facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials

Rambler's Top100

First Look at Motorola MILESTONE XT720

Is it even possible to begin one's weekend without any thoughts and ideas about the new "robot?" In my opinion, it's not; hence I suggest that you join the discussion of Motorola's new "milestone" – the Milestone XT720 smartphone, i.e. "eXTended." It sports both metal and matte soft-touch plastic, glass screen coating and unusual shape, 3.5-mm and HDMI connectors, as well as an 8-megapixel camera with HD motion video capture and xenon flash. And all that is powered by Android 2.1.

Motorola Milestone XT720 – there's so much depth behind the cumbersome name! To be serious, having got my hands on the model, I am impressed and willing to tell you why in brief.

Immediately after its announcement as the handset for SK Telecom in South Korea the rumors started circulating on the web if the European version will become available in the future. Motorola XT720, which is the carbon copy of MOTOROI was announced on June 7 in the UK and will be available on numerous markets.

In this article I would like to speak about my initial impressions, explain certain details and particular features of the model. Motorola Milestone XT720 – there's so much depth behind the cumbersome name! To be serious, having got my hands on the model, I am impressed and willing to tell you why in brief.

Design and materials

The smartphone undoubtedly boasts original looks. It is asymmetrical with the small protrusion in the right bottom part, which produces a particular impression of XT720. The materials are sheer Motorola style – the front panel is covered with a protective glass, back cover and sides made of metal finished with the special layer producing the impression of soft touch plastic. On one hand the smartphone's body feels great, but on the other hand this approach has already been used in Motorola RAZR2 V8 and there were some complaints as to this layer, which wore off easily on the battery cover. Only time will tell if it will be the case with XT720.

In terms of the size XT720 is comparable with Sony Ericsson X10, HTC HD2 and HTC Desire. When you hold it in hand this model feels more like SE X10 and HTC HD2 and produces an impression of bigger size. One prominent feature of XT720 is its slimness of 11 mm.

My impressions from the design and body materials are absolutely positive. Despite the irregular shape and the possible issues with the back cover layer. The design of Motorola XT720 for no apparent reason reminds me of the good old days when Motorola was at its best with such models as RAZR V3.

The built of my engineering prototype was above any criticism with all parts tight fitting without any loose elements. The battery cover is fixed well.


There are some questions here. Motorola XT720 has only four keys under the screen and they are all sensor ones. There is no navigation key as well as call and end buttons, which I view as significant disadvantages. HTC at least uses the navigation element - trackball, optic trackball, etc. We do not have such an option here.

On the other hand XT720 has convenient volume control buttons and the buttons responsible for switching the handset on, activating the screen, working with the camera and going to the gallery. Moreover, near the latter two buttons situated on the protruded part, responsible for asymmetrical shape, you can find indication panel for camera modes. It features three icons, one of which is backlit if you choose: camera mode, video recording or gallery view.


XT720 has the screen with characteristics identical to the first MILESTONE model. It is a 3.7" TFT capacitive screen with FWVGA (480x854) resolution. In terms of picture quality and color reproduction Motorola TFT screens are slightly inferior to AMOLED displays from HTC and will be far behind Samsung Galaxy S, especially as to the performance in the sun.

In general the screen of XT720 is good and contemporary. It provides fair readability, high definition of images, powerful brightness and maximum viewing angles. It has protective glass, which makes it impossible to scratch the screen with the keys or other sharp objects.


One of XT720 main selling points is an 8 MP camera with Xenon Flash, followed by HD (1280x720) video recording feature. As far as the camera is concerned, it works fast, has plenty of setup options, including macro and image stabilizer. I will not evaluate this element judging by the engineering prototype, but would like to mention a couple of things. First, MILESTONE XT720 has a user friendly camera interface. It is intuitive without excessive controls.

Second, this smartphone features hardware buttons for camera and gallery alongside the abovementioned indicators. Frequent users of the phone's camera will find these elements useful. Third, XT720 boasts a Xenon Flash, which is can be quite rarely seen in mobile phones, for the first time used on an Android smartphone.

Just in case, I will offer several pictures taken by the engineering prototype of Motorola MILESTONE XT720. The quality may be different in the final version of the phone.


The handset works under Android 2.1. and the company promises to release an update to 2.2 (Froyo) soon after the model hits the shelves. In the engineering prototype I noticed little additional software and add-ons: slightly altered menu, home screens, software list activation button and several proprietary utilities.

Small notice: all screenshots were made by a camera. Those who know how to make Android screenshots with the help of hardware will hopefully understand why I used the camera for this quick series of pictures.

The model will have little additional software and proprietary add-ons. Some may view it as a downside, but it is not critical. On the other hand unlike the MILESTONE XT720 will not take too long for localize and fine tune the software and the model should become available in time. Motorola will not postpone this model to finalize the shell or anything similar.


XT720 uses ARM Cortex A8 with 720 GHz, which surpasses the first MILESTONE model. It offers 512 MB of storage and an 8 GB card in the box to store different data. We should not expect XT720 to provide better productivity than the MILESTONE, but everything is quite decent here. Definitely the synthetic tests may show difference between this model and the MILESTONE or HTC Desire, but the overall performance of all new Android flagships is comparable and what matters the most, they offer comfortable everyday use.

The handset has Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and GPS, which are standard features for any present day Android smartphone. At the same time this model has HDMI jack, which is not easily found elsewhere.


MILESTONE XT720 will be available to buy around August or September and will be priced closely to HTC Desire and Sony Ericsson X10.

The first impressions of the smartphone are exceptionally positive; it's a good old Motorola, the company's touch and style can be seen practically in any detail, from the hardware keys and case materials to design and screen wallpaper selection. Android market is not vast yet and is just starting to grow, so it is nice to see that the major manufacturers come up with solid products and not just expand their portfolio. Motorola XT720 is a good example of this trend. This smartphone has its unique design, commendable features and its distinctions in the form of camera add-ons, is offered in metal body and at a reasonable price. Moto?


  • Form factor: candybar
  • Operating system: Android 2.1 + Motorola add-ons
  • Networks: GSM/EDGE, UMTS/HSDPA
  • Processor: 720 MHz on ARM Cortex A8 platform
  • Main storage: 512 MB
  • Memory for applications: 512 MB (engineering prototype had around 150 of free memory) + slot for microSD (8 GB card in the box)
  • Interfaces: Wi-Fi (802.11 b/g), Bluetooth 2.1+EDR, HDMI, micro-USB, 3,5 mm headphones jack
  • Screen: 3.7” capacitive TFT screen with FWVGA (854×480) resolution
  • Camera: 8 MP with auto focus and Xenon Flash, video recording in HD quality (720p, 1280×720 resolution)
  • Navigation: GPS with A-GPS support
  • Additional features: FM radio, accelerometer, light sensor, proximity sensor
  • Battery: Li-Ion of 1390 mAh
  • Dimensions: 116 x 60,9 x 10,9 mm (4.56”x2.39”x0.42”)
  • Weight: 160 g (5.64 oz)

Artem Lutfullin (artem@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Maxim Antonenko (maxantonenko@ukr.net), Olexandr Nikolaychuk (meiam@inbox.com)

Published — 15 June 2010

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com



[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean


Register | Lost password?



© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 – первый взгляд

Сразу после анонса в Южной Корее Motorola MOTOROI как операторской модели для SK Telecom Интернет наполнили слухи и обсуждения: «появится ли вариант смартфона для Европы, или нет?». И вот 7 июня в Великобритании компания представила Motorola XT720 – точную копию MOTOROI для всех рынков, в том числе для России.

В этой статье я хочу вкратце рассказать о своих первых впечатлениях от аппарата, пояснить некоторые детали и особенности касательно этой модели.

Дизайн, материалы корпуса

Смартфон выглядит оригинально, едва ли кто-то станет с этим спорить. Аппарат асимметричен (в правой части внизу - небольшой выступ), что вносит свою лепту в восприятие XT720. По материалам корпуса в смартфоне можно безошибочно узнать почерк Motorola – задняя сторона и боковые торцы выполнены из металла, поверх которого нанесен специальный слой, создающий ощущение, будто поверхность сделана из бархатистого на ощупь пластика с эффектом soft-touch. C одной стороны, по тактильным ощущением от корпуса это здорово, смартфон приятно держать в руке. С другой, компания уже прибегала к данному решению в корпусе Motorola RAZR2 V8, и там были нарекания по поводу покрытия металла на крышке аккумулятора - оно облезало. Как будет в случае XT720, покажет время.

По габаритам Motorola XT720 сравним с Sony Ericsson X10, HTC HD2, HTC Desire – аппарат находится где-то между ними. По ощущениям в руках смартфон ближе к SE X10 и HTC HD2, то есть кажется более крупным. Одна из особенностей корпуса XT720 – его небольшая толщина, всего 11 мм.

Впечатления от дизайна и материалов корпуса лично у меня остались исключительно положительные. Несмотря на асимметрию, несмотря на вероятные проблемы с напылением на задней стороне. Дело в том, что по части дизайна Motorola XT720 мне напомнил старые добрые времена расцвета компании, таких моделей как RAZR V3 и т.д., не знаю, с чем это связано.

Качество сборки в инженерном образце, с которым я познакомился, не вызывало никаких претензий, все части его отлично подогнаны друг к другу, зазоров нет, крышка аккумулятора надежно крепится на своем месте.

Управление

Здесь все неоднозначно. С одной стороны, в Moto XT720 есть только четыре клавиши под экраном для управления, да и те сенсорные, и при этом нет никакой управляющей, а также клавиш ответа и отбоя звонка. Я считаю это серьезным минусом. Например, в HTC хотя бы сохраняют управляющий элемент - трекбол, оптический трекбол или что-то еще. Здесь такого нет.

C другой стороны, в XT720 удобные клавиши регулировки громкости, кнопка включения аппарата и экрана, а также кнопка работы с камерой и перехода в галерею. Более того, возле двух последних клавиш, которые расположены на том самом выступе, делающем смартфон асимметричным, находится панель индикации режимов работы камеры. Там имеются три иконки, одна из которых подсвечивается, если выбран данный режим: съемка, запись видео или просмотр галереи.


Экран

Дисплей в XT720 по своим характеристикам аналогичен экрану первого MILESTONE. Это сенсорный TFT-экран емкостного типа с диагональю 3.7" и разрешением 480x854 точки (FWVGA). По качеству картинки и цветопередаче TFT-дисплеи в Motorola незначительно, но все же проигрывают AMOLED-экранам в аппаратах от HTC и довольно заметно будут уступать дисплею Samsung Galaxy S, особенно по части поведения на солнце.

Впрочем, в общем и целом экран XT720 хорош. Это современный дисплей, с которого удобно читать информацию, экран с высокой четкостью картинки, хорошим запасом яркости и максимальными углами обзора. Дисплей защищен стеклом - ключами или другим острым предметом этот материал нельзя поцарапать.

Камера

Одна из «фишек» XT720 - это восьмимегапиксельная камера с ксеноновой вспышкой, вторая – запись видео в HD-качестве (разрешение 1280x720 точек) . Оценивать этот элемент по инженерному образцу я не буду, просто скажу несколько вещей. Во-первых, в MILESTONE XT720 удобный интерфейс для работы с камерой, не слишком перегруженный, вполне наглядный.

Во-вторых, в смартфоне для работы с камерой и галереей выделены аппаратные клавиши и упомянутый выше блок индикаторов. Для тех, кто часто снимает камерой телефона, эти элементы окажутся кстати. И, в-третьих, в XT720 используется ксеноновая вспышка, которую в телефонных камерах мы видим редко.

На всякий случай ниже приведу несколько снимков камерой Motorola MILESTONE XT720, снимки сделаны инженерным образцом, так что их качество может отличаться от того, что будет в финале.

Интерфейс

Аппарат работает под управлением ОС Android 2.1. В компании обещают выпустить обновление до 2.2 (Froyo) в ближайшее время после начала продаж. Из дополнительного софта и надстроек в инженерном образце я увидел минимум: немного видоизмененное меню, рабочие столы, кнопка вызова списка программ, среди приложений несколько фирменных утилит.

Небольшое примечание: все фотографии экрана сделаны фотоаппаратом. Те, кто знает, как программно снимаются скриншоты на Android, надеюсь, поймут, почему второпях я отснял всё фотоаппаратом.

В аппарате будет минимум дополнительного софта и фирменных надстроек. Вероятно, для некоторых это станет минусом, но все же он не критичен. Плюс тоже есть. В отличие от MILESTONE, на локализацию которого для России, в том числе на доработку софта, компания потратила море времени, XT720 эти сложности должны обойти стороной. Аппарат должен появиться в продаже именно в первый же предполагаемый срок, едва ли компания будет переносить сроки выхода по причинам доработок оболочки или чего-то подобного, такой проблемы здесь быть не должно.

Платформа

В XT720 используется платформа ARM Cortex A8, частота процессора возросла по сравнению с первым MILESTONE, теперь это 720 МГц. В аппарате 512 МБ оперативной памяти, в комплекте будет идти 8 ГБ карточка для хранения разных данных. Не стоит ожидать от XT720 намного более высокой скорости работы, чем была в MILESTONE, все примерно на одном, достойном уровне. Безусловно, при желании в синтетических тестах можно получить преимущества одной модели над другой, сравнить их с HTC Desire, например, но, в общем и целом, скорость работы всех новых флагманов на Android сравнима, и, главное, она более чем комфортна при ежедневной работе.

В аппарате есть Wi-Fi, Bluetooth и GPS - стандартный набор современного смартфона на Android. Как особенность – наличие HDMI-разъема.

Впечатления

В продажу в России MILESTONE XT720 должен поступить примерно через полтора месяца, то есть в августе или сентябре. Ориентировочная стоимость смартфона – 23 000 рублей, то есть в одном сегменте с такими аппаратами как HTC Desire, Sony Ericsson X10.

У меня XT720 оставил исключительно приятные впечатления. Рынок Android-смартфонов все еще мал и только-только начинает развиваться, тем приятнее видеть, что разные производители «роботов» создают в большинстве своем достойные, а не проходные продукты. Motorola XT720 – один из таких аппаратов. Смартфон с собственным оригинальным дизайном, не похожий ни на что другое, аппарат со своими особенностями, с изюминкой в виде дополнительных фишек для работы с камерой, в металлическом корпусе и по приемлемой цене.

Описание:

  • Форм-фактор: моноблок
  • Операционная система: Android 2.1 + надстройки от Motorola
  • Сети: GSM/EDGE, UMTS/HSDPA
  • Процессор: 720 МГц на платформе ARM Cortex A8
  • Оперативная память: 512 МБ
  • Память для хранения программ: 512 МБ (свободно было на тестовом аппарате около 150 МБ) + разъем для карты памяти microSD (в комплекте карта на 8 ГБ)
  • Интерфейсы: Wi-Fi (802.11 b/g), Bluetooth 2.1+EDR, HDMI, micro-USB. 3,5 мм разъем для наушников
  • Экран: емкостный TFT, 3.7” с разрешением 854×480 точки (FWVGA)
  • Камера: 8 МП с автофокусом и ксеноновой вспышкой, запись видео в HD-качестве (720p, разрешение 1280×720 точек)
  • Навигация: GPS с поддержкой A-GPS
  • Дополнительно: FM-радио, акселерометр, датчик света, сенсор приближения
  • Аккумулятор: Li-Ion 1390 мАч
  • Габариты: 116 x 60,9 x 10,9 мм
  • Вес: 160 грамм

Обсуждение на форуме >>>

Артем Лутфуллин (artem@mobile-review.com)
Twitter
Опубликовано - 14 июня 2010 г.


Купить в ulmart

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

25.05.2018 Фотографии Meizu M6T демонстрируют его дизайн в подробностях

25.05.2018 Представлен топовый смартфон среднего уровня Vivo Z1

25.05.2018 Moto Z3 Play представят через две недели

25.05.2018 Энди Рубин не продает Essential, но дела у компании плохи

25.05.2018 «Мегафон» собрался внедрять услуги на базе блокчейна

25.05.2018 На сайте консорциума Wireless Power Consortium появились «живые» фото не анонсированного смартфона LG V35

25.05.2018 Huawei больше не будет поддерживать разблокировку загрузчиков для своих устройств

25.05.2018 В Южной Корее представлен смартфон среднего уровня Galaxy Wide 3 от Samsung

Hit

24.05.2018 Видео на канале: Первый взгляд на Meizu M8c

24.05.2018 Роскомнадзор собирается провести комплексную проверку Facebook и WhatsApp до декабря

24.05.2018 Apple и Xiaomi доминируют на растущем рынке носимой электроники

24.05.2018 Санкции США обойдутся ZTE в 3 миллиарда долларов

24.05.2018 Huawei может представить устройств с гибким экраном до конца года

24.05.2018 Qualcomm официально представила новый мобильный чипсет – Snapdragon 710

24.05.2018 В России Sony Mobile открыла предзаказ на свои беспроводные наушники Xperia Ear Duo с технологией открытого звука

24.05.2018 Acer показала первый 15-дюймовый Chromebook-трансформер

24.05.2018 MediaTek анонсировала новый процессор Helio P22 для смартфонов среднего ценового сегмента

24.05.2018 Представлен бюджетный смартфон Meizu M8c

23.05.2018 Apple приступила к производству новых процессоров

23.05.2018 Состоялся российский релиз бюджетного смартфона Huawei Y6 Prime 2018

23.05.2018 Возможное изображение Xiaomi Redmi 6 с «чёлкой» утекло в сеть

23.05.2018 У HTC вышел новый флагман – HTC U12+

23.05.2018 Meitu представила свой новый шестиугольный смартфон Meitu T9

23.05.2018 В Минкультуре рассматривают вопрос о блокировке сервиса Booking.com

Hit

23.05.2018 Honor представляет смартфон Honor 7C с NFC и системой распознавания лица

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2018. All rights reserved.