facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review Pantech Q80

Pantech Q80, live pictures

Standard kit:

  • Phone
  • Battery (slim and extended capacity)
  • Charger
  • User's guide

 

Pantech started shipping model G80 already in December, before official launch of companys representative office and line-ups announcement. This is the simplest phone in the whole line-up, Pantech considers it being a budget model. The phones outlook is very similar to Korean manufacturers products, same smooth edges, once again not unique design. This model reminds me of Samsung T100 for some reason, although there are some certain differences in the design. The phones size is typical for its segment, same thing can be said about its weight (83.5x46x20 mm, 80 grams).

On the front panel we can see the screen, whose backlight color is tender-blue. Id like to point out that during last two years the screens with such backlight color became very popular among Asian manufacturers of third and second echelons, cant really say why. Two text lines can be displayed (resolution 96x48 pixels), including date and time, as well as status text line. If you open the phone the picture on the external display will rotate mirror vertically. There is no any decent sense in this solution, seems that the manufacturer wanted to create something original, without any clear thoughts of what it might be useful for.

The LED is located under the screen, it has 7 colors of backlight. On the front panel you can see the speakers hole, it is used for ring tone playback. On the phones bottom you can see the interface connector, it is covered by rubber cork, which is attached to the case. On the left side volume regulation buttons are located, on the top edge you can see the headset connector. The phone has external antenna on board, and since it is a budget solution this cannot be considered as disadvantage.

After we open the phone we will see the internal screen which can display up to 65000 colors (SNT). The screen is not big and is related to budget solutions, we can actually repeat the phrase mentioned in the review of Voxtel BD30 the phone does not set any records in the display quality rate, the picture is slightly pale, not very saturated. Due to nice appearance of the interface this model looks a lot more interesting, but you have to keep in mind that this is still one of the cheap displays, it can be compared with the one installed in such models as Siemens CX65, Motorola C380, V180, V220. The difference from Voxtel BD30 is that the screen is smaller, this does affect on the way you percept it.

The screens resolution is 128x143 pixels, up to 4 text lines and three additional text lines for service needs can be displayed on the screen at once. When the screen encounters direct sunlight it turns really pale, the picture is hardly readable.

The keyboard is made of plastic, keypad buttons have average size, but they are nicely placed. They are very convenient, same thing can be said about the four-positional navigational key. The soft-keys are not very common, there is a Menu button, meanwhile OK button is located on the right. The keyboards backlight is blue, it is clearly seen in various conditions.

There are two batteries shipped in every package, one of them is slim Lithium Polymer, the other has extended capacity Lithium-Ion. The slim batterys capacity is 640 mAh, meanwhile the second ones is 950 mAh. According to the manufacturer maximal time for the phones work in stand by mode is up to 145 hours and up to 2.5 hours during your mobile phone conversations. We were testing this model in Moscow, our operator is MTS. The phone worked for 2.5 days with the second battery, we were talking for about 40 minutes daily and up to 25 minutes were spent for other functions. Working time for the first (slim) battery was about 1 day with 20 minutes of talks and minimal use of other functions. It takes about 1.5 hours and 2.5 hours for both batteries to recharge correspondingly. We noticed the fact that batterys indicator level (especially for the extended capacity battery) is not counted equally and correctly, for example after a long conversation the indicator can show that the battery is almost empty, and after few minutes some additional points may appear.

Menu

The main menu can be accessed by pressing the corresponding button. Each of the 7 menu items of the main menu is presented with icon and appropriate signature. The menu can be surfed either vertically or horizontally. Animation is used as well, one of the items turns into another, this takes about 2 seconds. For the first time it is interesting, but when you are surfing the menu again and again it turns annoying. You have to use fast number navigation for this, in order to call the required menu without the boring and annoying animation.

Such items as Phone Book, Messages, Profiles, WAP-browser are assigned to the navigational key, in most cases you can live without surfing through the main menu. The manufacturers assigned side key (lower one), with its help you can access the Calendar, this function is rather original and wasnt encountered earlier in the products from other manufacturers.

We can see that the manufacturer was trying to point out its unique factor in the interfaces presentation, as a result he had to invent the bicycle for a few times, and step away from the already proven solutions. It is very unusual to press the Menu button in order to access the sub-menu with options in one or other menu item, even though there is no one single solution for this function being present. Red accentuation is comprehended as appearances element, but not as hint. You have to look for them with scientific method of clicking everywhere, which is not entirely correct from users position. The second slippery moment related to text input, in place of displaying of remaining text symbols the phone is showing percent of text field filling. Of course at first this looks amusing, but later on you understand that the value of such feature is close to zero, the de-facto standard is exactly the number of symbols. And finally the third moment which can be considered as cavils. When you are trying to insert a smiley in the SMS you will see its transformation into common symbols, although it is displayed as picture in the table. Now imagine how this set of symbols should be decoded by a person who received such message, since it is 99% that he does not have a hint which would be a Pantech phone. I will not tell you about such things in details, just for the record: manufacturers try of creating unique parts of the product has finally put cross on interfaces capability with phones from other manufacturers. This means that any user who is familiar with other phones will be forced to spend some time for researching G80, the menu is not instinctively.

The phone supports text input in Russian and English, T9 text input is also supported. The localization is made nicely, although there is a number or terms which are written with word division or shortenings, they do not look presentable enough. The instruction which is included in the package makes working with the phone easier, it is nicely translated and detailed.

Phone book. In the phones memory one entry can contain three names. The overall amount of entries cannot exceed 200 (numbers, not names). The text length in the Name field cannot exceed 18 symbols. Each name can be assigned to one of the 7 contact groups. For separate record you can choose your custom ring tone, same thing can be done for group, which can be powered with custom LED backlight color.

Both numbers from the phone book as well as from SIM-card can be displayed in the list. With our SIM-card the phone for some reason was working incorrectly, the entries were displayed as strokes instead of letters. Meanwhile phone book entries were displayed normally. The list supports search by first letter, you can search via groups as well. On the whole phonebooks possibilities are common, nothing special.

Messages. The user can write simple SMS, nothing else is offered. There is no support of EMS, or Nokia Smart Messaging.

Sound. The phones profiles allow switching between the profiles quickly. Besides choosing the volume level and ring tones type (mixed, ring tone, vibrating alert or light only), the phone allows you to choose speakers volume during the talk. An interesting peculiarity, considering the high volume and unwillingness of many for their conversation being heard by others.

Accessories. The alarm clock can be setup for single and daily, weekly and monthly activation. You can also define time intervals during which the alarm will work (10, 20, 30, 60 minutes). This is convenient in case you are sure that one alarm will not be enough for you to wake up.

D-Day is a kind of reminder, you can setup alarm for any of the appointments, almost full copy of events from the calendar, duplication of same function is not pretty clear.

The calculator is convenient, notepad allows saving small text notes.

The world time function works, just like it should.

The phone has three games to offer Magic Ball, Penky, Ghost. In the first game you have to match the falling balls, some kind of Tetris. The second game you are playing the role of penguin, who has to jump at the flying desks. In the last game you have to fight from aviation, submarines of the enemy, nothing special.

Call list. In each list 10 entries are stored, everything is pretty common.

Settings. The menu hides phone settings beneath, as well as various display settings. Everything is common.

WAP. The phone has WAP-browser v1.2.1 installed, GPRS is not supported.

Impressions

The phone provides acceptable connection quality, it can be compared with the one of Asian manufacturers who are outside the big Top 3 of manufacturers. The phone G80 has loud polyphonic ring tones on board (40 chords), it is not very melodic. There are 40 ring tones preinstalled, there are even some voices, who were specially made for Russian manufacturers, although they do not sound the way they were originally thought. The vibrating alerts power is average, it cannot be felt always.

The speech transfer quality is average, there are certain noises present, this can be caused due to network as well though. On the other hand the other phones demonstrated better quality. The phone has some problems in the software, the manufacturers logic in the interface area is not always clear. If we compare this phone with other products presented on the market, we will come to the conclusion that this is an average model. It does not have appealing or bright outlook (like Voxtel BD30 has for example), The feature set is not rich either, meanwhile the price is rather big. At the moment Pantech Q80 costs around 175 dollars. As a result the phone had already become niche product, it is bought impulsively, under the influence, perhaps advice from the salesman. In our opinion you should not buy G80 for the price which is set at the moment, it does not have any appealing parts. The real price should be set around 140-145 dollars, in this case the phone will look interesting enough considering its lacks.

Ringtone samples (180 Kb, mp3)

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Alexander "Lexx" Zavoloka(Lexx@i-5.delfi.lv);

Published —11 April 2004

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Pantech Q80

Фотографии Pantech Q80 в интерьере

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор (тонкий и повышенной емкости)
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Инструкция

Компания Pantech начала поставки модели G80 еще в декабре, до официального запуска представительства компании и объявления линейки. Это самый простой аппарат в линейке, он для Pantech является бюджетным. Внешне телефон неотличим от телефонов других корейских производителей, те же плавные обводы корпуса, тот же отнюдь не уникальный вид. Чем-то данная модель напоминает внешне Samsung T100, хотя в дизайне и наблюдаются отличия. Аппарат по размерам типичен для своего класса, то же можно сказать и о его весе (83.5х46х20 мм, 80 грамм).

На передней панели мы можем видеть экран, который имеет подсветку нежно-голубого цвета. Хочется отметить, что в последние два года экраны с такой подсветкой стали чрезвычайно популярны среди всех азиатских производителей второго и третьего эшелона, уж не знаю почему. На экране помещается две строки текста (разрешение 96х48 точек), в частности дата и время, также можно видеть статусную строку. Если раскрыть телефон, то картинка на внешнем дисплее перевернется зеркально по вертикали. Смысла в данной функции нет никакого, так это скорее попытка создать что-то оригинальное, без ясных представлений о том, для чего это нужно.

Под экраном располагается служебный индикатор, он имеет до 7 различных цветов подсветки. На передней панели мы можем также видеть отверстие динамика, он служит для воспроизведения звонка. На нижнем торце располагается интерфейсный разъем, он прикрыт резиновой заглушкой, которая прикреплена к корпусу. На левой боковой поверхности находятся клавиши регулировки громкости, на верхнем торце разъем для подключения гарнитуры. Аппарат имеет внешнюю антенну, для бюджетного решения это не является минусом.

Раскрыв телефон мы увидим внутренний дисплей, который отображает до 65000 цветов (STN). Экран небольшой по размерам и относится к бюджетным решениям, можно буквально один в один повторить фразу, сказанную в обзоре Voxtel BD30 - Аппарат не ставит рекордов по качеству дисплея, картинка немного выцветшая, не слишком насыщенная цветами. За счет приятного оформления интерфейса данная модель смотрится интереснее, но надо помнить, что экран относится к недорогим, его можно сравнить с таковым в Siemens CX65, Motorola C380, V180, V220. При этом в отличие от Voxtel BD30 здесь экран меньше, это сказывается на его восприятии.

Разрешение экрана 128х143 точки, на нем помещается до 4 строк текста и до 3 служебных строк. На солнце экран сильно выцветает, картинка различима с большим трудом.

Клавиатура в аппарате выполнена из пластика, цифровые клавиши средние по размеру, но хорошо разнесены. Они удобны в работе, то же можно сказать о четырехпозиционной навигационной клавише. Функциональные клавиши не совсем привычны, так есть клавиша Меню, справа находится клавиша ОК. Подсветка клавиатуры синего цвета, она хорошо видна в различных условиях.

В комплект с телефоном входит два аккумулятора, тонкая батарея литий-полимерная, повышенной емкости литий-ионная. Тонкая батарея имеет емкость 640 мАч, толстая 950 мАч. По заявлению производителя максимальное время работы телефона в режиме ожидания до 145 часов, в режиме разговора до 2.5 часов. В условиях московской сети МТС аппарат работал около 2.5 суток с батареей максимальной емкости при 40 минутах звонков и до 25 минут использования других функций. С тонкой батареей время работы составило около суток при 20 минутах разговоров и минимальном использовании других функций. Время полной зарядки аккумулятора составляет 1.5 и 2.5 часа соответственно. Мы обратили внимание на тот факт, что заряд аккумулятора (особенно для батареи повышенной емкости) рассчитывается, не всегда верно, так после продолжительного разговора индикатор может сигнализировать о разряде, а через несколько минут показывать несколько делений.

Меню

Попасть в меню можно, нажав на соответствующую клавишу. Каждый из семи пунктов главного меню представлен картинкой с соответствующей надписью, перемещение происходит в любом из направлений, как по горизонтали, так и по вертикали. При этом используется анимация, один пункт превращается в другой, на это уходит пара секунд. Для первого раза быть может это и интересно, но уже на третий день приедается. Приходится использовать цифровые последовательности, чтобы вызвать нужный пункт быстро, без утомительной анимации.

Навигационной клавише соотнесены такие пункты, как доступ к телефонной книге, сообщениям, профилям, wap-браузеру, так что в большинстве случаев можно обойтись и без навигации по главному меню. Разработчики даже приспособили боковую клавишу (нижнюю), с ее помощью можно вызвать календарь, эта функция оригинальна и не встречалась в телефонах других производителей.

В реализации интерфейса производитель стремился подчеркнуть свою уникальность, в результате несколько раз изобретал велосипед и от добра искал добра. Так, непривычно нажимать на клавишу Меню, чтобы вызвать подменю с опциями в том или ином месте, при этом на экране нет ни малейшего намека, подсказки, что такие опции присутствуют. Красное подчеркивание воспринимается как элемент оформления, но не как подсказка. Приходится искать их методом научного тыка, что не совсем правильно с позиции пользователя. Второй скользкий момент связан с вводом текстов, вместо отображения оставшегося для ввода числа символов телефон показывает проценты заполнения текстом поля ввода. Безусловно, в начале это выглядит забавно, но затем понимаешь что ценность данной возможности, близка к нулю, стандартом де-факто является именно число символов. Ну и наконец третий момент который можно отнести к придиркам. При попытке вставить смайлик в сообщение вы увидите его трансляцию в обычные символы, хотя в таблице он отображается как рисунок. Теперь представьте, как этот набор символов должен расшифровывать человек получивший сообщение, ведь с вероятностью в 99 процентов у него нет подсказки в виде телефона Pantech. Не буду вдаваться в подобные мелочи, лишь подчеркну, что попытка создать уникальные черты продукта, во многом поставила крест на совместимости интерфейса с телефонами других производителей. Это означает, что любой пользователь знакомый с другими телефонами будет вынужден потратить некоторое время на изучение телефона G80, меню не интуитивно.

Аппарат поддерживает ввод на русском и английском языках, есть предикативный ввод. Локализация выполнена хорошо, хотя и есть некоторое число терминов с сокращениями и переносами строки, они смотрятся не слишком презентабельно. Инструкция, входящая в комплект, облегчает работу с телефоном, она хорошо переведена и очень подробна.

Телефонная книга. В памяти телефона на одно имя можно сохранить до трех телефонных номеров. При этом общее число записей не может превышать двухсот (именно номеров, а не имен). Длина текста в поле Имя, как для русского, так и английского языков 18 символов. Каждое имя может быть соотнесено к определенной группе абонентов, всего их в телефоне 7. Для отдельной записи можно выбрать свою персональную мелодию звонка, то же самое можно сделать для группы, плюс для последних также доступен выбор цвета подсветки служебного индикатора.

В общем списке отображаются номера, как из памяти телефона, так и SIM-карты. С нашей SIM-картой почему-то телефон работал некорректно, имена отображались в виде прочерков. Записи из памяти телефона при этом показывались в нормальном режиме. В списке есть поиск по первой букве имени, также есть поиск по группам. В целом возможности телефонной книге обыденны, ничего особенного.

Сообщения. Пользователь может писать обычные текстовые сообщения, ничего другого телефон предложить ему не может. Поддержки EMS, Nokia Smart Messaging в аппарате нет.

Звук. Профили в телефоне позволяют быстро переключиться между желаемыми режимами. Помимо выбора уровня громкости, типа работы звонка (смешанный, мелодия, только вибра, световой) аппарат предлагает выбрать и громкость динамика во время разговора. Интересная особенность, учитывая высокую громкость и нежелание многих, чтобы их разговор могли бы слушать окружающие.

Аксессуары. Будильник может быть выставлен как на однократное, так и на ежедневное, еженедельное, ежемесячное срабатывание. При этом вы можете указать временные интервалы, в течение которых будет работать сигнал будильника (10, 20, 30, 60 минут). Это удобно, когда вы уверены в том, что одного сигнала будильника вам будет недостаточно чтобы проснуться.

D-Day это своего рода напоминания для которых можно выставить сигнал, почти полная копия событий из календаря, дублирование функции не совсем ясно.

Калькулятор удобен, блокнот позволяет сохранять небольшие текстовые записки.

Функция мирового времени работает, как и положено.

В телефоне есть три игры – Magic Ball, Penky, Ghost. В первой игре нужно распределять ссыпающиеся шарики, своего рода тетрис. Вторая игра – вы управляете пингвином, а он должен прыгать по летящим доскам. В последней игре ваша подлодка отбивается от авиации и подлодок противника, ничего особенного.

Списки звонков. В каждом из списков находится до 10 записей, все достаточно привычно.

Установки. В меню скрываются как установки телефона, сети, так и различные настройки экрана. В целом все просто.

WAP. В телефоне установлен wap-браузер версии 1.2.1, при этом не поддерживается пакетная передача данных.


Впечатления

Аппарат обеспечивает приемлемое качество связи, оно сравнимо с таковым для аппаратов азиатских производителей не входящих в большую тройку производителей. Телефон G80 имеет громкую полифонию (40-тональную), но она не слишком мелодична. Всего в телефоне 40 мелодий, при этом есть несколько голосов, которые специально создавались для российских пользователей, вот звучат только они не так как задумывалось. Виброзвонок по силе средний, его не всегда можно почувствовать.

Качество передачи речи телефоном среднее, есть помехи, но их можно отнести на счет сети. С другой стороны в той же сети другие телефоны демонстрировали более высокое качество связи. Аппарат имеет небольшие шероховатости в программном обеспечении, логика создателей в области интерфейса понятна не всегда. Если сравнивать данный телефон с другими аппаратами, представленными на рынке, то можно сказать, что это типичный середнячок. У него нет бросающейся в глаза внешности (как у Voxtel BD30 например), функциональный набор не слишком богат, а цена достаточно высока. На данный момент стоимость Pantech Q80 составляет около 175 долларов. Как результат, телефон уже стал нишевым продуктом, его покупают импульсивно, под влиянием, быть может, совета продавца. На наш взгляд, за те деньги, что сейчас просят за G80 брать его не стоит, в нем нет ни одной по настоящему притягательной черты. Реальная стоимость данной модели на уровне 140-145 долларов, исходя из этого ценового диапазона на аппарат, можно обратить внимание, если принять во внимание шероховатости описанные выше.

Варианты мелодий звонка ( 180 Кб, мр3)

Благодарим розничную сеть Связной за предоставленный аппарат

   

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 30 марта 2004 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

24.05.2018 Видео на канале: Первый взгляд на Meizu M8c

24.05.2018 Роскомнадзор собирается провести комплексную проверку Facebook и WhatsApp до декабря

24.05.2018 Apple и Xiaomi доминируют на растущем рынке носимой электроники

24.05.2018 Санкции США обойдутся ZTE в 3 миллиарда долларов

24.05.2018 Huawei может представить устройств с гибким экраном до конца года

24.05.2018 Qualcomm официально представила новый мобильный чипсет – Snapdragon 710

24.05.2018 В России Sony Mobile открыла предзаказ на свои беспроводные наушники Xperia Ear Duo с технологией открытого звука

24.05.2018 Acer показала первый 15-дюймовый Chromebook-трансформер

24.05.2018 MediaTek анонсировала новый процессор Helio P22 для смартфонов среднего ценового сегмента

24.05.2018 Представлен бюджетный смартфон Meizu M8c

23.05.2018 Apple приступила к производству новых процессоров

23.05.2018 Состоялся российский релиз бюджетного смартфона Huawei Y6 Prime 2018

23.05.2018 Возможное изображение Xiaomi Redmi 6 с «чёлкой» утекло в сеть

23.05.2018 У HTC вышел новый флагман – HTC U12+

23.05.2018 Meitu представила свой новый шестиугольный смартфон Meitu T9

23.05.2018 В Минкультуре рассматривают вопрос о блокировке сервиса Booking.com

Hit

23.05.2018 Honor представляет смартфон Honor 7C с NFC и системой распознавания лица

Hit

22.05.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор ультимативного смартфона до 20к - Huawei P20 Lite

22.05.2018 Sony покупает музыкальное издательство EMI

22.05.2018 В России стартуют продажи планшетов Huawei MediaPad M5

22.05.2018 Huawei представила новую бюджетную модель смартфона Huawei Y5 Prime 2018

22.05.2018 Apple снижает стоимость кабелей Lightning

22.05.2018 Стали известны цены и варианты комплектования Xiaomi Mi 8

22.05.2018 США и КНР достигли соглашения по судьбе компании ZTE

22.05.2018 В Индии презентовали новые бюджетные смартфоны от Samsung – Galaxy J6 и J8

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2018. All rights reserved.