facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Alcatel OT E-805

Live photo of Alcatel OT E-805

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Charger
  • Wired headset (with FM-radio and 3.5 mm jack for the Russian market)
  • MicroSD memory card (ships with 256, 512, 1024 Mb cards or without)
  • User guide
  • miniUSB data cable

Alcatels approach to new products creation has altered recently, as relatively expensive materials are used in budget handsets changing their quality for the better. Setting out to survive on the market with such an enormous competition Alcatel is bold enough to create super-low-end modules for the niches that are all the rage these days, for example the E-801 has become the most affordable music phone on the market to date. Of course, we could harp on the phones being only a partly music-heavy offering, and its sound quality yielding to that of other models, but one thing is for sure up until now it has got no rivals in 120-130 USD price-bracket. As its update, the company offers the E-805 packing a handful of interesting features.

There is nothing unusual about the handsets design; it is standard candy-bar, whose lower-than-average price can be easily identified by the missing navigation pad. At the same time, the materials used are highly competitive with those of top-echelon offerings. Made of soft touch plastic the phone does not slip in your hands and feels good when held. The phone measures up at 96.5x54x17.5 mm, while weighs 75 grams. The built quality is brilliant, no gaps, spongy feel or other problems that can spoil your quality time with handset.

Download video (mpg, 9.8 Mb)>>>

The casing is colored in black but the glossy rim around the screen may vary. It comes in three trims brick-red, iron and emerald (which we managed to get our hands on).

The display cannot boast any newsworthy highlights. Utilizing cSTN-matrix, it shows 65 K colors at 128x128 pixels resolution, which allows up to 6 text lines and 2 service lines. The picture is not sharp enough and looks dirty to some extent. Taking into account that the device comes from the low-end segment, it is something we have come to expect from the display, however it is evidently inferior to the many other screens of similarly positioned, yet released earlier, offerings.

The keypad is brightly lit in red, making it well-visible in different environments. The dent in the centre of the keypad makes handling the buttons a cinch. Generally speaking, the keypad is comfortable enough, but the absence of navigational key is really disappointing. Perhaps it is not that essential, keeping in mind how unsophisticated the handset is.

The left spine houses three dedicated music keys with the help of which you can start playback of tracks anytime. FM-radio comes included with the E-805 only thanks to the default headset, solely used for managing the radio.

The slot placed on the casing is meant for microSD cards, although all sources insist on support for miniSD cards, however this is not true. Cards up to 1 Gb big can be easily swapped on a working device. The socket flap is made of rubber and firmly linked up with the casing.

Under the back cover is 650 mAh Li-Ion battery, but as the manufacturer claims, the battery life makes up 10 hours of talk time and up to 250 hours of standby. In the conditions of Moscow networks the handset lasted for about 3 days at 30 minutes of calls with only a couple of messages and 1.5 hours of music listening. At full blast music kept playing for 7.5 hours straight. It takes the E-805 1.5 hours to charge from empty to full.

MiniUSB slot is placed on the lower end, which is not particularly convenient, when it comes to plugging in a headset. With a USB data cable plugged in, you should enable connection with PC to launch USB Mass Storage mode (data transfer speed to the memory card reaches 300Kb/s).

Menu

The menu layout is dead-simple, since it is a budget solution, the menu is displayed in the list mode. The menu lacks shortcut navigation, but here it is not essential here because of the quite poor set of menu items.

Phonebook. Up to 255 numbers can be stored in the phone's memory. Each contact allows for submitting only one phone number. Groups are also supported, for each of them you are free to assign ring tone as well as a tune for SMS-messages. In general list you can make use of only of the first-letters search. As matter of fact the E-806s phonebook can not boast any extended functionality.

Messages. When typing in a message you can to use predicative text input mode; there are templates available as well (up to 15 of user-manageable). Created message may be sent to several phone numbers including those stored in the phone book.

Sounds. Here you can select the type of alert (ring tone, vibrator, vibrator and ring tone, vibrator and then ring tone, vibrator then beep and ring tone, silence), volume and ring tone. Special tune for SMS as well as for the alarm clock and the device turn on /off may also be selection in this section.

Display. Allows picking wallpaper, menu color scheme, adjusting contrast and screen-saver.

Settings. From this menu USB-connection is activated, you are free to set the time for automatic switch-off, customize time as well as view words added to the dictionary.

Calls. This menu is quite standard, settings for call forwarding as well as three call lists (each contains 20 entries) are found here.

Games. There are two games coming pre-installed with the E-805, one called Russia (tetris) and Bricks (arcade).

Tools. This menu item includes basic calculator and four alarm clocks, where only triggering time is the only customizable option.

Music Player. Music files can be stored only on the memory card in MP3 directory, play lists are not supported. You can go into shuffle and repeat modes, and even pick one of nine equalizers (Original, Classic, Pop, Bass, treble, Bass-tre, Rock, Dance). The user is enabled to select one of three player skins. Music is uploaded over USB connection, which should be activated manually.

The player presents you with only a few abilities, yet one shouldnt demand more from such budget solutions. In standby mode the screen shows track title and artist, rewind and fast forward are disabled on the E-805.

Impressions

There is no official information on how many voices the handsets polyphony module sports, yet Ill take the risk and make a guess that it has got 16 chords, which is indicated by tone values of other handsets built on this platform. To our surprise the ring tones are very audible, default tunes sound well and are a pleasure to listen. The ability to assign custom tracks as ring tones is also supported.

The quality of localization leaves much to be desired, fonts are drawn badly, differing in size and being overall slim, which makes it challenging to recognize whats written on the screen.

On the plus side, the quality of materials used as well as the design make it difficult to figure out that it is actually a low-end solution costing 120-130 USD. The handset belongs to budget class is aimed to provide with music those who are not ready to spend a large sum of money on a phone or player but at the same time not too sensitive to the sound quality and extra settings availability. The only now-marketed product with resembling positioning is Sony Ericsson W200, but at a price 200 $, it is the model with wholly different abilities, sound quality and a great headset coming boxed with it. We cannot say this offering wont succeed in replacing Alcatel OT E-801 it will certainly generate some sales, especially among youth, students and in some particular regions. Other manufacturers cannot offer music handset with such a lightweight price tag, thus the E-805 will have win some consumers hearts, if few. Once more Id like to emphasize that the quality of casing is a great advantage making the handset stand out against hordes of similar proposals available on the market.

Impossibility to purchase custom headphones as a replacement of the default ones is a letdown for the E-850, but the presence of the 3.5 jack slot on the original earphones partly solves this issue. If the original headset breaks down, you will face a real problem, as miniUSB-adapters do not work with this device. In short, the sound quality put up by the player can be given an average market, at that its volume is very limited. 

Three sales packages will arrive in the market, which will be set apart only by included memory card generally, the junior model will be the one with a 265 Mb one in the box and the senior offering will boast 1 Gb memory card. At the price range will remain pretty tight, when 10-12 USD will buy you the best available package instead of that with 265 Mb card inside. This means that if the lowest price for the version equipped with 256Mb will be worth 110-115 USD, then the senior variation will cost you about 130-140 USD.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Vera Paderina (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 02 March 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Alcatel OT E-805

Alcatel OT E-805 в интерьере

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Проводная стереогарнитура (для российского рынка с FM-радио, разъемом 3.5 мм)
  • Карта памяти microSD (возможны комплекты с картами 256, 512, 1024 Мб, а также без карты)
  • Инструкция
  • miniUSB-кабель

Подход компании Alcatel к созданию своих продуктов в последнее время сильно изменился, дорогие материалы используются и в самых бюджетных телефонах, что придает им иное качество. Чтобы выжить на рынке с огромной конкуренцией, в Alcatel не боятся создавать сверхбюджетные решения в рамках модных тем, например, модель E-801 стала самым доступным музыкальным аппаратом на рынке. Можно долго рассуждать, что телефон условно музыкален, уступает другим моделям по качеству звучания, но одно можно сказать наверняка – альтернатив этому аппарату в ценовой группе 120-130 долларов сегодня не существует. В качестве обновления у производителя готова модель E-805, которая имеет ряд интересных особенностей.

Дизайн аппарата не слишком необычен, это стандартный моноблок, его низкая стоимость видна по клавиатуре, точнее, по отсутствию навигационной клавиши. В то же время материалы корпуса под стать дорогим аппаратам, покрытие целиком soft touch, модель приятно лежит в руке, не скользит. Размер телефона – 96.5х45х17.5 мм, вес – 75 грамм. Качество исполнения аппарата на пять с плюсом, нет никаких люфтов частей, зазоров и тому подобных огрехов.

Видео, внешний вид и работа с меню (mpg, 9.8 Мб)>>>

Цвет корпуса черный, но может отличаться глянцевая вставка вокруг экрана, доступно три цветовых решения – кирпично-красное, стальное и изумрудное. Аппарат последнего цвета был у нас на тестировании.

Экран не может похвастаться какими-то особенностями, это cSTN-матрица, отображающая до 65000 цветов и имеющая разрешение 128х128 точек. Картинка выглядит на дисплее не слишком четкой, в какой-то мере грязновата. На экране помещается до 6 строк текста, плюс до двух служебных строк. Учитывая тот факт, что аппарат бюджетный, ожидать большего от экрана нельзя, но он явным образом уступает многим экранам в той же ценовой группе, но вышедшим ранее.

Клавиатура имеет подсветку ярко-красного цвета, она хорошо видна в различных условиях. Блок клавиш имеет выемку по центру, что делает работу с кнопками удобной, комфортной. В целом клавиатура удобна, расстраивает лишь, что нет навигационной клавиши, но при простоте аппарата это не так уж и нужно, наверное.

На левой боковой стороне находятся три музыкальных клавиши, с их помощью можно включить воспроизведение музыки в любой момент. Наличие FM-радио обусловлено исключительно гарнитурой, и все управление идет с нее же и только.

Разъем на корпусе предназначен для карт microSD, хотя во всех материалах говорится о поддержке miniSD-карт, но это не так. Поддерживается «горячая» замена карт памяти, объем карт до 1 Гб. Заглушка слота для карт из резины и прочно крепится к корпусу.

Под задней крышкой скрывается литий-ионный аккумулятор емкостью 650 мАч, по заявлению производителя, он способен обеспечить до 10 часов работы в режиме разговора и до 250 часов работы в режиме ожидания. В условиях московских сетей аппарат работал в среднем около  3 дней при 30 минутах разговоров, минимальном числе сообщений и до 1.5 часов прослушивания музыки в день. При максимальной громкости время непрерывного воспроизведения музыки составляет около 7.5 часов. Время полной зарядки аккумулятора – около 1.5 часов.

Разъем miniUSB находится на нижнем торце, это не всегда удобно с точки зрения подключения гарнитуры. При включенном кабеле USB необходимо активировать соединение с ПК, чтобы заработал режим USB Mass Storage (скорость передачи на карту – порядка 300 Кб/с).

Меню

Организация меню проста, это бюджетное решение, и, соответственно, главное меню представлено списком из вертикальных пунктов. Быстрой навигации нет, но она и не нужна здесь в силу малого количества разделов.

Телефонная книга. В памяти телефона можно сохранить до 255 имен, для каждого имени можно внести только один номер. Поддерживаются группы абонентов, для них можно установить свои мелодии звонка, а также мелодии для SMS-сообщений. В общем списке действует поиск по первой букве и только. В принципе, записная книжка этого аппарата не отличается широкими возможностями.

Сообщения. При вводе текста можно использовать предикативный ввод, есть шаблоны сообщений (до 15 своих шаблонов). Созданное сообщение можно отправить сразу на несколько номеров, в том числе выбрав их из телефонной книги.

Звуки. Здесь можно выбрать режим работы звонка (мелодия, вибрация, вибрация и звонок, вибрация затем звонок, вибрация затем beep и звонок, бесшумный режим), громкость, мелодию звонка. Для SMS-сообщений также можно выбрать свою мелодию, как и для будильника, а также включения-выключения аппарата.

Дисплей. Выбор обоев, цветового оформления экрана, контрастности, хранителя экрана.

Установки. Из меню необходимо активировать USB-подключение, можно выбрать автовключение телефона по расписанию, установить часы, просмотреть добавленные в словарь слова.

Звонки. В этом меню находятся настройки переадресации, а также три списка звонков по 20 записей в каждом. Все достаточно традиционно.

Игры. В телефоне две игры – Bricks, Russia (арканоид, тетрис).

Инструменты. Включает в себя обычный калькулятор, а также 4 будильника, каждый может быть выставлен на определенное время и только.

Музыкальный плеер. Музыка может храниться только на карте памяти в директории мр3, поддержки плей-листов нет. Можно включить случайное воспроизведение, повтор всех композиций, даже выбрать один из 9 эквалайзеров (Original, Classic, Club, Pop, Bass, Treble, Bass-tre, Rock, Dance). Пользователь может выбрать одну из 3 оболочек для плеера. Музыка загружается через USB-подключение, его нужно активировать вручную.

Плеер минимально функционален, но большего для подобного бюджетного решения и не требуется. В режиме ожидания на экране отображается название композиции и имя исполнителя, быстрой перемотки песен нет.


Впечатления

Производитель не указывает, какая тональность у полифонического звонка, рискну предположить, что он 16-тональный, на это указывает такая тональность у других аппаратов на этой же платформе. На удивление звонок громкий и хорошо слышимый, стандартные мелодии звучат хорошо и они приятны. В качестве мелодии звонка можно установить и свои композиции.

Качество локализации для русского языка не отличается приятностью, буквы в шрифте прорисованы плохо, разной величины, а сам шрифт тонкий, что затрудняет его чтение с экрана.

К плюсам продукта относится качественный материал корпуса, вид, в котором трудно узнать недорогой продукт стоимостью 120-130 долларов. Телефон бюджетный и призван восполнить потребность в музыке для тех, кто не готов потратить много денег на телефон или плеер, при этом не слишком чувствителен к качеству проигрывания, различным настройкам. С подобным же позиционированием на рынке есть только Sony Ericsson W200i, но это продукт с ценой около 200 долларов и принципиально иными возможностями, качественным звучанием, отличными наушниками в комплекте. Однозначно говорить о том, что этот продукт как замена Alcatel OT E-801 не станет успешным, нельзя, он будет иметь определенные продажи, особенно в сегменте аппаратов для молодежи, школьников, а также в некоторых регионах. У других производителей нет столь дешевого «музыкального» телефона, значит, определенная аудитория, пусть и небольшая, у аппарата будет. Еще раз хочу подчеркнуть, что качественный корпус является огромным плюсом телефона, выделяющим его из множества аналогичных продуктов.

Невозможность покупки своих наушников на замену стандартным является минусом, но наличие на родных «ушах» разъема 3.5 мм частично решает эту задачу. Если у вас сломается оригинальная гарнитура, то тогда возникнет проблема, так как miniUSB-переходники на обычные гарнитуры в этом аппарате не работают. Вкратце качество звучания плеера можно оценить как среднее, запаса по громкости у него почти нет. 

На рынке будут присутствовать три комплекта поставки, все они отличаются только емкостью карты памяти, условно можно назвать младшую модель с 256 Мб, в старшей, соответственно, карта будет на 1 Гб. Разброс цен при этом будет не слишком велик, шаг стоимости от младшей к старшей модели – всего 10-12 долларов. То есть, если минимальная цена за версию с 256 Мб будет около 110-115 долларов, то за старшую будут просить около 130-140 долларов.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 20 февраля 2007 г.

 

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

24.08.2017 Российские банки внедряют идентификацию клиентов по сетчатке глаза

24.08.2017 Анонс нового поколения смартфонов Google Pixel состоится уже в начале октября

Hit

24.08.2017 Телефоны-помощники HIPER sPhone вышли на российский рынок

24.08.2017 Nikon D850 – высокоскоростная полнокадровая зеркальная фотокамера высокого разрешения

Hit

23.08.2017 Видео на канале: Первый взгляд на Samsung Galaxy Note 8

Hit

23.08.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Huawei Nova 2 - "двуглазый" компактный смартфон

23.08.2017 Биткойн-кошельки угоняют с помощью мобильных

23.08.2017 «МаксимаТелеком» решила проблему с подключением Wi-Fi

23.08.2017 Samsung Galaxy Note 8 представлен официально

23.08.2017 ФАС против мелкого шрифта в рекламе

23.08.2017 Представлен новый российский смартфон с двумя экранами – YotaPhone 3

Hit

23.08.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор HighScreen Fest XL - музыкальный смартфон до 10 000 рублей

23.08.2017 Meizu представила свой первый смартфон на процессоре от Qualcomm

23.08.2017 Новый флагман Huawei Mate выйдет в двух версиях

23.08.2017 «Открытие» запускает денежные переводы по фотографии

23.08.2017 У Яндекса появился новый поиск

22.08.2017 Canvas Infinity - первый безрамочный смартфон от Micromax

22.08.2017 «Калашников» и НИЦ роботехники представили оружие против дронов

22.08.2017 Голосовой помощник Samsung Bixby теперь доступен в более чем 200 странах мира

22.08.2017 Троян Joao охотится на пользователей онлайн-игр

Hit

22.08.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Alcatel A3 XL

22.08.2017 Операторы получили отсрочку от ФАС по отмене роуминга

22.08.2017 AT&T представил свой планшет для развлечений

22.08.2017 Google официально представила финальную версию Android 8.0

21.08.2017 Замена экрана может привести к краже данных со смартфона

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.