facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Palmax z720 the second GPS Pocket PC (d-Media inView N-911)

After producing its own low-end handheld - Palmax z710, Taiwanese company Compal decided to continue this business. Today we'll talk about the second PDA of this company in this year - Palmax z720. Long time before Compal produced only ODM-models of PDAs (as well as laptops), for example, for Toshiba. Probably, Compal's production activity under own brand somehow confirms rumors that Toshiba leaves the PDA market.

Palmax z720 has almost the same inside features as z710, the only difference is an integrated GPS receiver. It will be the second Pocket PC on the market with such features. The first Pocket PC with the integrated GPS receiver was MiTAC Mio168. The model became rather interesting according to its price/quality ration. We can also remember Garmin iQue 3600 powered by Palm OS, but it was not widely spread on the market because of overpricing.

The new handheld reminds the previous model from Compal (z710) by design, but it is wider than z710 and has an external antenna. The first question which all those who got acquainted with Palmax z720 always asked was the following: Is it a communicator?. In fact, the PDA with an external antenna reminds communicators of the first generation based on Pocket PC. In reality the antenna is necessary to receive satellite signals. The antennas location and shape are not typical for the PDA with integrated GPS-modules. In both models - Garmin iQue 3600 and MiTAC Mio168 the antenna is fixed to the backside of the device, it is possible to move it out if you use a satellite receiver.

The device is made of pleasant silver plastic and it makes an impression of metallic surface (traditionally the quality of assembling is very high for Compal). The device fits the hand both in album and portrait display orientation (new version of OS allows to turn the picture). The handheld is not small. It is rather thin but its length and width are not the smallest on the market (120x76x15 mm). The handheld is rather heavy (about 170g.) it is felt in the pocket of the shirt.

Control elements are not standard, but deserve attention.

Four-directional navigational key is moved to the left. It was made to provide more comfortable work with the device. In this case the thumb of the left hand is successfully lies on it. Other soft keys are located along the wavy line near joystick. The largest key is responsible for switching the satellite receiver. Other keys are standard (calendar, contacts, task manager). Such keys and joystick location is a great advantage while playing games (especially emulators).

There are two LED above the screen: one of them is responsible for charging indication and informs about missed reminders, the other one shows whether GPS-receive is switched on or not. Do you remember that Mio168 doesnt have GPSindicator at all? It was very difficult to understand whether it works or not. Palmax z720 doesnt have this problem.

There is one more pleasant surprise on the left side of the device. You can find out there a special key o turn the display. Apart it one can find there a common scroll-key, power on/off key, soft-reset key and IrDA. It would have been much better if the developer put the scroll key a little bit higher. Now it is not very ergonomic, one should change the location of the device in the hand to make the scroll-key more comfortable for using. The right side of the handheld doesnt have any control elements.

There is a hole for stylus, SD/MMC slot with SDIO support, standard handsfree connector on the top of the handheld. The sound is rather loud if you use a headset; it is comparable with other PDAs. Interface connector and charging connector (including car charger) is placed on the bottom of the handheld. If you examine the backside of the device you can see a GPS-antenna connector, one rubber leg and a battery compartment.

The display is similar to other Pocket PCs. It doesnt have any peculiairutes among other displays with the resolution of 320x240 pixels. Transflective display (diagonal is 3.5) can show up to 65000 colors, the comfortable view angle is up to 45 degrees. The lowest level of the backlighting allows to work with the PDA in the dark, to read books, for example. The information on the screen is visible in the sunny day, it is faded but remains quite distinguished.

The handheld is equipped with a removable Li-Ion battery of 1050 mAh capacity. The device worked about 10 hours 30 minutes in the mp3-mode before the battery run down. The z720 worked about 6 hours (during 3 hours GPS mode was switched on, 3 more hours were used for books reading) in case of middle frequency of the processor and middle level of the backlighting. If the PDA is presumed to be used mainly in the car, the battery life almost doesnt have any limits (car charging is used). If you go hiking and take the z720, it is better to use it not very active, only as a GPS-navigator, otherwise you have many chances to return back using usual map.

The PDA is equipped with Intel PXA 263 processor running at a whopping 300 MHz. This model has the same productivity as Palmax Z710. The processor easily starts up and shows good results. The PDA has large RAM (126 Mb of 128 Mb is available for the user), some geographic maps can be downloaded even without using extra memory cards.

GPS

To switch on the GPS-receiver just hold the key with a picture of satellite. At the same time any application that you set up beforehand can be loaded. The GPS-signal was not always available for the programs while field tests, but do not forget that we tested a prototype, not commercial sample. This problem will be solved in the final version of the device. When the signal was received, other further functions worked without errors.

During the test we used a navigational program - PalmGIS GPS, it was the only available GPS-program which supported the portrait mode in the new version of Windows Mobile. The device had no peculiarities, the accuracy was about 3.5 meters, dead time was accessible, the same as the other GPS-receivers had (GPS-mouse, GPS in Compact Flash format). The only thing that is worth to speak about is that the signal quality in the car became better when you carry the antenna as close to the window as possible (the PDA was in the holder).

There are three pre-installed programs in the PDA to control GPS. GPS Viewer shows location of the satellites, the date and time, longitude and latitude, speed and direction of moving.

GPS Engine has the same opportunities as GPS Viewer but they are widened. For example, you can see the location on the world map. GPS Utility can be used to set up GPS, all settings can be viewed on one screen.

Software

The handheld is powered by Windows Mobile 2003 for Pocket PC Second Edition. The only difference of this version from the old one is an integrated possibility of album mode support. Other features are the same as Windows Mobile 2003 for Pocket PC, more information about it is available in this review (available only in Russia yet). Among extra programs there is a special task manager - ezGO! and DataBackup - a program which allows to make backups. The last application is also rather scarce in features, it allows to make only the main operations.

You can also set up keypad locking and adjust processor's frequency. Such menu item as speed-up display still remains dimmed for me.

Conclusion

Palmax z720 will be announced in a month or two and almost at the same time it will be available in the shops. Retail price of the model will be about $370-400 USD, almost the same as the price of its main rival - MiTAC Mio168. If you compare these two devices (z720 and Mio168) you can make the following conclusions. Palmax z720 has better assembling quality, larger RAM capacity, new version of OS, which is better adjusted for navigation, comparable price and better control system of GPS-receiver (starting with switching on, finishing different pre-installed navigational software settings). But the model from Compal enters the market too late. Unlikely the similar model from Toshiba based on the platform of z720 will enter the market.

The new z720 is a specialized solutions which will be rivaled with special kits (PDA + GPS), not just PDAs. The model has many alternative solutions PDA with GPS in Compact Flash or SDIO format, PDA with GPS mouse, a possibility to switch GPS receiver using Bluetooth. The prices will be comparable (all variants except the latter one with bluetooth connection, it is rather expensive now). For example, it is very difficult to understand who is the winner if you take HP iPaq 2210 with CF GPS and Palmax z720.

Specifications:

  • Class: Pocket PC for satellite navigation
  • Rivals: MiTAC Mio 168
  • Operating system: Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition
  • Processor: Intel XScale PXA263 300 MHz
  • RAM: 128 Mb (126 Mb available for the user)
  • ROM: 32 (unavailable for the user)
  • Connectivity: SD/MMC slot (SDIO support), IrDA (SIR), USB (only synchronization)
  • Display: 3.5 diagonal (53 71 mm of hot area) with the resolution of 240 320 pixels, 64K colors
  • Battery: removable Li-Ion of 1050 mAh capacity
  • Dimensions: 120 76 15 mm (147 mm length of the device including antenna)
  • Weight: ~170 g.

Anton Kotov (anton.kotov@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Anja Rytchkova (anja.rytchkova@mobile-review.com)

Published - 14 July 2004

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Palmax z720 – второй Pocket PC со встроенным спутниковым приемником

После выпуска под собственной маркой бюджетного карманного компьютера Palmax z710 (обзор этой модели доступен тут), тайваньская компания Compal решила продолжить начатое дело. Сегодня мы расскажем о втором КПК от Compal в этом году – Palmax z720. Длительное время до этого компания Compal выпускала КПК только по ODM-контрактам, например для Toshiba (впрочем, как и ноутбуки). Возможно, активность Compal по выпуску устройств под собственным именем косвенно подтверждает слухи об уходе Toshiba с рынка КПК.

Модель Palmax z720 внутри имеет практически такую же начинку, как и модель z710 с одним существенным отличием – встроенным спутниковым приемником GPS. Это будет всего лишь второй Pocket PC на рынке с такими встроенными функциями, этим КПК и интересен. Первым Pocket PC со встроенным GPS-приемником был MiTAC Mio168, о котором мы рассказывали недавно. Модель получилась довольно интересной по соотношению цена/качество. Можно вспомнить еще модель Garmin iQue 3600, работающую под управлением Palm OS, но она не получила широкого распространения из-за завышенной цены.

Наладоник по дизайну напоминает предыдущую модель от Compal (z710), но с внешней антенной и чуть более широкий корпус. Первый вопрос, который обычно задавали те, кто знакомился с Palmax z720 – «это коммуникатор?». Действительно, КПК внешней антенной напоминает коммуникаторы на базе Pocket PC первого поколения. Но на самом деле – антенна предназначена для приема спутникового сигнала. Расположение и форма принимающей антенны нехарактерны для КПК со встроенным GPS. В модели Garmin iQue 3600, как и в MiTAC Mio168 антенна крепится к задней стенке, ее можно выдвинуть по мере необходимости использования спутниковым приемником.

Корпус сделанный из приятного на ощупь серебристого пластика создает обманчивое впечатление металлической поверхности (это плюс – качество сборки на высоте, что традиционно для Compal). Устройство хорошо лежит в руке как при альбомной, так и при портретной ориентации дисплея (новая версия ОС позволяет разворачивать дисплей). КПК нельзя назвать маленьким. Он тонок, но длинна и ширина – не самые маленькие на рынке (120x76x15 мм). Наладонник увесист – немного оттягивает карман рубашки, корпус не кажется полым при весе около 170 г.

Управляющие элементы нестандартны, на них стоит обратить внимание.

Четырехпозиционная навигационная клавиша смещена влево, что сделано для удобства работы в альбомном режиме, на нее в этом случае очень удачно ложится большой палец левой руки. Остальные клавиши приложений идут как бы волной от джойстика. Одна из них, что больше других по размеру, отвечает за включение спутникового приемника. Остальные кнопки вполне стандартны (календарь, контакты, менеджер задач). Такое расположение джойстика и кнопок – большой плюс в играх (особенно эмуляторах).

Над экраном расположено два световых индикатора – один отвечает за индикацию внешнего питания и пропущенные напоминания, другой показывает, включен ли GPS-приемник или нет. Вспомним, что на Mio168 индикатора GPS не было, вообще было сложно понять включен GPS или нет, в Palmax z720 такой проблемы нет изначально.

Левый торец приносит еще один приятный сюрприз – эти отдельная клавиша для разворота экрана. Помимо нее здесь присутствуют уже привычное колесико прокрутки, кнопка питания и мягкого сброса устройства, окошко инфракрасного порта. Кстати, колесико можно было разместить чуть выше, а то так оно не очень эргономично, так как приходится перехватывать корпус, чтобы колесико удобно легло под большой палец, при этом центр тяжести может выйти за пределы ладони. Правый торец полностью чист от элементов управления.

На верхнем торце – гнездо для стилуса, SD/MMC слот с поддержкой SDIO, стандартный вход для наушников. Кстати, звук в наушниках на уровне, вполне сопоставим с другими КПК, достаточно громкий. Разъем для подключения кабеля синхронизации, зарядного устройства (в том числе автомобильного) находится на нижнем торце, больше ничего. Осмотрев рельефную заднюю часть КПК, мы обнаруживаем разъем для подключения внешней GPS-антенны, резиновую ножку (все одну) и аккумуляторный отсек.

Дисплей имеет схожие характеристики с другими Pocket PC, ничем особым не выделяется на общем фоне (среди экранов с расширением 320x240 точек). Трансфлективный экран с диагональю 3.5” отображает 65 тысяч цветов, комфортный угол обзора – до 45 градусов, минимальный уровень подсветки позволяет работать с КПК в темноте, читать книги к примеру. На солнце экран ведет себя хорошо, картинка выцветает, но остается различимой.

В наладоннике установлен съемный Li-Ion аккумулятор емкостью 1050 мАч. В режиме MP3 плеера z720 проработал 10 часов 30 минут до выключения. Устройство проработало 6 часов при средней частоте процессора и среднем уровне подсветки, из этого времени – три часа работы в режиме GPS-навигации и еще три часа – в режиме чтения электронной книги. Если КПК предполагается использовать в основном в машине, то параметр времени автономной работы практически не существенен (используется автомобильная зарядка). Если же брать z720 в длительный поход, то стоит его использовать понемногу в день как навигатор и забыть про остальные функции устройства, иначе возвращаться обратно в незнакомой местности придется уже по обычной карте.

В КПК установлен процессор Intel PXA 263 работающий на частоте 300 MHz. КПК обладает абсолютно такой же производительностью, как и модель Palmax z710. Процессор легко разгоняется и показывает неплохие результаты. Оперативной памяти в КПК много – пользователю доступно целых 126 Мб (из 128 Мб), некоторые карты можно загрузить даже без использования карты памяти.

GPS

Приемник GPS включается удержанием аппаратной кнопки с изображением спутника, при этом в настройках можно сделать так, что одновременно с включением GPS запускалась бы и любая программ на выбор пользователя. Внешние программы далеко не всегда могли получить сигнал с GPS приемника, это и не удивительно – на тестировании у нас был прототип, а не коммерческий продукт. Естественно, что в финальной версии эта проблема будет устранена. Но если уж сигнал подхватывался, то дальше все работало без нареканий.

Тестирование проходило в навигационной программе PalmGIS GPS, поскольку это была единственная программа, которая поддерживала портретный режим в новой версии Windows Mobile. Точность составляла около 3-5 метров, время запаздывания находилось на допустимом уровне, на таком же, каком и другие GPS-приемники (GPS-мышки, GPS в формате Compact Flash). В общем, без особенностей. Единственный момент, который мы можем отметить – это то, что при работе в машине качество сигнала улучшалось, если антенна подносилась вплотную к стеклу, практически соприкасалась с ним (КПК находился при этом в держателе).

В КПК предустановленны три программы для управления GPS. Программа GPS Viewer показывает расположение спутников, точное время и дату, долготу и широту, скорость и направление движения.

Программа GPS Engine может то же, что и GPS Viewer, только в развернутой форме. Например, указывает местоположение на карте мира. GPS Utility предназначена для настройки GPS, все немногочисленные настройки умещаются на одном экране:

Программное обеспечение

Наладонник работает под управлением Windows Mobile 2003 for Pocket PC Second Edition. Практически единственное отличие этой версии ОС от предыдущей – это встроенная возможность работы в альбомном режиме. В остальном – все тоже самое, что и в ОС Windows Mobile 2003 for Pocket PC, о которой можно подробно прочитать в соответствующем обзоре. Из дополнительных программ предустановлен обделенный функциями менеджер задач ezGO! и программа для резервного копирования данных DataBackup. Последняя тоже бедна функционально, выполняет только самые необходимые функции.

Из настроек отметим настройку блокировки кнопок и регулировки частоты процессора. Пункт меню speed-up display так и остался для меня загадкой…

Итоги

Модель Palmax z720 будет анонсирована через месяц-два, практически одновременно с этим поступит в продажу. Розничная цена составит около $370-400, то есть на уровне с основным конкурентом – MiTAC Mio168. Если сравнивать этим два устройства (z720 и Mio168), то можно сделать следующие выводы. Модель Palmax z720 обладает лучшим по сравнению с Mio168 качеством сборки, большим объемом оперативной памяти, новой версией ОС, более адаптированной для навигации, сопоставимой ценой, более продуманной системой управления GPS (начиная включением, заканчивая набором предустановленного навигационного ПО). Но модель от Compal несколько запоздала на рынок. Отметим, что крайне маловероятно, что на рынке появится модель под маркой Toshiba, которая будет базироваться на «платформе z720» (назовем это так).

У модели есть множество альтернатив – КПК плюс GPS в формате Compact Flash или SDIO, КПК плюс GPS мышка, подключение GPS приемника по Bluetooth. При этом цены получаются сопоставимыми (исключая, конечно, варианты подключения по Bluetooth, такие комплекты пока получаются очень дорогими). Например, если взять HP iPaq 2210 в комплекте с CF GPS и одной стороны, и Palmax z720 – с другой, то в этом случае определить победителя крайне сложно.

В итоге мы получаем неплохое специализированное решение, которое будет конкурировать с наборами (КПК плюс GPS), а не с другими «просто» КПК.

Описание:

  • Класс: Pocket PC для спутниковой навигации
  • Положение в линейке: открывает
  • Конкуренты: MiTAC Mio 168
  • Операционная система: Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition
  • Процессор: Intel XScale PXA263 300 МГц
  • Оперативная память: 128 Мб (126 Мб доступно пользователю)
  • ПЗУ: 32 Мб (пользователю не доступно)
  • Расширяемость: SD/MMC слот (поддержка SDIO), IrDA (SIR), USB (только синхронизация)
  • Экран: 3.5” (активная область: 53х71 мм) c разрешением 240х320 точек, 64 тысяч цветов
  • Батарея: съемная Li-Ion емкостью 1050 мАч
  • Габариты: 120х76х15 мм (147 мм – длина корпуса с учетом антенны)
  • Вес: ~170 г
 

Антон Котов (anton.kotov@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано – 08 июля 2004 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

21.08.2018 ZTE Nubia Z18 «засветилась» на видео для Книги рекордов Гиннеса

21.08.2018 Корейцы предпочли топовую версию Samsung Galaxy Note 9

Hit

21.08.2018 Видео на канале: Впечатления от ASUS Zenfone 5Z

Hit

21.08.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор Xiaomi Redmi 6A

21.08.2018 HTC представила беспроводной адаптер Vive Wireless Adapter для VR шлемов HTC Vive и Vive Pro

21.08.2018 На российский рынок выходит новый смартфон от ZTE — Blade A530

21.08.2018 LG представила беспроводную гарнитуру с поддержкой Google Ассистента

21.08.2018 Геймеры получили трассировку лучей в реальном времени с выпуском игровых карт NVIDIA GeForce RTX

21.08.2018 Российские военные взялись за SIM карты для 5G сетей

20.08.2018 Выпущен официальный тизер Honor 8X

20.08.2018 Huawei начнет обновлять смартфоны до Android Pie после IFA

20.08.2018 Тотальный «слив» информации о Huawei Mate 20

20.08.2018 В России стартовали продажи отечественного 4G-смартфона на операционной системе Android 8 Go – INOI 3

Hit

20.08.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор Xiaomi Redmi S2

Hit

20.08.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор Xiaomi Mi A2

20.08.2018 В следующий четверг ZTE представит свой новый флагманский смартфон – Axon 9

20.08.2018 Загадочная Motorola сертифицирована в Китае

20.08.2018 Vivo начала принимать предзаказы на свой новый смартфон Vivo X23

20.08.2018 «Дочка» ВЭБа занялась выпуском «ВЭБ коинов»

17.08.2018 Работники Google недовольны секретными разработками для Китая

17.08.2018 Oppo представит смартфон R17 Pro с тройной камерой

17.08.2018 Sony Xperia XZ3 может быть и без двойной камеры

Hit

17.08.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор Xiaomi Mi8

17.08.2018 Motorola One посетила GeekBench

17.08.2018 Приложение Google Goggles обновилось впервые за последние 4 года

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2018. All rights reserved.