактор MMS-сообщений прост и понятен, для большей простоты, кроме поясняющих надписей, имеются характерные картинки. Максимальный объем исходящего MMS-сообщения не может превышать 95 Кб.

Список звонков. Стандартные списки (до 30 номеров в каждом) принятых, набранных и пропущенных звонков. Звонки с одинаковых номеров не суммируются, а отображаются отдельно. По нажатию на имя/номер отображается сам номер телефона, дата и время звонка. В этом же разделе находятся счетчики разговоров.

Органайзер. В памяти телефона можно сохранить до 100 событий, всего предусмотрено 4 их типа – «встреча», «дело», «годовщина» и «вызов». Для каждой записи устанавливается время и дата события, можно выставить сигнал для каждого события.

Просмотр в календаре возможен только за месяц, реализован он удобно, каждый тип событий имеет свой цвет, все наглядно.

Диктофон. Позволяет делать записи как в фоновом режиме, так и во время разговора. Продолжительность записи ограничена количеством свободной памяти, но можно и выставить ограничение в 2 минуты (для MMS-сообщений).

Будильник. В аппарате 3 независимых будильника, каждый можно выставить для срабатывания только по определенным дням недели, на ежедневное или однократное срабатывание. Для каждого из них можно установить свою мелодию.

В разделе настройки часов скрывается функция мирового времени.

В этом же разделе располагается секундомер с промежуточными значениями, конвертер величин, калькулятор и таймер обратного отсчета.

Fun box. Браузер. В данном разделе находится WAP-браузер версии 2.0.

Мультимедиа. В данном разделе находятся папки с фотографиями, картинками и звуками.

Java. Аппарат поддерживает Java MIDP 2.0. В аппарате предустановлены две игры: логическая игра Bubble Smile и аркада Snow Ball Fight. Дополнительные приложения можно устанавливать только через WAP.

FM-радио. Работает только с подключенной гарнитурой, так как она выполняет роль антенны. Воспроизведение возможно как через гарнитуру, так и через динамик аппарата. Качество приема среднее, есть автопоиск радиостанций, но лучше их искать вручную. В памяти телефона может храниться до 30 радиостанций.

Камера. В аппарате имеется встроенная VGA-камера. Она может делать снимки в следующих разрешениях: 640х480, 320х240, 160х120 и 128х120. Кроме того, можно выставить качество сжатия: super fine, fine, normal, economy. Во время съемки можно воспользоваться одним из 5 эффектов. Есть функция «мультисъемка» – 9 или 15 кадров, которые делаются через определенный интервал, предлагается высокая или обычная скорость съемки.

Качество камеры посредственное, более-менее хорошие снимки можно получить только при хорошем освещении, в противном случае разобрать, что изображено на фотографии, довольно затруднительно. Снимки можно передать на ПК или другое устройство через ИК-порт.

 (+) увеличить, 640x480

 (+) увеличить, 640x480

В фотоальбоме возможен просмотр снимков как в виде миниатюр (одновременно отображаются 9 снимков), так и по одному на весь экран.

Настройки звука. Здесь собраны все настройки, связанные со звуковыми установками аппарата. К сожалению, в телефоне нет профилей, поэтому все настройки придется делать через это меню. В качестве типа сигнала можно установить: световую индикацию; только вибро; только мелодию; вибро, а потом мелодию.

Сеть. Здесь находятся все настройки, связанные с сетью.

Настройки. Здесь находятся стандартные настройки телефона. Тут можно установить обои экрана, в их роли может выступить одна из 5 предустановленных картинок или картинка, загруженная пользователем. Возможно выбрать одну из двух предустановленых цветовых схем меню. Также для дисплея можно настроить яркость и контрастность. Здесь же можно выбрать цвет цифр при наборе номера.

В этом разделе также можно активировать полнофункциональный ИК-порт, есть выбор из двух пунктов: для подключения к ПК или к другому телефону.


Впечатления

Аппарат обеспечивает хорошее качество связи практически в любых условиях. Громкость динамика и чувствительность микрофона также находятся на хорошем уровне. Звучание 40-тональной полифонии удовлетворительно. Громкость сигнала вызова выше средней. А вот вибровызов слабее, чем хотелось бы. Есть и функция громкой связи, работает она без каких-либо проблем.

Наличие в модели FM-радио, встроенной камеры и поддержки Java, вкупе с приятным дизайном и небольшими габаритами аппарата, наверняка привлечет внимание молодых людей. Жаль, конечно, что производитель не реализовал поддержку мелодий в формате MP3 в качестве сигнала вызова. Отсутствие возможности записи видео выглядит немного странным, хотя понятно, что компания не хочет создавать конкуренцию среди собственных же моделей.

Модель должна появиться в продаже в конце мая – начале июля 2006 года по ориентировочной цене в 200-220 долларов США. Конкурентов у модели достаточно много, практически у каждого производителя найдется как минимум одна похожая модель.

Варианты мелодий звонка ( 233 Кб, мр3)

Владимир Фокин (vladimir.fokin@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 18 апреля 2006 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

20.10.2017 Скрытая кнопка меню в Pixel 2 оказалась «багом», а не «фичей»

20.10.2017 Vivo официально дебютирует на новых рынках, включая Россию

20.10.2017 HTC представит новый смартфон 2 ноября

20.10.2017 Российские покупатели могут приобрести программу видеонаблюдения Faceter, которая распознаёт лица

20.10.2017 Bosch: Обновление ПО автомобилей через интернет скоро станет стандартной функцией современных автомобилей

20.10.2017 МГТС будет раздавать абонентам 4К телевизоры

20.10.2017 Samsung опубликовал технические характеристики на свой защищённый планшет Galaxy Tab Active2

20.10.2017 HMD представила новый смартфон среднего уровня Nokia 7

19.10.2017 Microsoft прекратила поддержку Lumia 640

19.10.2017 Взрывы аккумуляторов смартфонов продолжаются: Moto E4 Plus

19.10.2017 Рендеры HTC U11 Plus подтверждают сохранение дизайна

19.10.2017 Второе поколение Bixby научится управлять умным домом

19.10.2017 «Лаборатория Касперского» обнаружила в свободной продаже программу для кражи денег из банкоматов

19.10.2017 Oppo F5 выйдет в трех вариантах

19.10.2017 Sony представила флагман Xperia XZ Premium в новом красном цвете – «Rosso»

19.10.2017 Samsung 360 Round – камера, которая покажет виртуальное 3D видео в реальном времени

19.10.2017 Google добавила новый метод проверки для двухфакторной аутентификации

19.10.2017 LG и Qualcomm займутся совместной разработкой новых технологий для автомобилей будущего

Hit

18.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Samsung Gear IconX 2018

18.10.2017 В России представлены первые в мире протезы с системой бесконтактной оплаты

18.10.2017 Samsung Pay самая популярная платежная система в Корее

18.10.2017 Google представит Android 8.1 Oreo в ближайшие недели

18.10.2017 WhatsApp появится возможность сообщить свое местоположение

18.10.2017 Microsoft представила ноутбук Surface Book 2

18.10.2017 VEON запустил в России для свих клиентов потоковый сервис Deezer

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.