facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Nokia 2626

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • 970 mAh Li-Ion battery
  • Charger
  • Headset (HS-7)
  • User Guide

Following extraordinary popularity of handsets with a music player inside, makers have started tacking music capabilities on even their entry-level offerings. Naturally, arming a 90-dollar worth device with an MP3-player is not an easy task there should also be enough of memory bundled or support for memory expansion, though incorporating FM-receiver into a budget model can be done hands down.

This is exactly what Nokia has done, releasing the successor to the 2610 in the form of Nokia 2626, that is notable for presence of radio and revamped color schemes. Speaking of the latter improvement, there are four trims available: light blue, gold-blue, pink and white-pink. Subjectively speaking, only two of them posses visual appeal more feminine white-pink and more masculine light blue, as for the two remaining schemes, they look lackluster.

Unsophisticated design of a rectangular casing looks neatly and boasts pretty much conventional dimensions: 104x43x18 mm, weighting 91 g. The handset feels nice when held in hands and readily slips in just about any pocket or purse, meaning that the 2626 will suit both men and women.

The casing of Nokia 2626 is composed of three different types of plastic and an inset made of tinted glass with mirror coating on the front. The phone looks quite spectacular, yet the build quality will our main gripe with it. At first, nothing delivered problems all parts were finely adjusted, neither gap nor creaking noises were spotted. But shortly after that the panel edging the display and keypad loosened, producing unwanted noises.

The side plates have been set free of controls or sockets, except for a few things. The top and the right-hand sides house two loudspeakers, while at the bottom you will find charger slot, 2,5 mm audio jack and an odd-looking socket that turned out to be a service slot only for firmware updates in service centers

The upper part of Nokia 2626s front fascia is covered by a layer of tinted glass (another design-related difference between Nokia 2626 and Nokia 2610). Visually such solution looks very fetching and eye-candy when the backlighting goes off, the display disappears under the mirror-like surface. But it has two letdowns. First, it picks up fingerprints and smudge with ease, so you will need something you can rub it down with. Then, in daylight information on the screen gets poorly legible due to that tinted glass and passive matrix.

The display here employs STN-matrix with a resolution of 128x128 pixels (27x27 mm) and ability to show up to 65 K colors. In average light conditions the picture it outputs looks pretty bright and vivid, but as I already mentioned in the sun it gets washed out, albeit remains readable. When typing in messages, at smallest font settings, the display accommodates up to 8 text and two service lines, while browsing menu it offers 5 text and 2 service lines.

The keypad is completely identical to that found on Nokia 2610, being made in ledges and very comfortable to handle. The numeric buttons are big enough and well-spaced, thus wrong presses arent likely to bother you much. Long-press of the * button calls up radio, doing the same thing to the # actives silent mode. The navigation key is not particularly convenient, as it is a tiny silver string edging the OK button that can prove to be utterly unhandy for people with big fingers or owners of long nails. Every direction of the navigation key may be configured to launch user-defined functions. The navigation key is flanked by pick/hang up buttons and two functional keys the left one is permanently bound to fast menu, while the button on the right can perform just about any action, even lock the keypad.

All keys are evenly lit in pretty bright white, which makes for legible key captions in almost all environments.

Nokia 2626 utilizes a surprisingly powerful battery a 970 mAh Li-Ion unit. As the manufacturer claims it can keep the handset up and running for up to 3 hours in call mode and up to 300 hours in standby. When tested, it lasted for about 5 days at 20 minutes of calls and about 2 hours of gaming and other functions usage. It takes the 2626 around 2 hours to charge from empty to full.

Menu

As regards the user interface, Nokia 2626 is a typical offspring of the Series 40 band. The menu comprises 12 items and may be viewed as a 3x4 grid or a list. In the former case you will see only 9 icons per screen, thus getting to the remaining three you will need to scroll down; in the latter mode the screen houses only one amplified thumbnail of each item with up and down directions of the navigation key used for browsing the menu. Shortcut number navigation is also supported.

Phonebook. The 2626s phonebook contains 300 free entries and allows accessing the SIM-card memory. At that in settings you can choose which contact list to show (you can use both the handsets memory and the SIM-card at the same time). Each entry contains three fields: First Name, Last Name and Phone number should you submit two contacts with identical names the handset will automatically notify you. In case these are the name fields that match, then the 2626 offers you to change the number of the corresponding entry, and when the phone number is duplicated, then it just warns you. Contacts cant be customized with personal pictures or ringtones, though you still can create groups that can have a tune or picture assigned. Speed dial function with up to 8 numbers is supported.

Call log. The handset comes equipped with 3 standard call lists dialed, received and missed, with each of them housing up to 20 numbers. Aside from that there is also merged list of calls and 10 most recent contacts you sent messages to. The general list features contact name or number, call date and time, while the detailed view shows duration of each call.

Messages. The 2626 handles SMS and MMS in pretty much conventional fashion on message creating you are offered to pick one of the four types: text (SMS), multimedia (MMS), flash and audio (the last two are in fact some sort of MMS). No message templates are available. Predictive text input system, more known as T9 is supported. Voice mail is a stand-alone item in the menu.

Organizer. This section plays host to a selection of standard applications, but more importantly, for an entry-level product the array of apps here is quite something.

There is only one alarm clock, though it can be adjusted using several settings. First, you can make it trigger off on particular days, then Snooze (when it keeps ringing at regular intervals unless you turn it off manually) may be configured manually (5, 10, 15 minutes and so on).

The calendar can be viewed in month- or week-mode. Each date can have any event belonging to these five types: meeting, call, birthday, note, and reminder. Events can be made recurrent.

Using the To-Do list you can create events with three different priority types (high, normal, low), due date and Done mark for completed entries.

Notes can comprise up to 3000 symbols, apart from text you can take advantage of smiles as well.

The implementation of calculator is the app we should praise in the 2626, as here it allows for squaring numbers and extract root. You can also instantly switch to a basic currency converter.

There are also countdown timer and stopwatch, where you can save up to 20 temporary values.

Gallery. This item holds folders with various content categorized by type. You can also create some folders of your own.

The folder tree can be viewed in list from, list with captions or a grid of thumbnails. You can also sort files and folders by name, date, format or size.

Radio. A function that can barely change with time, thus we wont dwell upon it at all.

Media. Here you will find Sound Recorder, allowing you to make audio clips in .amr format up to 1 minute long. Number of clips is limited only by the volume of free memory available. The Sound Recorder can be launched during a call too.

Applications. Applications item stores two folders: Games and Collection. The former one has two games in it, while the latter one is initially empty, but you can upload Java-applications via WAP into it. You are free to create your own folders in this section as well.

Both games found on the 2626 are quite boring: Glamour Pinball and Phantom Spider, thus all fans of entertainment on-the-go will have to rush to WAP-resources outright.

WAP-browser. This standard browser enables uploading wap-pages and small internet-pages. While it is not particularly convenient to browser full-size internet-pages (as you have to scroll them in both directions), the 2626 gives you such ability. Since the default set of pictures and games on Nokia 2626 is everything but large, the manufacturer has added corresponding links to own resources, where one can purchase games, ring tones and tunes.

Settings. Here you can take advantage of an array of settings to make the handset fit you best.

The list of profiles contains four standard modes and two user-manageable ones. Each of them can be personalized by changing tunes and alert volume. Apart from that, for every profile you can select duration.

There are only three themes available that alter only the wallpaper and the color scheme of the menus, without bringing along any groundbreaking changes. Here you can also upload extra themes onto the 2626.

In sound settings for a selected profile you can manage alert sound, key tones and volume. For incoming calls and messages you can assign not only standard sounds, but any tunes you uploaded. The silent alert can trigger off at one time with sound.

Using the display settings you are free to adjust the screen to your needs contrast, wallpaper, screen saver, power save mode. For standby screen you can modify font color, and for messages and the web-browser font size.

Apart from all that, with Settings you can adjust date and time and program directions of the navigation key and the right functional button.

The memory volume Nokia 2626 comes with is quite middling 3 Mb for all purposes. Though, for want of an MP3-player or built-in camera, this will be just enough, as on top of all that, it doesnt even have Infrared connectivity.

Impressions

The handset delivered reception quality standard for Nokia-braded devices we experienced no problems with call sound. The volume of 24-chord polyphony is sufficient to notify you about an incoming call or message in various environments. You are at liberty to set MP3 and MIDI files as ring tones, or go for a sound clip made with the Sound Recorder. The silent alert found on the 2626 is not quite strong, so you might end up not feeling it with the phone in outerwear.

All in all, for its type the handset has turned out to be quite good, and in terms of suite of pre-installed applications, it is far ahead many counterparts. At a price of around 90 USD it is a rival chiefly to Sony Ericssons entry-level solutions J230, J120, J110, J100, Motorola-branded basic offerings Motorola 168, W208 and Samsung SGH-C240.

Margarita Mokshina (margo.mokshina@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 23 March 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Nokia 2626

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор 970 мАч, Li-Ion
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Гарнитура HS-7
  • Инструкция

В связи с необычайной популярностью мобильных телефонов со встроенным MP3-плеером производители стали стремиться даже свои бюджетные модели сделать максимально музыкальными. Конечно, оснастить аппарат стоимостью 90 долларов МР3-плеером непросто – требуется также достаточный запас встроенной памяти или поддержка карт, а вот дополнить возможности бюджетника FM-приемником можно запросто.

Именно так и поступила компания Nokia, выпустив на смену 2610 модель под названием 2626, которая отличается наличием встроенного радио и обновленными цветовыми решениями. Всего было предложено четыре варианта: сине-голубой, золотисто-синий, розовый и бело-розовый. Субъективно удачными можно назвать лишь два – «женский» бело-розовый и «мужской» сине-голубой, другие два сочетания смотрятся некрасиво.

Простой прямоугольный корпус выглядит аккуратно и обладает стандартными для своего класса габаритами: 104х43х18 мм при весе 91 г. Аппарат удобно лежит в руке и легко помещается как в карман рубашки, так и в сумочку, а соответственно, подойдет и для женской, и для мужской аудитории.

Корпус Nokia 2626 выполнен из трех различных видов пластика, а спереди также дополнен вставкой из тонированного стекла с зеркальным покрытием. Смотрится модель довольно эффектно, но впечатление портит качество сборки. В первые дни никаких нареканий оно не вызывало: элементы были плотно пригнаны друг к другу, не скрипели, и всякий люфт отсутствовал. Однако уже через несколько дней тестирования панель, окаймляющая экран и клавиатуру, разболталась и стала заметно похрустывать.

Боковые панели оказались практически свободны от каких-либо кнопок и разъемов. На верхней и правой гранях расположились два динамика, а на нижней – гнездо для подключения зарядного устройства, 2.5 мм выход для наушников и разъем для подключения аппарата к ПК.

Верхняя часть передней панели у Nokia 2626 скрыта под слоем тонированного стекла (это еще одно отличие дизайна Nokia 2626 от Nokia 2610). Внешне такое решение выглядит очень удачно и привлекательно – при отключении подсветки экран «исчезает» за зеркальной поверхностью. Но у него есть и два минуса. Во-первых, стекло очень цепко собирает все отпечатки, и необходимо запастись платочком, чтобы экран не был вечно заляпанным. А во-вторых, при дневном свете экран становится плохо читаемым из-за использования тонированного стекла и пассивной матрицы.

Выполнен дисплей на базе STN-матрицы, обладает разрешением 128х128 пикселей (27х27 мм) и отображает до 65000 цветов. При не слишком ярком внешнем освещении картинка на нем выглядит достаточно ярко и красочно, но, как я уже говорила, при уличном дневном освещении она блекнет, хотя и остается читаемой. В режиме набора сообщений при самом мелком шрифте на экране помещается до 8 строк текста + две служебные, а в режиме меню отображается 5 строк и 2 служебные.

Клавиатура абсолютно такая же, как в Nokia 2610, выполнена в виде лесенки и очень удобна в использовании. Цифровые кнопки крупные, четко поделены, поэтому ошибочные нажатия практически исключены. Длительное нажатие клавиши со «звездочкой» вызывает радио, а такое же нажатие «решетки» включает беззвучный режим. Навигационная клавиша сделана не очень удачно – она выполнена в виде тонкой серебристой рамочки, окаймляющей кнопку подтверждения, нажимается не всегда верно и может вызвать массу неудобств у обладателей крупных пальцев или длинных ногтей. Каждое положение навигационной клавиши можно использовать для быстрого запуска функций, причем назначать их можно самостоятельно. По бокам от навигационной клавиши находятся кнопки начала и завершения вызова, а также две функциональные клавиши. За левой жестко закреплен вызов быстрого меню, а правой можно назначить любое значение из списка вплоть до блокировки клавиатуры.

Подсветка клавиатуры белого цвета, равномерная и достаточно яркая, поэтому символы на клавишах остаются читаемыми в любых условиях.

Аккумулятор у Nokia 2626 на удивление мощный – Li-Ion емкостью 970 мАч. По заявлению производителя, он позволяет аппарату проработать до 3 часов в режиме разговора и до 300 часов в режиме ожидания. В условиях тестирования при 20 минутах разговора, а также около двух часов игр и использования других приложений аппарат продержался почти 5 дней. Для полной зарядки потребовалось около 2 часов.

Меню

Что касается пользовательского интерфейса, Nokia 2626 – это типичный представитель когорты устройств на Series 40. Меню состоит из 12 элементов и может быть представлено в виде матрицы 3х4 или списком. В первом случае на экране помещается лишь 9 значков, и чтобы добраться до оставшихся трех, нужно пролистать меню вниз, а во втором случае на экране крупно отображается один пункт меню, а для прокрутки используются положения «вверх» и «вниз» навигационной клавиши. Поддерживается возможность перехода при помощи цифровых последовательностей.

Телефонная книга. В телефонной книге предусмотрено 300 ячеек для заполнения + память SIM-карты. При этом в настройках можно указывать списки контактов для отображения (можно одновременно использовать память телефона и  SIM-карты). Полей для каждого абонента выделено всего три: Имя, Фамилия и Номер телефона. Интересно, что при создании двух записей с одинаковыми именами или номерами телефона аппарат выдает предупреждение. При совпадении имени он предлагает заменить номер у соответствующей записи, а при совпадении номера просто уведомляет о повторе. Назначать отдельным абонентам индивидуальные картинки и мелодии нельзя. Зато можно создавать группы пользователей, которым можно присваивать собственные мелодии и картинки. Поддерживается быстрый набор номеров, максимум их может быть выбрано 8.

Списки вызовов. В телефоне предусмотрено 3 стандартных списка вызовов – набранные номера, принятые вызовы и пропущенные, в каждом из которых сохраняется до 20 номеров. Кроме того, предусмотрен сводный список звонков и список последних 10 пользователей, кому вы отправляли сообщения. В общих списках отображается имя абонента или номер телефона, дата и время звонка, а в расширенных деталях вызова указывается также длительность каждого вызова.

Сообщения. Возможности по работе с сообщениями довольно стандартны, аппарат поддерживает SMS и MMS. При создании предлагается выбрать один из четырех типов сообщений: текстовое (SMS), мультимедиа (MMS), флеш и аудио (последние два, по сути, являются своеобразной вариацией MMS). Шаблонов сообщений нет. Поддерживается предикативный ввод Т9. Также в отдельное меню выделена голосовая почта.

Органайзер. В этом разделе содержится ряд стандартных приложений, притом для бюджетной трубки запас достаточно большой.

Будильник всего один, но у него есть несколько настроек. Во-первых, по желанию можно установить повторы срабатывания в указанные дни. А во-вторых, функцию snooze (повтор срабатывания будильника, пока не отключишь его вручную) можно настроить для срабатывания через указанные промежутки времени (5, 10, 15 и т.п. минут).

Календарь поддерживает возможность просмотра по месяцам и по неделям. На любую дату можно сохранять события любого из пяти типов: встреча, звонок, день рождения,  заметка или напоминание. События могут быть повторяющимися.

В списке дел можно создавать события с тремя различными приоритетами (высокий, нормальный и низкий). Для каждого есть возможность указания критической даты, а для выполненных заданий есть соответствующая пометка Done.

Заметки могут содержать до 3000 символов, помимо текста в них можно вставлять также смайлы.

Калькулятор реализован очень хорошо, помимо стандартных операций он позволяет вычислять квадрат числа и квадратный корень. Есть прямой переход к простейшему конвертеру валют.

Есть также таймер и секундомер, в котором можно сохранять до 20 промежуточных значений.

Галерея. В этом разделе собраны папки, содержащие различные файлы, которые соответственно поделены по типам. Можно создавать собственные папки.

Папки можно просматривать в виде списка, списка с именами или матрицы иконок. Есть возможность сортировать файлы и папки по имени, дате, формату или размеру.

Радио. Функция стандартная, поэтому дополнительные комментарии излишни.

Медиа. В разделе Медиа находится диктофон, который позволяет делать записи в формате amr длительностью до минуты. Количество записей ограничено лишь объемом встроенной памяти. Во время разговора диктофон работает.

Приложения. В разделе приложения находятся две папки: Игры и Коллекция. В первой содержатся две игры, а вторая пустая, однако в нее можно сохранять загруженные через WAP Java-приложения. В разделе также можно создавать собственные папки.

Игры неинтересные и их всего две, Glamour Pinball и Phantom Spider, поэтому любителям мобильных развлечений придется сразу пополнять запасы с помощью WAP-ресурсов.

WAP-браузер. Браузер стандартный, позволяет загружать wap-сайты, а также интернет-страницы небольшого объема. Просматривать полноценные интернет-страницы не очень удобно (приходится пролистывать их по горизонтали и по вертикали), но возможно. Так как запас встроенных картинок и игр у Nokia 2626 небольшой, производитель добавил в соответствующие папки ссылки на собственные ресурсы, где можно приобрести игры, картинки и мелодии.

Настройки. В разделе настроек предусмотрен широкий набор возможностей подстроить телефон под себя.

В списке профилей содержится четыре стандартных режима, а также два пользовательских. Каждый из них можно персонализировать под себя, настраивая мелодии и громкость звонков. Кроме того, для любого профиля можно выбрать срок его действия.

Тем предусмотрено всего три, и они меняют лишь фоновую картинку и цвет оформления, никаких кардинальных изменений при этом не происходит. В этом же разделе предусмотрена ссылка для закачки дополнительных тем.

В настройках звука для выбранного профиля вы можете изменять мелодии звонка, тон клавиш и их громкость. Для входящих вызовов и сообщений можно назначать не только стандартные звуки, но и любые закачанные мелодии. Вибровызов может срабатывать одновременно со звуком.

В настройках дисплея можно выбирать желаемый облик экрана – контрастность, фоновую картинку, хранитель экрана, режим экономии батарейки. В режиме ожидания можно изменять цвет текста, а для режима сообщений и web-браузера – выбирать размер шрифта.

Здесь же указывается дата и время, а также изменяются настройки навигационных и правой soft-клавиши.

Запас памяти у Nokia 2626 довольно скромный – 3 Мб на все про все. Впрочем, учитывая, что в аппарате нет ни MP3-плеера, ни встроенной камеры, этого вполне достаточно. Тем более что для передачи у аппарата даже ИК-порта не предусмотрено.


Впечатления

По качеству связи модель типична для Nokia – никаких проблем со звуком не возникало. Громкость 24-тонального полифонического динамика достаточная, чтобы услышать его в различных условиях. В качестве мелодий вызова поддерживаются файлы в формате MP3 и MIDI, а кроме того, есть возможность установить в качестве звонка диктофонную запись. Виброзвонок не очень мощный, через плотную одежду его можно не почувствовать.

В целом, для своей категории модель получилась очень даже неплохая. А по запасу стандартных приложений даже опережает многие аналоги. Стоит она порядка 90 долларов и конкурирует в первую очередь с бюджетными решениями от Sony Ericsson – J230, J120, J110, J100, простейшими моделями Motorola – С168, W208 и Samsung SGH-C240.

Маргарита Мокшина (margo.mokshina@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 13 марта 2007 г.

 

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

17.08.2017 «Яндекс» покажет контент сайта без перехода по ссылке

17.08.2017 Житель Тамбова попал в финансовый отчет МТС

17.08.2017 LG V30 на пресс-фото со всех сторон

17.08.2017 HMD Global представила Android флагман – Nokia 8

17.08.2017 Google приобрела белорусский стартап Aimatter

17.08.2017 «Билайн» предлагает Samsung Galaxy по выгодной цене при оплате услуг связи

16.08.2017 Дизайн Facebook изменится

16.08.2017 За баллы «Активного Гражданина» можно отремонтировать технику

16.08.2017 World of Tanks зазвучит по-новому

16.08.2017 Vodafone Украина представила безлимитные 3G тарифы

16.08.2017 Игровые программируемые роботы UBTech добрались до России

16.08.2017 В России продавцов поддельных ждунов ждет штраф

16.08.2017 Мобильные новинки ASUS на качественных пресс-рендерах

16.08.2017 МТС вернёт до 30 процентов стоимости смартфонов на кошелек абонента

Hit

15.08.2017 Официальные видео BLUBOO S8: узнать больше об аппарате

15.08.2017 Билл Гейтс сделал крупнейшее пожертвование на благотворительность с начала века

15.08.2017 М.Видео: Россияне стали покупать смартфоны чаще, чем в докризисном 2014 году

Hit

15.08.2017 Битва флагманов от Рокетбанка: Голосуй и выигрывай!

15.08.2017 ZTE Blade Z MAX – недорогой фаблет с двойной камерой и сканером отпечатков пальцев

15.08.2017 ФАС: только один оператор из «большой четвёрки» согласился отменить внутрисетевой роуминг

Hit

15.08.2017 Посиделки по вторникам №175. Бесполезная автоматическая яркость

15.08.2017 Фитнес браслет Samsung Gear Fit2 Pro теперь могут использовать и профессиональные пловцы

14.08.2017 Google объявит название Android O 21 августа

14.08.2017 Итоги второго квартала для HTC

14.08.2017 Meizu M6 Note будет представлен 23 августа

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.