facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

Review GSM-handset LG KG800 Chocolate

Standard kit:

  • Handset;
  • Charger;
  • Users guide;
  • CD with software for phonebook synchronization, connectivity applications and various content;
  • USB-wire;
  • Travel charger;
  • Carrying bag;
  • Earphones;
  • A remote control with 3.5 mm jack for operating the media player and the microphone;
  • Two protective films for the front panel;
  • Bluetooth-headset (optionally);
  • A trinket with foam-rubber for cleaning the phone, on the other side.

Now, when the veil of the mystery was lifted, we can finally take a better glance at what these Chocolate, Black Label commercials were keeping back.

Over the very recent times, LG Electronics has been practicing the policy when potential have no idea of index of an upcoming model, but its affiliation with Black Label series. And the first model coming from Black Label line-up to appear on the European (May, 3rd) and CIS markets (May, 8th and 12th) was a slider. The handset stands out for its fancy design with touch keypad and feature pack.

Before launching the Chocolate Phone into Europe, the manufacturer had been testing it out in Korea, where it turned out to be an overwhelming success during the first three months more than 300 thousands of these handsets were sold countrywide. To make the scale of its popularity clear, let us turn to the figures and simply say: that amount makes nearly 7% of the entire Korean market. Thus, stirred up with that, the company took the decision to widen audience coverage and expand Black Labels boundaries from the home market only to the US, Australia and Europe.

Having read or caught a glimpse of available information on the Chocolate product line, you are likely to have no luck with picking out technical specifications as a matter of fact, phrases like Black Label series, Chocolate and Magic touch are everything youre going to find.

Black Label a series of handsets coming in black with glossy, mirror-like finishing, featuring only safe materials and lead-free solder.

Chocolate Phones phones, appearance-wise reminding of a bar of black chocolate.

Magic Touch a commercial title of the technology applied to handsets with finger-tip control. The controls themselves are covered with compounds of silver.

Integrating, these mysterious titles attract everyones attention. The Chocolate Phone, which is the main subject of this review, is really an eye-grabbing thing, making people wonder whether it is a phone in your hands, and if yes, why it lacks buttons? But once the spring mechanism has revealed the controls, the initial astonishment turns into stupor. And it normal, firstly because this is a handset after all, but the numeric keys are laid out as if it was a chess-board; but secondly! Once unsprung, the flat, glossy becomes an easily distinguishable cell phone, as the controls mounted on the top half get lit up with red.

The efforts of the designers will be estimated at their true worth by anyone, who only grasps this handset. Basically, neither iF Design Award nor Red dot Design Award jury could withstand it, so the Chocolates box shows off two medals awarded by these associations.

Nevertheless, its time to put the dithyrambs aside and see what caused such sensation and why LG pays so much attention to this series.

The enormously rich standard kit is packed up in an appealing black box, which appears to be made of cloth at the first glance.

When getting a grip on the handset, the very first thing grabbing your eyes is a silver rectangle with rounded corners, since it is the only prominent thing on the front; the top rim, right above the display holds a horizontal opening with black loudspeakers grill placed into it.

Video, outlook of the handset (mov, 16.8 Mb)>>>

The handset is switched on by pressing the key found on the right side. In fact this is the first time LG uses a special power button. The phone can be turned on when closed; yet in order to prevent accidental shutting offs in pockets, the developers made it possible to switch the device off only when it is open.

Video, outlook and operation with the handset (mov, 21.4 Mb)>>>

This is the way the phone starts up: at first the greeting screen shows WOWLG portal ad, afterwards the dark-red backlighting gets activated overall it takes 30 seconds for the handset to become fully operational. Next to the power button you will find a dedicated button standing for Multimedia menu (MP3, camera). Newly developed interface connector, sealed up with a plastic stub, is positioned on the top it is compatible with USB-cable, charger and stereo-handset. The company has knowingly left out all other jacks, since it does not overcrowd the casing and allows using the released space in a better way in the first place, and on top of that one wont need to memorize which jack means what. And finally, all future models located in the price brackets from middle to the most luxurious will be carrying exactly this interface, so that all accessories will be interchangeable be it chargers or headphones.

The opposite side houses another rocker key for locking the phone by double pressing. Apart from this it doubles as scroller, volume key in standby mode (tunes volume) or during a call (voice volume).

The other sides lack any controls or jacks, in light of using the brand new interface connector.

Having looked on the rear you will find it being absolutely flat with only exception of battery cover, which is well-tuned and exposes no gap.

Pushing the top half forward, you will notice that the phone smoothly slides up to the stop with an audible click the same sound you will hear when closing the phone. On opening the keypad and controls get lit in red, matching the wallpapers, which feature the same black-red color combination.

By default the phone holds six pictures all they harmonically fit the stylish image of the entire Black Label and Chocolate Phones masterpiece design in particular. The display measures 5 cm (2 inches, 3140 mm) in diagonal, therefore appears quite big. Its capable of displaying up to 262 K colors and conforms to those, embedded in the latest solutions by LG while reading that you might have thought of sharp picture and great viewing angles, and that holds true for this unit as well.

The numeric buttons are laid out very close to each other, yet this doesnt bring impediments to working with them. Each pad is slightly bulging and has its own texture, so their composition is something chessboard-looking.

The rear of sliding half holds the camera module, as well as a tiny mirror and LED flash. On closer examination of the spring mechanism, it turns out to be somewhat different from that found on LG M6100 and most likely should be less exposed to getting soiled.

So that is all I have to say about Chocolate Phones appearance, saving for the silver edging along the casing and touch keys.

Touch keys pros and cons

Since all mechanical parts in a handset or any other gadget are exposed to wear and tear, the LGs engineers have chosen the other route and armed their fashion models with touch keys.

But what is so good about them?

First of all outlook, they appear really cool and luxurious, in fact I can hardly imagine Chocolate Phone with some other kind of keys.

The next fetching thing - no moving details and thus almost no malfunctions and soiling, such common for standard buttons.

And the last but not the least room saving, as there is no need in rubber framings and plate.

Also, having touch buttons on your phone, you can forget about accidental presses, which frequently happen when carrying the phone in skin-tight cloths, right away. Key lock may be set up to ignore any presses even those of side buttons, when the handset is closed. The keypad gets blocked once the sliding half has covered it, so after that there are two ways of removing the lock by unspringing the phone or double pressing the side-mounted rocker key. This means the handset remains operational even when closed.

The sensors in the touch buttons react even to fading presses, so consequentially typing speed will increase, but in case youve gotten used to this system, yet it doesnt take to long an hour or two at worst.

Menu

The software part is alike that of the latest releases by LG. The menu has the appearance of a grid with 9 animated icons.

Video, handsets menu (mov, 15.9 Mb)>>>

We wont particularize each item on the menu, because you can read exactly the same facts in reviews of P7200, M6100, M4410 wed rather focus your attention on the most interesting capabilities, as the only distinguishable difference between the Chocolate Phone and an ordinary LG phone is extended standby mode, featuring fast access menu, similar to that of Motorola or Nokia (Series 40 Third Edition).

Phonebook can store 1000 contacts at once each entry is limited to 40 symbols in length, regardless of chosen language, and 4 telephone numbers (mobile, work, home, fax). There are also e-mail address field, group (one of seven available, which can be renamed) and image (7272 pixels). Amount of symbols in search line equal to that of maximally enabled for name field. This handset is powered by a technology applied to several other phones by LG answering machine. There are two pre-set answer types with two more available for filling. Triggering time of this function 3, 5 or 10 seconds..

Those who tend to communicate using primarily SMS services will be pleased with memory reserved for these purposes 150 SMS, 100 MMS and 110 (eMail). Maximum size of a MMS is 100 Kb, eMail 100 Kb on sending and 300 Kb on uploading. While typing a text message you can change font color, style, size, background and alignment. The phone saves all attachments found in eMail, besides there is a possibility for sending files in any extension from the phones memory.

The built-in media player works with MP3, AAC, AAC+, AAC++, WMA; 3GP, MP4. The phone handles TXT-files as well the provided app allows choosing one of seven languages or setting auto detection.

Sound quality with the default earphones plugged in is a little higher than average. While volume of MP3 and WMA files depends on given tune, polyphonic melodies sound a bit quite. In view of there is only a single loudspeaker integrated into the phone, all ring tones, music and voices go through it. The silent alarm triggers simultaneously with tune regardless of its format. Already set equalizers settings let you pick one of the following schemes: Classic, Jazz, Pop, Rock, Bass or Standard. The video player plays back clips only in minimized mode and is capable of skipping videos forward/backward. Both audio and video players cannot be switched to working in background.

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

 

  (+) maximize, 1280x960, JPEG

 

Sample 1 (3GP, 136 Kb)

Sample 2 (3GP, 298 Kb)

Settings, the last item on the menu, contains options for adjusting date and time, display (brightness, backlighting time with power saving mode available), menu style, network name, home screen label and dial font type. This section holds connectivity setup, including Bluetooth 1.2, Modem, Network and GPRS. Answer mode is also founded here, allowing you to choose from three possible way of picking up: slide up, any key (once the handsets been opened), send key only. No call can be received while the phone is closed due to several reasons: first of all in order to prevent random pick ups; when unsprung, microphone and loudspeaker are located on level of your mouth and ear respectively; and finally the handset looks really great when it is open. The touch pad gets locked for the time while you are receiving a call, so any accidental presses are excluded. Whether it is for the better or worse its all up to you.

The phone also features a couple of Security settings, like PIN-code request, handset lock, as well as call barring, fixed dial number, security code each items shows off wide range of available

Impressions

First things first the manufacturer has managed to break the bank exactly where it wanted to; personally, I have failed to find someone thinking the design looks homely. But the other companies are not folding either the closest competitor to this handset will be the upcoming Samsung E900. Despite being a true feature power-house, its appearance matches that of all latest models by Samsung, although it has several touch buttons to offer.

LG has already spent, and most certainly will spend even more on advertising campaign to make sure everyone is aware of its new eye-grabbing solution. Here are some plans on the campaign: all points of purchase, proposing Chocolate Phones will be equipped with special stands, leaflets, telling potential consumers about Black Label series; all countries have already individual portal made beforehand at the release on the Ukrainian market (4 days after official presentation in Russia), LG launches an updates version of its international site http://www.lgmobile.com.

Few weeks ago (4th of May) CNN had Mister Ham, president of Europe division Mobile Communication Company LG Electronics Inc.) in their morning news, he was being interviewed about Chocolate Phone. And in case my memory doesnt fail me, this is the first time when CNN was speaking about a mobile phone in their news.

Depending on success on the CIS and European markets, the company may take a decision to launch more of Black Label series, Chocolate Phones in particular, photos of which have already been spotted on the net, as well as the recently announced LG KV6000 aimed at the Korean market only.

The price for Chocolate Phone will vary in the range from 500$ to 650$ depending on region.

Note by the Editor-in-Chief. This is the first time I can recall, when LG altered standard kit of its handset and basically included almost every handy accessory currently available. The very first glance at the box, where each part has its own place, makes you believe that it is worth the money. Even though we wont guarantee you amazements or admiring gazes from other people in the street, we assure you of receiving enough covert glances. Comparing this model with LG W510 I shall note that they have some bits in common, namely their significance each in its time. The handset seems very appealing design and composition-wise, by that I mean everything, starting from ring tones, wallpapers to the headphones found in the box. Its a rare occasion to see such in all manners balanced product. That is how come its price is affected not by the specifications, which are quite moderate, but the stylishness and appearance. Generally speaking LG makes its first steps in the field of fashion handsets, even taking account of earlier attempts to seem a major player on the fashion market. The Chocolates sale rates will be strongly depending on operators activity, namely Vodafone, which is scheduling a massive advertising campaign, looking for boosting the sales. In Russia the phone may be able to find its niche, but I wouldnt recommend expecting enormous rates, since the manufacturer takes up a minor share of the market, and what is more, Samsungs very own E900, an obvious opponent for the KG800 is coming in June, which has way to go in terms of design, yet significantly overcomes LGs handset functionality-wise. Considering almost similar expenses on promoting these two solutions, you could note that the E900 is more likely to be a bigger success in retail chains, while the KG800 looks marvelous and will appeal to those, seeking for fresh ideas in design and not paying much of attention to the manufacturers size or image. And this phone fits all these criteria.

Alexandr Ivanik (tornado_kiev@ukr.net)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 24 May 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Версия для печати

Обзор GSM-телефона LG KG800 Chocolate

Комплектация телефона:

  • Телефон;
  • Аккумулятор;
  • Инструкция на русском/английском языках;
  • CD диск с программным обеспечением для синхронизации телефонной книги, использования телефона в качестве модема и контент;
  • USB-кабель;
  • Переносное зарядное устройство;
  • Замшевая сумочка;
  • Наушники;
  • Пульт с 3.5 мм разъемом, кнопками для управления плеером и микрофоном;
  • Две защитные пленки на лицевую панель телефона;
  • Bluetooth-гарнитура (опционально);
  • Брелок, с обратной стороны которого находится поролон для протирания телефона.

Занавес тайны приоткрыт, и теперь можно увидеть, что же скрывалось за загадочной рекламой Chocolate, Black Label.

Компания LG Electronics выводит на рынок новые модели телефонов, название которых не афиширует. Все, что пользователь должен знать, это то, что модели принадлежат к классу Black Label. Первым из серии Black Label на рынки Европы (3 мая) и стран СНГ (8 и 12 мая) вышел слайдер. Телефон уникален своим дизайном, сенсорными кнопками и имеет неплохую функциональность.

Перед тем как презентовать Chocolate Phone на рынках Европы, компания уже полгода продавала его в Корее. Его популярность была высока. За первые три месяца было продано свыше 300 тысяч телефонов или 7 % от всего рынка Кореи. Она и подтолкнула производителя расширить область влияния Black Label и продавать аппарат не только на внутреннем рынке, но и в Америке, Австралии, Европе.

Прочитав или увидев любую доступную информацию о модельном ряде Chocolate, вы вряд ли найдете характеристики или описание технических подробностей, все, что доступно, это все те же Black Label series, Chocolate и фраза – Magic touch или Магическое прикосновение.

Black Label – это серия телефонов, выполненных в черном цвете, с глянцевой зеркальной поверхностью, в которых используются безвредные материалы корпуса, а также применяется бессвинцовая пайка.

Chocolate Phones – телефоны, которые своим видом, некоторыми элементами дизайна напоминают плитку черного шоколада.

Magic Touch – коммерческое название технологии, использованной в мобильных телефонах с сенсорным управлением. Сами элементы управления покрыты соединениями серебра.

Все это вместе составляет одно целое и привлекает внимание окружающих. Chocolate Phone, о котором идет речь в этой статье, действительно притягивает взгляды своей внешностью, людям интересно понять, что у тебя в руках вроде бы телефон, но почему без кнопок? Но стоит им увидеть, как скользят половинки по отношению друг к другу, как удивление перерастает в ступор. Первая из причин – это все-таки телефон, и видны цифровые клавиши в виде шахматной доски. Но вторая!.. На сдвижной части красным цветом загорелась еще часть кнопок. Таким образом, плоская черная лакированная поверхность превратилась в телефон!

Работу дизайнеров оценит любой пользователь, который увидит, подержит телефон в руках, и вряд ли останется равнодушным, как не остались равнодушными жюри двух дизайнерских ассоциаций, где Chocolate Phone получил награды за лучший дизайн – iF Design Award и Red dot Design Award, о чем свидетельствует надпись внизу коробки.

Давайте рассмотрим, что именно вызвало столько шума, и почему компания LG уделяет этой серии так много внимания.

Все это упаковано в красивую черную коробку, тактильные ощущения от которой, как от тканевой материи.

Когда берешь телефон в руки, обращаешь внимание на серебристый прямоугольник с закругленными углами, потому что это единственное, что выделяется на лицевой панели. В самом верху, над дисплеем, находится горизонтальная прорезь с черной сеточкой для динамика.

Видео, внешний вид аппарата (mov, 16.8 Мб)>>>

Телефон включается нажатием боковой клавиши с правой стороны. Это первый раз, когда в телефонах LG применяется отдельная кнопка для включения/выключения телефона. Но если включить телефон можно, не открывая его, то выключить, в целях безопасности, можно только в раскрытом состоянии. Это сделано для того, чтобы в кармане телефон не выключился случайно.

Видео, внешний вид и работа с аппаратом (mov, 21.4 Мб)>>>

Сначала загорается дисплей с информацией о сайте wowlg, потом включается подсветка навигационного блока, она темно-красного цвета. Спустя 30 секунд после включения телефон полностью готов к работе. Рядом с кнопкой включения находится кнопка вызова меню Мультимедиа (МР3, камера, видеокамера). В самом верху находится новый тип интерфейсного гнезда, прикрытый пластиковой заглушкой, куда подключается USB-кабель, штекер зарядного устройства и стереогарнитура. Компания сознательно пошла на использование одного гнезда. Во-первых, это не перегружает телефон и позволяет оптимально использовать сэкономленное место, во-вторых, теперь не придется путаться в разъемах. В-третьих, во всех последующих моделях, начиная со среднего ценового диапазона и до самых дорогих моделей, будет использоваться именно такой интерфейсный разъем, что позволит унифицировать аксессуары, в частности, зарядные устройства и наушники.

Ровно там же, но с другой стороны (слева), находится другая спаренная клавиша. Она отвечает за разблокировку телефона (верхняя или нижняя) двойным нажатием. Кроме этого, она помогает пролистывать меню и регулировать громкость во время разговора, в режиме ожидания или громкость мелодии звонка.

На торцах телефона нет абсолютно ничего, что является следствием использования нового типа интерфейсного разъема.

Тыльная часть телефона абсолютно ровная и лишена каких-либо привлекающих взгляд зацепок, кроме аккумулятора, который вплотную прилегает к корпусу, у него нет люфта.

Подтолкнув верхнюю половинку вверх, вы увидите, что телефон плавно открывается до упора с металлическим щелчком. Точно такой же щелчок вы услышите при закрытии телефона. При открытии загорается подсветка дисплея и сенсорный блок клавиш. Обои для дисплея специально подобраны в черно-красных тонах.

Всего изначально в телефоне установлено шесть картинок. Все они гармонично вписываются в общий стиль Black Label и дизайн Chocolate Phone. Диагональ дисплея – 5 сантиметров (2 дюйма, 31х40 мм), что позволяет ему не казаться маленьким или, наоборот, большим. Экран способен отображать 262 тысячи цветов и полностью идентичен тем, что устанавливаются в последних моделях LG, что в свою очередь говорит о хорошем и четком изображении и углах обзора.

Цифровые клавиши плотно прилегают друг к другу, но это не мешает комфортной работе с ними. Подушечки каждой клавиши выпуклые и имеют разную фактуру, отчего они похожи на доску для шахмат.

Тыльная сторона сдвижной части имеет выступающий блок камеры. На этом блоке можно увидеть объектив камеры, зеркальце и светодиодную вспышку. Если присмотреться к механизму слайдера, то можно заметить, что он отличается от такового в LG M6100 и должен меньше забиваться пылинками, что становится серьезной проблемой при открытии/закрытии телефона.

Вот, собственно, и все о дизайне Chocolate Phone, не считая серебристого обода по всей площади телефона и сенсорных клавиш.

Принцип работы сенсорных клавиш

Поскольку механические части, будь-то телефона, магнитофона или любой другой техники, имеют свойство выходить из строя, инженеры пошли по другому пути и впервые решили использовать в своих имиджевых моделях сенсорные клавиши.

Чем же они так хороши?

Первое – внешность. Chocolate Phone трудно представить себе с обычными клавишами.

Второе – нет никаких движущихся частей, что не влечет за собой поломку или забивание клавиш пылью, что всегда случается с обычными кнопками и впоследствии сказывается при работе с телефоном.

Третье – экономия места, поскольку не надо использовать плату, резиновые прокладки и т. п.

Также применение сенсорных кнопок позволило не беспокоиться о случайных нажатиях клавиш в кармане, что иногда случается, если носить телефон в плотно прилегающей одежде. Блокировку телефона можно настроить таким образом, что телефон в закрытом состоянии не будет реагировать ни на одну из клавиш, в том числе на кнопку-качель с левой стороны. Клавиатура блокируется сразу после закрытия телефона, и разблокировать ее можно двумя способами: открыв телефон или двойным нажатием боковой клавиши. То есть работать с телефоном можно и в закрытом состоянии.

Сенсоры срабатывают от легкого прикосновения. Скорость работы сенсорных клавиш субъективно выше, чем обычных, но для этого придется потратить час-два на то чтобы отвыкнуть от нажатий в привычном стиле.

Меню

Программная часть телефона характерна для последних моделей LG. Меню телефона состоит из 9 анимированных иконок.

Видео, меню аппарата (mov, 15.9 Мб)>>>

Описывать каждый пункт меню мы не будем, вы можете посмотреть статьи о последних моделях, таких, как P7200, M6100, M4410, а остановимся только на самых интересных частях. Единственное отличие между Chocolate Phone и обычными LG заключается в том, что в режиме ожидания на экран можно выводить Экранное меню. На дисплей выводится меню быстрого доступа, как в телефонах Motorola или Nokia (Series 40 Third Edition).

Телефонная книга рассчитана на 1000 имен. Для каждого из имен отведено 40 символов, независимо от языка ввода, 4 номера телефонов (мобильный, рабочий, домашний, факс), поле для электронного адреса, группа (одна из семи, названия можно менять) и фотография (72х72 точки). Поиск в телефонной книге возможен как на латинице, так и на кириллице. Количество символов в поле «поиск» ограничено максимальной длиной имени. Традиционно для некоторых моделей LG в телефоне имеется Автоответчик. В нем уже есть три установленных режима ответа и два пользовательских, запись к которым можно сделать самому. Время включения автоответчика – 3, 5 или 10 секунд.

Людям, которые привыкли много общаться с помощью сообщений, понравится, что их максимальное количество – 150 SMS, 100 MMS и 110 электронных писем (eMail). Максимальный размер MMS-сообщения – 100 Кб, электронного письма – 100 Кб при отправке и 300 Кб при загрузке. В текстовых сообщениях можно менять цвет шрифта, его стиль, размер, фон и выравнивание. Телефон позволяет сохранять любые вложения, полученные с помощью электронной почты. Кроме этого, можно отправлять файлы любого расширения из мультимедийной памяти телефона.

Плеер телефона воспроизводит: MP3, AAC, AAC+, AAC++, WMA – аудиопроигрыватель, 3GP, MP4 – видеопроигрыватель. Также телефон умеет работать с TXT-файлами. Утилита для чтения TXT-файлов позволяет менять язык на один из 7 возможных или выбирать его автоматическое определение.

Качество воспроизведения музыки в штатных наушниках – чуть выше среднего. Громкость полифонических мелодий (MIDI, MMF) – выше средней. Громкость MP3-, WMA-файлов зависит от подобранной мелодии. Поскольку динамик в телефоне один, мелодии вызова, плеера и голос собеседника воспроизводятся через него. Виброзвонок работает вместе с мелодией, независимо от её формата. Предустановленные настройки эквалайзера позволяют выбирать между Классическим, Джазовым, Поп, Рок, Бас и Основным воспроизведением. Видеоплеер проигрывает видео только в портретном режиме и может перематывать ролики вперед/назад. Оба плеера не могут работать в фоновом режиме.

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

 

  (+) увеличить, 1280x960, JPEG

 

Пример 1 (3GP, 136 Кб)

Пример 2 (3GP, 298 Кб)

Настройки, последний из пунктов меню, позволяют настроить дату, время, дисплей, его яркость и время подсветки, экономичный режим (выключается подсветка клавиатуры и уменьшается яркость), стиль меню, отображение имени сети, приветствия, а также шрифт при наборе номера. Здесь же находятся настройки Соединений – Bluetooth 1.2, Модем, Сеть и GPRS. Настройка Режим ответа находится в шестом подпункте. Варианты, при которых Вы сможете ответить на звонок, можно выбирать из трех возможных. Первый – открытие слайдера, второй – любой клавишей (тоже только после открытия телефона), третий – только клавишей «Вызов» (аналогично предыдущему). Ответить на звонок с закрытым телефоном нельзя по трем причинам: в целях избежания случайного «поднятия» трубки, когда телефон находится в кармане или чехле; в открытом состоянии динамик и микрофон находятся на уровне уха и рта соответственно; из соображений имиджевости. Сенсорная панель блокируется во время разговора как при раскрытом слайдере, так и при сложенном, поэтому случайные нажатия исключаются. Решать, минус это или нет, только пользователям.

Телефон имеет несколько настроек Безопасности. Запрос PIN-кода, блокировка телефона при включении телефона или смене SIM-карты. Запрет вызовов – все исходящие, международные, исходящие международные, все входящие, входящие при роуминге. Разрешить дозвон только на определенные номера, сменить Код безопасности (0000).


Впечатления

Начнем с самого начала. То, на что компания-производитель делает ставку, удалось, в крайнем случае, я не встретил никого, кого дизайн телефона оставил бы равнодушным. Но другие производители тоже не дремлют. Ближайшим конкурентом будет Samsung E900. Телефон выигрывает в функциональности, тоже имеет несколько сенсорных кнопок для управления плеером, но выглядит как все последние телефоны Samsung.

LG потратила, и еще потратит, довольно большие деньги на то чтобы рекламу этого телефона увидели все. Все точки продаж Chocolate Phones будут иметь специальные подставки, брошюры и буклеты о серии Black Label. Для всех стран подготовлены отдельные сайты, и в момент презентации телефона в Украине, через 4 дня после России, начинает работу обновленный международный сайт http://www.lgmobile.com.

Буквально неделю назад (4 мая) на канале CNN в утренних новостях мистер Хам, президент Европейского отдела мобильной связи (Mr. Ham, President of Europe division Mobile Communication Company LG Electronics Inc.), давал интервью о Chocolate Phone. Если мне не изменяет память, это первый случай, чтобы в новостях CNN рассказывали о мобильном телефоне.

В зависимости от успехов и продаж на территории стран СНГ, компания будет выводить новые модели серии Black Label, в частности, Chocolate Phone, фотографии которых уже проскакивали в сети, а также недавно анонсированную модель для корейского рынка LG KV6000.

Стоимость Chocolate Phone будет колебаться от 500 $ до 650 $, в зависимости от страны.

Примечание главного редактора. Компания LG впервые на моей памяти изменила комплектацию телефона для конкретной модели и продумала комплект поставки до мелочей. С первого момента знакомства с коробкой и самим телефоном, тем, как все разложено по отделениям, начинаешь понимать, что аппарат недешев. В повседневной жизни слишком уж заинтересованных взглядов со стороны окружающих не будет, умеренно заинтересованные – возможно. Сравнивая дизайн этой модели с LG W510, нахожу, что они несут одинаковый заряд, каждый в свое время. Модель удачна именно по стилю исполнения, по тому, как подобрали отдельные элементы, будь то мелодии звонка, обои или наушники, входящие в комплект. Крайне редко производителям удается достичь такой гармонии. Отсюда вытекает и то, что стоимость аппарата оценивается, исходя не из его технических характеристик, которые вполне привычны и обыденны, а из дизайна, модности. В этом сегменте LG – новичок, хотя компания и пыталась позиционировать себя как производителя модных телефонов. Оценивать будущие продажи «Шоколадки» в Европе тяжело, тут многое зависит от активности операторов, в частности, Vodafone, который будет активно продвигать этот аппарат. В России судьба у аппарата может быть счастливой, но ожидать огромных продаж не стоит в силу маленькой доли производителя на рынке, неверия в его продукты на массовом рынке, да и выхода конкурирующего Samsung E900 в июне. Продукт от Samsung выше на голову функционально, но дизайн слабоват, невзрачен. Учитывая аналогичные затраты на продвижение этих продуктов, можно говорить о паритете в розничных сетях. Продукт от LG интересен, и на него стоит обратить внимание тем, кто ищет интересное дизайнерское решение, а на величину фирмы или ее имидж не обращает внимания. Этот телефон того стоит.

Александр Иванык (tornado_kiev@ukr.net)
Опубликовано — 15 мая 2006 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

28.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона Micromax Canvas juice A1 plus

Hit

28.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор HTC U Play

28.04.2017 «ВКонтакте» начал выдавать симки своего оператора связи в регионах

28.04.2017 В России стартовали продажи новых флагманских смартфонов Samsung Galaxy S8 и S8+

28.04.2017 Новые модели в линейке ноутбуков 2-в-1 Acer Switch

28.04.2017 ФАС завела административное дело на российскую «дочку» Apple за координацию цен на iPhone

28.04.2017 Acer Leap Ware — новая модель смарт-часов для фитнеса

Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор камеры Nikon KeyMission 360

Hit

27.04.2017 Видео на канале: Ваня Чебанов, MacBook Pro, Touch Bar и Logic Pro X

27.04.2017 iPhone 8 не будет?

27.04.2017 В Telegram появятся платежи

27.04.2017 Во время второго пришествия Samsung Galaxy Note 7 подешевеет на 250 долларов

27.04.2017 Отечественный софт должен быть совместим с ОС Sailfish

27.04.2017 Приложение «Мосгорпасс» заработало в тестовом режиме

27.04.2017 Alibaba запустит в России собственный платежный сервис

27.04.2017 В Госдуму внесен законопроект об усилении контроля за продажей SIM карт

27.04.2017 LG опубликовала финансовые результаты своей деятельной за прошедший первый квартал 2017 года

27.04.2017 Новые учебные программы от Apple стартуют в мае во всём мире в её региональных магазинах Apple Store

27.04.2017 Samsung объявила финансовые результаты за первый квартал 2017 года

26.04.2017 OnePlus 5 появился на рендерах

26.04.2017 iPhone 8 может задержаться с выходом из-за поставщиков комплектующих

26.04.2017 В ближайшие два года Xiaomi выйдет на рынок США

Hit

26.04.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Alcatel A3 enjoy now

26.04.2017 Lenovo может закрыть свой суббренд ZUK

26.04.2017 Skylink обновляет тарифную линейку

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.