facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Samsung C120

Standard kit:

  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Charger
  • Users Guide

Samsung has consistently dropped out models, which could have affected its image of stylish headsets for prosperous people developer. In view of absence of loyalty to the brand on the part of consumers, this approach proved right, as the entire entry-level was taken up by outdated models. However in 2005 the companys managers mentioned that release of budget solutions isnt such an impossible thing, though this decision refers to the period when Nokia, Motorola, Siemens began setting pace in this segment, and consequently, Samsung was going to lose its share there, unless it could provide similar handsets. They have always said over at Samsung, that the income makes all the difference, while market shares are all secondary, nonetheless they could not miss that statistics. Thus the fist device targeted at entry-level was Samsung C120. In fact, it wasnt a budget model in the full sense of this word, but rather a candy-bar shaped mobile phone with a color screen, thats why it poses such high price for its segment. Yet this is easily explained by Samsung taking its very own route once again the engineers simply used C200s platform and cut almost all functions on it, that is how come the device lacks WAP, polyphony and a number of other functions The handset adopts Samsung C210s appearance, which is not that bad, as it differs from all other products residing in this class.

The glossy finishing of the device is here only to put you on a false front and conceal the low-end roots of the handset. Once youve looked at the rear parts plastic, you will instantly see that the device isnt too expensive, but to the designers credit be it said, this is hard to notice. The phone measures 1054417.5 mm and weights 75 g quite typical for a product coming from entry-level. The handset easily slips in any purse or pocket, and hangs nicely on neck.

The display shows up to 65 K colors (STM), providing a resolution of 128128 pixels (2828 mm). The screen may contain up to 4 text lines at a time and one service line. Overall the display seems to perform well for a low-end one, even though its colors are not so vivid as that of up-to-date TFT displays. As compared to Motorola C380, the screen of the C120 rides high though is slightly inferior to Siemens C65 quality wise. The picture fades in sunlight, yet the text remains distinguishable.

The navigation pad incorporates an OK key into it, the numeric buttons are moderate in size and terraced. The experience of working with the keypad is fine; it is average in terms of convenience.

The battery resides behind the back cover, which holds firmly. The device makes use of a standard 800 mAh capable Li-Ion battery. As the manufacturer claims, it can last for 150 hours in stand by mode and 3 hours in talk time. In conditions of Moscow networks, the device managed to provide nearly 4 days of life time at 40 minutes of call time and up to 15 minutes of other functions usage. Full recharge time of the battery is almost 1,5 hours.

Menu

The main menu has the appearance of three rows of icons with shortcut navigation enabled.

Phone book. You can save up to 500 contacts in the phones memory with one name, up to three phone numbers (home, work and cell one), and an e-mail address entered for each. As you enter a new file, you may choose the type of telephone number. Such phone book organization contains both pros and cons everything depends on how often you are going to submitt entries with only a single telephone number.

You can assign an entered name for one group of the phone subscribers. For each of such groups the special ring tone and an icon are set.

On the main list, you can see the numbers from both the phone memory and the SIM-card; there is a speedy search by name. For such search all you have to do is to type in the first name of the letter; the list will display the data found first and then you can enter the second letter, etc. Such list is available for every group of the phone subscribers. You can assign the speedy dialing for eight phone numbers.

Messages. You can save up to 200 messages in the phone memory. The phone supports the EMS standard, so there is a decent set of icons, melodies, sounds, and animations available. The set of emoticons is very cute-if those would normally be just happy smiling faces, now these are the faces with the bodies.

Other then that, the phones possibilities are standard: you can enter up to five samples of your own; the predictable T9 text entering.

Call lists. As usual, you will find here the lists with the last dialed, accepted, and missed calls with time and date displayed for each. The fact that the same numbers are not doubled in the list makes an interesting feature of the model - the call is just moved upwards with the new date and time displayed. Consequently, there are no repetitive files in the list, which most of the users find very convenient.

Sound settings. One of the limited tunes pool may be set as the ring tone, the truth is the installed list of melodies is not wide and has become some kind of default one already. The handset doesnt feature profile system, but you can still pick your own alarm signal (dynamic light, tune, vibro, vibro+tune). From this very menu you can also switch minute beep function on.

Phone settings. This menu allows you to set the phones functions according to your taste, to choose the language of the menu, and the wallpaper for the stand-by mode (by default, there are 11 of them and all are animated). You can also set here the screen brightness and find the safety settings.

Organizer. Several applications are offered here.

The calendar in which you can enter up to one event for each day (to add more events you have to copy the file from the other day, which is not very convenient) opens up the list; you can view the monthly calendar here as well. The days which have some events appointed are highlighted with a different color; quick switching between dates is available.

The To Do list contributes to the calendar possibilities. Here you identify the task and the level of its importance (high, low, normal). You can copy the tasks list into the calendar.

Alarm clock. You can set the alarm clock for the single triggering, daily or weekly (from Monday to Friday and from Monday to Saturday), or simply switch it off.

Traditionally, the calculator and the currency converter are available on the phone.

Time and date. Here the current time and date are set; there is a world time function.

Dictaphone. Records up to 5 files, lasting 30 seconds each, all memos may take up not more than 100 Kb. The sound recorder is disabled while making a call.

Network services. All the settings connected with the operators functions are kept here.

Impressions

The receiving part is fine quality wise; the power of vibration alarm is slightly above average. The monophonic ring tones are sometimes too quiet, though overall volume is decent. The handset has no extra functions embedded in only the most necessary capabilities are one board, so no wonder it yields to all its competitors in the segment and should have been placed in category 45-60 USD.

The retail price of Samsung C120 equals 80-90 which is quite much for a handset with this set of functions, in other words it is way overestimated. On the other hand, it claims the position of Samsungs cheapest proposition, thus it still capable of acquiring fair sale rates many will agree to have a stylish device in their pocket. Comparing this very solution to other entry-level models, you will realize that not only Motorola C168 shows off it radio, but also Motorola C350 has some features to offer, e.g. polyphony, all this without taking account of other manufacturers offerings. Against that background, Samsung can keep its solution alive only by promoting in retail chains, where it will be a best purchase. The other factor benefiting the manufacturer is desire of some users to boast a little the company has already read this tendency, therefore it artificially limits production of this model and dont allow overstocking to occur. In fact, such policy leads to the very possibility of extending range with similar products. All in all Samsung C120 is intended for making and receiving calls only, thus one could rightfully ask whether a color screen is essential on this handset, in light of the fact it lacks any installed games. Honestly I cannot answer this question, but I suppose value of such solution is miserable.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 17 May 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung C120

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Инструкция

Компания Samsung последовательно отказывалась от выпуска бюджетных моделей, которые могли бы отрицательно сказаться на ее имидже производителя стильных телефонов для обеспеченных людей. В отсутствие лояльности к марке со стороны потребителей такой подход был оправдан, и в качестве бюджетных решений выступали исключительно модели, сходящие с дистанции, аппараты в конце жизненного цикла. В 2005 году, однако, руководство компании начало осторожно говорить о том, что появление бюджетных аппаратов не так уж и невозможно, причиной для этого стала активизация таких производителей, как Nokia, Motorola, Siemens в данном сегменте. Для Samsung отсутствие продуктов в нем означало потерю доли рынка. В компании всегда говорили о том, что доля рынка не важна, в первую очередь важен доход, но, тем не менее, тенденции приняли во внимание. Первым аппаратом, рассчитанным на бюджетную аудиторию, стала модель Samsung C120. Фактически это не столько бюджетный аппарат в понимании рынка, сколько бюджетный моноблок с цветным экраном, что и диктует достаточно высокую стоимость в своем сегменте. Тут компания Samsung пошла своим путем, что типично для нее. Фактически была взята платформа от C200 и максимально урезана функционально. Аппарат лишился wap, полифонии, ряда других функций, но при этом стал достаточно дешевым. Внешность ему оставили от Samsung C210, что не так плохо, он отличается от продуктов других производителей в данном классе.

Лакированная поверхность аппарата призвана пускать пыль в глаза, пытается скрыть бюджетное происхождение телефона. По пластику задней части становится понятно, что аппарат не слишком дорог, но ведь его еще надо разглядеть. Размер телефона – 105х44х17.5 мм, что типично для данного класса продуктов. Вес – 76 грамм. Проблем с тем, куда положить телефон, не должно возникать, он вполне уместен и в кармане рубашки, и в брюках, и на шее у девушки.

Экран отображает до 65000 цветов (STN), разрешение 128х128 точек (28х28 мм). На дисплее помещается до 4 строк текста и одна служебная строка. Качество экрана неплохое для бюджетного аппарата, краски не столь яркие, как на современных TFT-экранах. В сравнении с Motorola C380 экран выигрывает, а вот тому же Siemens C65, напротив, несколько уступает. На солнце экран выцветает, но картинка остается видна.

Навигационная клавиша имеет вписанную в нее кнопку ОК, цифровые кнопки средние по размерам, расположены террасами. Работать с клавиатурой не сложно, она средняя по комфортности.

Аккумулятор скрыт за задней крышкой, она не имеет люфта. В аппарате применяется стандартная литий-ионная батарея емкостью 800 мАч. По заявлению производителя, аккумулятор способен обеспечить до 150 часов работы в режиме ожидания и до 3 часов в режиме разговора. В условиях московской сети МТС аппарат работает порядка 4 суток при 40 минутах разговоров всего и до 15 минут использования других функций. Время полной зарядки телефона – чуть больше 1.5 часов.

Меню

Главное меню представлено тремя рядами иконок, в нем действует быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей.

Телефонная книга. В памяти телефона можно сохранить до 1000 номеров, при этом для одного имени записывается до 3 телефонов (домашний, рабочий, мобильный) и адрес электронной почты. При вводе новой записи вам предлагают выбрать тип номера и уже затем ввести его, дополнительные номера можно внести из подменю редактирования, а не сразу при вводе. У такой организации есть как плюсы, так и минусы - все зависит от того, как часто вы вводите записи всего с одним номером.

Можно назначить введенное имя одной из групп абонентов, причем для каждой группы устанавливается свой сигнал звонка, а также иконка.

В общем списке отображаются номера как из памяти телефона, так и из памяти SIM-карты, при этом есть быстрый поиск по имени. Для поиска достаточно набрать первую букву имени, и список покажет первое вхождение, затем можно набрать следующую букву и т. д. Такой же поиск есть отдельно в каждой группе абонентов. Для 8 номеров можно назначить клавиши быстрого набора.

Сообщения. В памяти телефона может быть сохранено до 200 сообщений, аппарат поддерживает стандарт EMS. В связи с этим в телефоне есть неплохой набор иконок, мелодий, звуков и анимации. Весьма нестандартен набор эмотиконов - если обычно это просто веселые рожицы, то здесь у них есть даже туловище.

В остальном возможности аппарата стандартны: можно записать до 5 своих шаблонов, есть предикативный ввод текста Т9.

Записи вызовов. Традиционно здесь скрываются списки с последними 20 набранными, 20 принятыми, 20 пропущенными звонками. Для каждого звонка указывается дата и время. Любопытная особенность списка заключается в том, что одинаковые номера в списке не дублируются, номер просто перемещается вверх и для него указывается новое время и дата. Этим достигается отсутствие одинаковых записей в списке, для большинства пользователей такая организация наиболее приемлема.

Установки звука. Здесь в качестве сигнала вызова можно выбрать одну из мелодий, набор не очень большой, он уже стал стандартным. В телефоне нет профилей, но вы можете выбрать свой сигнал предупреждения (свет, мелодия, вибро, вибро+мелодия). В этом же меню можно включить минутный таймер, он будет работать во время разговора.

Установки телефона. В этом меню можно практически целиком настроить телефон под свои нужды, выбрать язык меню, фоновое изображение для экрана в режиме ожидания (по умолчанию их 11, все анимированные). Тут же настраивается контрастность экрана, располагаются настройки безопасности.

Органайзер. За этим пунктом меню скрывается несколько приложений.

Открывает список Календарь, внутри которого можно ввести до одного события для каждого дня (добавить большее количество событий можно, лишь скопировав запись другого дня, это неудобно), здесь же можно просмотреть календарь за месяц. Дни, для которых есть события, выделены другим цветом, есть быстрый переход к дате.

Дополняет возможности календаря список дел. Здесь можно создать задачу, установить для нее приоритет (высокий, низкий, нормальный). Записи дел можно скопировать в календарь.

Будильник. Вы вольны настроить будильник на однократное, ежедневное или еженедельное (с понедельника по пятницу, с понедельника по субботу) срабатывание.

Также в телефоне есть калькулятор и конвертер валют, здесь все традиционно.

Время и дата. Здесь устанавливается текущая дата и время, есть функция мирового времени.

Диктофон. До 5 записей по 30 секунд, отводится под заметки до 100 Кб. Во время разговора воспользоваться диктофоном нельзя.

Сетевые сервисы. За этим пунктом скрываются все настройки, связанные с операторскими функциями.


Впечатления

По качеству связи аппарат не имеет никаких нареканий, сила виброзвонка чуть выше среднего. Монофонический звонок средний по громкости, он не слишком хорошо слышен на ряде мелодий. В аппарате нет никаких функций, только самое необходимое для жизни. При этом он явным образом проигрывает функционально всем конкурентам в своем классе, относится скорее к категории телефонов за 45-60 долларов.

Стоимость Samsung C120 в рознице составляет 80-90 долларов, что достаточно много за аппарат с такой функциональностью, он явным образом переоценен. С другой стороны, это самый дешевый представитель линейки от Samsung, что обеспечит модели высокие продажи, многие захотят иметь на руках «модный» аппарат. Если сравнивать данное решение с другими бюджетниками, то мы увидим, что Motorola C168 имеет встроенное радио, с дистанции отнюдь не сошла Motorola C350, обладающая полифонией, да и от других производителей есть множество предложений. На их фоне Samsung может взять свое только за счет активного продвижения в розничных сетях, когда его будут рекомендовать к покупке. Второй фактор – это попытка ряда пользователей позиционировать себя выше, чем это есть на самом деле. В компании это осознают и искусственно ограничивают выпуск данной модели, не создают затоваривания по ней. Правильная политика и позволяет расширять модельный ряд за счет таких продуктов. Модель Samsung C120 – исключительно телефон для звонков, и вот тут возникает вопрос: а так ли нужен цветной экран в отсутствие хотя бы одной встроенной игры? Ответа на него у меня нет, но, думаю, ценность такого решения минимальна.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 04 мая 2006 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

17.10.2017 Qualcomm представила новый процессор среднего уровня – Snapdragon 636

17.10.2017 Qualcomm анонсировала коммерчески доступный 5G модем на Snapdragon X50

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Huawei Mate 10 Pro

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Samsung Gear Fit 2 Pro

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Apple iPhone спустя 10 лет

16.10.2017 Huawei представил флагманские смартфоны Mate 10 и Mate 10 Pro

16.10.2017 Московский суд решил оштрафовать Telegram за отказ сотрудничать с ФСБ

16.10.2017 Qualcomm хочет запретить в Китае продажу iPhone

16.10.2017 «Почта России» предлагает снизить беспошлинный ввоз товаров из интернет-магазинов до 25 Евро

16.10.2017 Canon представила новый компакт – PowerShot G1 X Mark III, оснащённый APS-C сенсором

16.10.2017 В России появится свой собственный крипторубль

13.10.2017 Huawei Mate 10 получит вариант Porsche Design

13.10.2017 Каждый четвертый пользователь смартфона проводит с ним более 7 часов

13.10.2017 ESET обнаружила первый шифратор для Android с функцией блокировки экрана

13.10.2017 Sharp представила свой смартфон с вырезом в экране под фронтальную камеру

13.10.2017 Samsung объявил прогнозный отчёт за третий квартал 2017 года

13.10.2017 Mail.Ru Group предлагает россиянам своего конкурента AliExpress

Hit

13.10.2017 Онлайн-сервис “Мегафон.ТВ” шагнул с полки на потолок

13.10.2017 ARCHOS показала свой четырёхкамерный безрамочный флагман Diamond Omega

Hit

12.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор мини-проектора CINEMOOD Storytеller

12.10.2017 ОС Sailfish для Sony Xperia X поступила в продажу

12.10.2017 Oculus представил автономный VR-шлем

12.10.2017 Опубликованы рендерные изображения Nokia 9

12.10.2017 ФАС займётся ценами на iPhone 8

12.10.2017 В России теперь хотят ограничить сумму покупки криптовалют

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.