facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials

Rambler's Top100

Review GSM phone Samsung E330N


  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Charger
  • Wire headset
  • Manual

Samsung E330N is an update of Samsung E330. There are some changes in the model with an index "N", but they are not numerous. First of all the plastic, which the phone's body is made of, has changed, it became velvety and very pleasant to the touch. Due to the new plastic, the device will hardly slip down from hands. The second difference is the phone is a triple band: GSM 900/1800/1900. The third innovation is a replacement of the external color display to monochrome. And finally, Java MIDP 2.0 support appeared in the device.

Like its predecessor, Samsung E330N is executed in the clamshell form-factor. The device looks attractively, all edges are smoothed as much as possible, and it is pleasant to hold it in hands. Model's size has not changed in comparison with the predecessor (87.2x46.1x23.3), and the weight remained the same as well - 85 grams. The device is shipped in four colors: dark - silvery, bright - silvery, black and red. But in reality it is presented in shops only in the bright - silvery variant, probably, it is possible to expect other colors later. Quality of adjustment is very high; all details fit each other closely. The plastic, which the case is made of, is also quite good.

On the left lateral surface of the device there is a socket for the headset's connection, equipped with a plastic cover, which is fixed on the case. A little bit below you will find a dual key of volume control. If you press it in a stand by mode when the phone is closed, you will activate the backlight of the external display. On the right lateral surface the button of camera's activation is located.

At the top face there is an aperture for a strap, and on bottom face there is an interface socket with a plastic cover fixed on the case.

On the top cover of the device there is an objective of a built-in VGA-camera slightly sunk into the case in order to prevent scratches. Here the external monochrome display with the resolution of 96x96 pixels (19х19 mm) is also located. The information on the screen is read well, there are no problems in the sun as well. Speaking about practicality, replacement of rather ordinary color display, which was in the E330 with a monochrome, is quite proved.

You may open the device without special efforts; this is promoted by the small deepening along the case. Having opened the device you will see a small internal UFB-display with the resolution of 128х160 pixels (21х33 mm) and capable to display up to 65K colors. The quality of the display is average, picture does not look alive, and it has no enough brightness. However, it cause no problems in the sun, the information remains quite readable.

Localization of the keypad is standard for the majority of the company's devices. The four-positioning navigating key with button "ОК" in the center is of the average size and is quite convenient to work with. Digital keys are small but as far as they are well carried, erroneous pressing do not occur. The keypad is quite convenient even for people with large fingers.

The backlight is of white color and it is spread well on all surface of the keypad.

Practically all back part of the device is occupied by the Li-Ion battery, which has a capacity of 800 mAh. Under the conditions of Moscow MTS network, the device worked for about 2 days with 15-20 minutes of talks per day and about 20 minutes of other functions. Full charge of the battery takes about 2 hours.


The main menu of the device is standard for last models by the company and represents a 3х3 matrix. A portrayal of menu's icons is good, icons are animated. Submenus are presented as vertical lists. There is a fast navigation with the help of digital sequences.

By pressing the navigating key in a stand by mode you will access following functions (it is impossible to change them): create new text message, camera, change a melody and calendar.

In total, there are 6 Mb of the built-in memory dynamically distributed among all applications.

Phonebook. To get in it you should press the right soft key in a stand by mode, there is no special item "Phonebook" in the main menu. About 100 numbers can be stored in the device's memory. Each contact may be given up to 5 phone numbers, e-mail address (up to 50 symbols) and a small text note (up to 50 symbols). Besides this each contact may be associated with a picture or a photo, and also with a melody of a ring tone. You may add a contact to one of ten callers group.

The information in the phonebook is displayed as bookmarks; transition is carried out by horizontal deviations of the navigating key. Search for contacts is performed letter by letter. The information is displayed both from memory of the device, and from a SIM-card, there is a fast dial of 8 numbers.

During an incoming call an appropriate photo is displayed only on the internal display, practically full screen.

Messages. Up to 200 messages can be saved in the phone's memory. The device supports EMS standard; a set of small pictures (32), animations (25) and melodies (10) is already preinstalled. By pressing the right soft key "dо" when typing a message, you can change a mode and a language of the input. The device supports predicative input of text Т9.

MMS editor is simple and clear; there are special pictures besides explaining inscriptions for the greater simplicity. The maximal volume of the sent MMS can not exceed 95 Kb. All free memory is available for storing messages.

Call list. Standard lists (up to 20 numbers in each one) of incoming, dialed and missed calls. Calls from identical numbers are not summarized but are displayed separately. By pressing name or number you will see the phone number itself and the call's date and time. In the same section there are call counters.

Sound settings. All settings connected with sound are collected here. Unfortunately, there are no profiles in the phone; therefore it is necessary to make all adjustments through this menu.

Organizer. In the phone's memory it is possible to keep up to 100 events - 25 for each of four existing types - "meeting", "business", "anniversary", and "call". For each record you may set date and time, and a number for a call.

In a calendar only monthly viewing is possible. Those dates which have records are marked with color, and in the bottom part of the screen icons and indexes of events amount of each type are displayed.

Alarm. There are three alarms in the phone, each one available for setting its own melody and work days.

Dictaphone allows making records only in a standby mode. A record's duration is limited only by free memory. There is an opportunity to limit a record especially for MMS messages.

In the same menu there is a simple calculator, measures converter, stopwatch (up to 4 intermediate values) and countdown timer.

Fun box. WWW Services. This section contains WAP-browser of version 2.0.

Media Box. This section includes folders with photos, pictures and sounds.

JAVA world. The device supports Java MIDP 2.0, 3072 Kb are allocated for applications. Two games are preinstalled: Snow Ball Fight and logic game Bubble Smile.

Network. All settings connected with network are here.

Settings. Here there are standard settings of the phone. We shall tell only about display settings. It is possible to set a wall-paper for the screen, which may be one of the 4 preinstalled animation pictures, photo or a simple static picture. You may choose one of 4 color schemes of the menu view. For the internal and external displays contrast settings are stipulated. Here it is possible to choose color of figures while entering a phone number.

Camera. There is a built-in VGA-camera in the device. Both internal and external displays may act as a view-finder. Despite the external display is monochrome, it is quite good for shooting a self-portrait.

The camera can take pictures of the following resolutions: 640x480, 320x240, 160x120 and 128x120 pixels. Besides it is possible to expose compression quality: super fine, fine, normal, economy. While shooting, it is possible to impose one of 15 frames or to take advantage of one of 5 effects.

The camera's quality is average; more or less good pictures can be received only at good illumination, otherwise it is rather difficult to determine what the photo represents. While IrDA is absent pictures cannot be transferred to the personal computer, viewing is limited only by the phone's screen.

In a picture album you can view pictures both as thumbnails (9 pictures are displayed simultaneously) and one by one in a full screen mode.


The device provides average connection quality, it loses network instantly in places with uncertain reception. Dynamics volume and sensitivity of a microphone are average too. Sounding of 30- polyphony ring is good; mmf melodies may be set as a ringtone. Ring volume is higher than average, vibrating alert is rather powerful.

Samsung E330N is interesting due to its design and body material. The external monochrome display is more likely a plus than a minus. And the presence of the built-in VGA-camera of rather poor quality only increases the phone's price. Average connection quality has also afflicted.

First of all the model will suit undemanding users who are interested in the phone with attractive design in the clamshell form-factor. The only thing that can disturb is the phone is overpriced (it is about 190 US dollars). In this price range the model has many more functional competitors.

Vladimir Fokin (vladimir.fokin@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Yana Vilchek (yana_vilchek@yahoo.com)

Published — 22 November 2005

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com



[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean


Register | Lost password?



© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung E330N

Комплект поставки

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Проводная гарнитура
  • Инструкция

Samsung E330N является обновлением аппарата Samsung E330. Изменений в модели с индексом “N” немного, но они есть. Начнем с того, что изменился пластик корпуса, теперь он стал бархатистым и очень приятным на ощупь. Благодаря использованию нового пластика сведена к минимуму вероятность выскальзывания аппарата из рук. Второе отличие это поддержка трех стандартов: GSM 900/1800/1900. Третье это замена внешнего цветного дисплея на монохромный. Кроме этого в аппарате появилась поддержка Java MIDP 2.0.

Как и его предшественник, Samsung E330N выполнен в форм-факторе раскладушка. Аппарат привлекательно выглядит, все края корпуса максимально сглажены, его приятно держать в руке. Размеры обновленной модели по сравнению с предшественником не изменились (87,2x46,1x23,3), вес тоже остался прежним – 85 грамм. Аппарат поставляется в четырех цветовых решениях корпуса: темно-серебристый, светло-серебристый, черный и красный. Но в реальности в магазинах телефон представлен только в светло-серебристом корпусе, возможно, позже стоит ожидать появления модели и в других расцветках. Качество сборки на высоте, все детали подогнаны вплотную друг к другу. Пластик, из которого изготовлен корпус, также довольно хорошего качества.

На левой боковой поверхности аппарата располагается разъем для подключения гарнитуры, прикрытый пластиковой заглушкой, закрепленной на корпусе. Немного ниже находится сдвоенная клавиша регулировки громкости, нажатие на нее в режиме ожидания, когда телефон закрыт, позволяет активировать подсветку внешнего дисплея. На правой боковой поверхности располагается лишь клавиша активации камеры.

На верхнем торце имеется отверстие для крепления шнурка (ремешка), а на нижнем по традиции расположен интерфейсный разъем, прикрытый пластиковой заглушкой, закрепленной на корпусе.

На верхней крышке аппарата располагается объектив встроенной VGA-камеры, слегка утопленной в корпус во избежание появления на нем царапин. Здесь же располагается внешний монохромный дисплей с разрешением 96х96 точек (19х19 мм). Информация на экране читается хорошо, проблем на солнце нет никаких. С точки зрения практичности замена довольно посредственного цветного дисплея, который был в E330, на монохромный вполне обоснована.

Открыть аппарат можно без особых усилий, этому способствует небольшое углубление, идущее вдоль корпуса. Открыв аппарат вы увидите небольшой внутренний UFB-дисплей с разрешением 128х160 точек (21х33 мм) способный отображать до 65000 цветов. Качество дисплея среднее, картинка не выглядит живой -ей не хватает яркости. Впрочем, на солнце особых проблем нет, информация остается вполне читаемой.

Раскладка клавиатуры стандартная для большинства аппаратов компании. Четырехпозиционная навигационная клавиша с вписанной в нее кнопкой «ОК» имеет средние размеры и вполне удобна в работе. Цифровые клавиши небольшие, но так как они хорошо разнесены, то ошибочных нажатий при работе с ними не происходит. Клавиатура вполне удобна даже для людей с большими пальцами.

Подсветка белого цвета равномерно распределена по всей поверхности клавиатуры.

Практически всю заднюю часть аппарата занимает литий-ионная батарея емкостью 800 мАч. В условиях московской сети МТС аппарат работал в среднем 2 суток при 15-20 минутах разговора в день и до 20 минут использования других функций. Время полного заряда батареи составляет около 2 часов.

Меню

Главное меню аппарат стандартно для последних моделей компании и представляет собой матрицу 3х3. Прорисовка значков меню хорошая, иконки анимированы. Подменю представлены вертикальными списками. Есть быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей.

Нажатию навигационной клавиши в режиме ожидания присвоен доступ к следующим функциям, изменить которые нельзя: создание нового текстового сообщения, камера, смена мелодии и календарь.

Всего в аппарате установлено около 6 Мб встроенной памяти, динамически распределяемой между приложениями.

Телефонная книга. Попасть в нее можно, только нажав на правую функциональную клавишу в режиме ожидания, в главном меню пункт «Телефонная книга» отсутствует. В памяти аппарата хранится до 100 номеров. Каждому абоненту можно присвоить до 5 телефонных номеров, адрес электронной почты (до 50 символов) и небольшую текстовую заметку (до 50 символов). Кроме этого контакту можно присвоить картинку или фотографию, а также мелодию вызова. Также абонента можно добавить в одну из 10 групп.

Информация в телефонной книге отображается в виде закладок, переход между которым осуществляется горизонтальными отклонениями навигационной клавиши. Поиск контактов осуществляется побуквенно. Информация отображается как из памяти аппарата, так и с SIM-карты, есть быстрый набор – до 8 номеров.

Во время входящего вызова фото присвоенное контакту отображается только на внутреннем дисплее, практически на полный экран.

Сообщения. В памяти аппарата может храниться до 200 сообщений. Аппарат поддерживает стандарт EMS, в памяти телефона уже предустановлен набор небольших картинок (32 штуки), анимаций (25 штук) и мелодий (10 штук). Нажатие на правую функциональную клавишу dо время набора сообщения позволяет изменить режим и язык ввода. Аппарат поддерживает предикативный ввод текста Т9.

Редактор MMS сообщений прост и понятен, для большей простоты кроме поясняющих надписей имеются характерные картинки. Максимальный объем исходящего MMS сообщения не может превышать 95 Кб. Для хранения сообщений доступен весь свободный объем памяти.

Список звонков. Стандартные списки (до 20 номеров в каждом) принятых, набранных и пропущенных звонков. Звонки с одинаковых номеров не суммируются, а отображаются отдельно. По нажатию на имя/номер отображается сам номер телефона, дата и время звонка. В этом же разделе находятся счетчики разговоров.

Настройки звука. Здесь собраны все настройки, связанные со звуковым установками аппарата. К сожалению, в телефоне нет профилей, поэтому все настройки придется делать через это меню.

Органайзер. В памяти телефона можно сохранить до 100 событий - по 25 для каждого из четырех предусмотренных типов – «встреча», «дело», «годовщина», «звонок». Для каждой записи устанавливается время и дата события, для звонка указывается номер.

В календаре возможен только помесячный просмотр . Те даты, на которые есть записи, выделены цветом, а в нижней части экрана отображаются иконки и указатели количества событий каждого из типов.

Будильник. В телефоне три будильника, для каждого можно установить собственную мелодию и выбрать дни недели, по которым он будет срабатывать.

Диктофон позволяет делать записи как в режиме ожидания, так и во время разговора. Продолжительность записи ограничена только объемом свободной памяти аппарата. В установках есть возможность ограничить запись специально для MMS сообщения.

В этом же разделе находятся простой калькулятор, конвертер величин, секундомер (до 4 промежуточных значений) и таймер обратного отсчета.

Fun box. WWW Services. В данном раздели находится WAP-браузер версии 2.0.

Media Box. В этом разделе находятся папки с фотографиями, картинками и звуками.

JAVA world. Аппарат поддерживает Java MIDP 2.0, под приложения отведено 3072 Кб памяти. В аппарате предустановленны две игры: аркада Snow Ball Fight и логическая игра Bubble Smile.

Сеть. Все настройки, связанные с сетью, находятся здесь.

Настройки. Здесь находятся стандартные настройки телефона. Расскажем только о настройках дисплея. Для экрана можно установить обои, в роли которых может выступить одна из 4 предустановленных анимационных картинок, фотография, либо простая статичная картинка. Есть выбор из 4 цветовых схем отображения меню. Для внутреннего и внешнего дисплея предусмотрена настройка контрастности. Здесь же можно выбрать цвет цифр при наборе номера.

Камера. В аппарате имеется встроенная VGA-камера. В качестве видоискателя может выступать, как внутренний, так и внешний дисплей. Несмотря на то, что внешний дисплей монохромный, для съемки автопортрета он вполне годится.

Камера может делать снимки со следующим разрешением: 640х480, 320х240, 160х120 и 128х120. Кроме того, можно выставить качество сжатия: super fine, fine, normal, economy. Во время съемки можно наложить одну из 15 рамок или воспользоваться одним из 5 эффектов.

Качество камеры посредственное, более-менее хорошие снимки можно получить только при хорошем освещении, в противном случае разобрать, что изображено на фотографии, довольно затруднительно. В отсутствие ИК-порта снимки нельзя передать на ПК, просмотр ограничен только экраном телефона.

В фотоальбоме возможен просмотр снимков как в виде миниатюр (одновременно отображается 9 снимков), так и по одной на весь экран.


Впечатления

Аппарат обеспечивает среднее качество связи, он моментально теряет сеть в местах с неуверенным приемом. Громкость динамика и чувствительность микрофона также находятся на среднем уровне. Звучание 40-тональной полифонии хорошее, в качестве звонка можно устанавливать мелодии в формате mmf. Громкость сигнала вызова выше средней, вибровызов довольно мощный. Есть и функция громкой связи, работает она без каких либо проблем.

Модель Samsung E330N интересна дизайном и материалом корпуса. Внешний монохромный дисплей является скорее плюсом, чем минусом. А вот наличие встроенной VGA-камеры довольно посредственного качества, лишь увеличивает стоимость телефона. Огорчило также, что аппарат обладает средним качеством приема.

Модель подойдет в первую очередь нетребовательным пользователям, которым нужен телефон с интересным дизайном в форм-факторе раскладушка. Единственное, что может остановить, это завышенная стоимость телефона – порядка 190 долларов США. В этом ценовом диапазоне у модели есть довольно много более функциональных конкурентов.

   

Владимир Фокин (vladimir.fokin@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 15 ноября 2005 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

23.03.2017 Fossil представила более 300 моделей умных часов

23.03.2017 Le XiubaleR получит Helio X20 и Android 7.1.2

23.03.2017 LG Pay будет запущен в Корее в июне

23.03.2017 Casio представила версию смарт-часов Pro Trek WSD F20 с сапфировым стеклом

23.03.2017 Два смартфона Meizu с быстрой зарядкой зарегистрированы в Китае

23.03.2017 Красный iPhone оказался аномально популярным в Китае

23.03.2017 Яндекс увидел угрозу для своих «Денег» в СП Сбербанка и Alibaba

23.03.2017 Apple запустила вебсайт «Бизнес» в России

Hit

23.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Huawei P10

23.03.2017 «Связной» и «Евросеть» могут объединить

23.03.2017 Panasonic представил для тайваньского рынка новый смартфон – ELUGA PURE

23.03.2017 В Карты Google возвращается возможность делиться с друзьями своим местоположением

22.03.2017 ZTE представила обновление линейки Nubia в Китае

22.03.2017 Huawei представит смартфон линейки Honor 5 апреля

22.03.2017 OPPO F3 Plus представлен официально

22.03.2017 VAIO Phone A – первый Android-смартфон бренда

22.03.2017 LG представила свою платежную систему – LG Pay

22.03.2017 ФАС согласует с Google условия мирового соглашения в течение 10 дней

22.03.2017 J’son & Partners Consulting: текущее состояние российского рынка сотовой связи и прогноз

22.03.2017 ESET: мошенники зарабатывают на любопытных пользователях WhatsApp

22.03.2017 Анонсирована следующая версия Android O

21.03.2017 Новые iPhone SE получили вдвое больше памяти

21.03.2017 В следующем iPhone может появиться камера с дополненной реальностью

21.03.2017 Samsung рассчитывает на большую популярность Galaxy S8 в Южной Корее нежели Galaxy Note7

21.03.2017 Apple представила новый планшет iPad Retina с 9,7-дюймовым дисплеем Retina

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.