facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

HTC EVO 4G and Samsung Galaxy S

NewAndroid-flagships, first look

In this article Id like to say a few words about the two new-comers announced and assess their prospects on the market. So this article is dedicated to HTC EVO 4G and Samsung Galaxy S.

Samsung Galaxy S

According to preliminary information the new Android-flagship by Samsung will be available for purchase in Europe and in Russia as well in summer of 2010. The device comes in a candybar form-factor with a large touchscreen and a minimal number of keys. There can be a lot of arguing about the device appearance, as for me in terms of design the Galaxy S has nothing special, it is quite simple, but that simplicity can do a benefit. The device with a typical, customary design will not cause displeasure, it may not appeal to someone due to its simplicity, but taking into account its other tramps the design wont be a crucial factor that can prevent the customer from buying the Galaxy S. To put it simple, unsophisticated appearance of the "S" is more likely to be the positive side rather than a negative one.

Some concern is caused by the glossy surface and, thus, the easily-soiled battery cover, but, again, that is the design feature typical for Samsung-branded devices. In terms of controls the company, like HTC and many other manufacturers, sticks to fashionable trends, unfortunately. Ultimately we get the following picture: the Galaxy S is deprived of joystick and trackball (it seems to be a key in the center below the screen), it lacks call receive/reject keys, like in Google Nexus and Apple iPhone, these keys are replaced by their on-screen analogues.

Technically-wise the Galaxy S is one of the best Android-based devices available in the market.

  • Form-factor: candybar.
  • Casing materials: plastic
  • Operating System: Android 2.1 (Eclair), shell TouchWIZ 3D
  • Networks: GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, UMTS/HSDPA 900/2100
  • Platform: 1 GHz CPU.
  • Screen: Super AMOLED 4”, WVGA (480x800 pixels)
  • RAM: 512 B
  • ROM: 8/16Gb
  • Interfaces: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 3.0, microUSB (USB 2.0) slot for charging/synchronization, 3.5 mm jack for headset
  • Camera: 5 Mpix with autofocus (video capture up to 720p)
  • Navigation: GPS, Google Maps Navigation preinstalled software
  • Supported audio and video formats: 
    Audio: MP3, AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, WMA, OGG, AMR-NB, AMR-WB, WAV, MID, AC3, IMY, FLAC, XMF
    Video, codecs: Mpeg4, H.264, H.263, H263Sorenson, DivX/ XviD, VC-1, formats: 3gp (mp4), WMV (asf), AVI (divx), MKV (container), FLV
  • Battery: 1500 mAh
  • Dimensions and weight: 122,4 x 64,2 x 10 mm, weight 118 gram.

Samsung is completely shifting to Super AMOLED-screens in its high-end smartphones, the Galaxy S is the first robin among Android-devices. As for the capabilities claimed we can mention Bluetooth 3.0 and the presence of a docking station, connection to which allows using the Galaxy S as the photo frame, player, table clock, etc.

The device performance should be sufficient to playback the video in high quality, up to 720p. One of Galaxys S strong sides, in addition to performance, is the built-in support of most common audio and video formats. Just for fun take a look at this item in the specifications above. Audio department can boast a vast number of formats including OGG and FLAC; in video section, above all, divx, xvid codec support and mky container are included. To my opinion, this is a very significant advantage over competitors, in fact, the Galaxy S - is a multimedia combine the work with which cannot be spoiled by insufficient software and codec support at decent hardware. The phone has both.

Samsung Galaxy S is to arrive in the market in summer; in Russia this deadline may vary a little, but until now there is no such information, as well as there are no data concerning the smartphones price. Should we look at the starting price for Samsung i8000 on Windows Mobile (and the Galaxy S, known as i9000, whose position in the line of Android-devices is similar to that of the i8000), we will see that the price makes up about 30 000 rubles. It is reasonable to assume that initially the Galaxy S will come at a similar price of about 32 000 rubles.

The device is promising, though, by and large, Samsung needs such a flagship as the i9000, in order to "flex its muscles, rather than for sales, but given the paltry number of Android-based smartphones even at its very high price the Galaxy S will be interesting.

As for me, Samsung Galaxy S has, above all, a very significant tramp - the support of a huge number of audio and video codecs, and one significant minus the handset design does not suit the 32-tousand-rubles-flagship.

HTC EVO 4G

One more flagship among Android-devices is the smartphone by HTC, presented at the CTIA. The device is designed exclusively for the U.S. operator Sprint. Yet. What is HTC EVO 4G? In terms of appearance it is almost a full twin of the HD2, technically-wise the two are also very similar.

EVOs Design will surely appeal to the HD2 fans - the big screen that is the base for the whole appearance. Someone calls such devices a shovel, and someone like them; in any case, it is a matter of taste. In contrast to the HD2 EVOs battery cover is made of plastic, that is matte soft-touch plastic, the lower part of the cover houses a "leg" to set the device on a table or any flat surface. Useful stuff, if you want to watch a movie somewhere on the way as it is not a comfortable thing to hold the device in your hands for two hours. I think it is possible to find some other applications for the leg.

The EVO has two red insets - the rim around the camera, the space under the "leg" and the speakers grill. Such an interesting solution slightly dilutes the overall severity of the device appearance.

For the EVO functional keys are the same problem as for Samsung Galaxy S; the device is deprived of call receive/reject keys, and the keys that HTC HD2 had are touch-sensitive there these are the buttons used to return to the main screen and bring up call menu, Back and Search keys placed under the screen.

Technically-wise the EVO is similar to the HD2, some differences are present though:

  • Form-factor: candybar
  • Casing materials: plastic
  • Operating System: Android 2.1 (Eclair), shell HTC Sense
  • Networks: 3G (CDMA), 4G (WiMAX)
  • Platform: Qualcomm QSD8650 1 GHz CPU
  • Screen: 4,3 capacitive touch-sensitive, WVGA (480x800 pixels)
  • RAM: 512 B
  • ROM: 1 GB + microSD slot
  • Interfaces: Wi-Fi (hot-spot mode support), Bluetooth 2.1+EDR (A2DP), microUSB (USB 2.0) slot for charging/synchronization, HDMI slot, 3.5 mm jack for headset
  • Camera: 8 Mpix with autofocus and two LEDs (video capture up to 720p), front 1.3 Mpix camera
  • Navigation: GPS, Google Maps Navigation preinstalled software
  • Additionally: FM-radio
  • Battery: 1500 mAh
  • Dimensions and weight: 122 x 66 x 13 mm, weight 170 (?) gram

It is the first time HTC equips its devices with 8 megapixel camera and 1GB of ROM. As for EVOs specific features we should mention the presence of "hot spot" mode, as in HTC HD2, which means, the device can serve as an access point for other devices to be connected via Wi-Fi, taking into account the fact that the EVO features WiMAX, the function should be in demand.

Now let us talk a little about the prospects of the EVO idea for other markets.

Smartphone HTC EVO 4G is an exclusive for the operator Sprint, as I wrote above. Logically, one would think that anything of that kind wont appear in Europe and other markets, such as Russia for instance, as the device was designed specially for Sprint. There are two facts against such an opinion however: firstly, HTC is not so large as Nokia and Samsung, to afford the local products for individual operators and countries. Secondly, in confirmation of the first fact, there is an excellent example of HTC cooperation with Yota, Russian 4G operator. Under Yotas order a year and a half ago HTC released the communicator HTC MAX 4G, as we remember the exclusive device for Russian market and, for Yota, in particular. However, almost simultaneously with the announcement of the MAX 4G the European market witnessed an announcement of the similar device slightly differing in design and lacking WiMAX-module - HTC HD.

I will not say for sure that for HTC EVA 4G the situation will repeat, but all signs suggest it should happen again, perhaps in a slightly different way, for example, the European version will be released after six months or so, with not only design altered, but some specifications as well. The company just has no reasons preventing it from releasing EVOs analogue for other markets, the only limitation there is HTC Desire, the company current flagship on Android, that just goes on sale in some countries, and apparently is to be the top product in these markets for some period in order to have sales.

In the U.S. market the EVO will arrive this summer. There is no information about the price yet. We have nothing to do but to look forward to the company new announcement in order to understand its plans and the way they have changed since the announcement of Samsung, and if so, how dramatically HTC has revised its schedule for replacing one flagship to another.

It is difficult to assess HTC EVO prospects, it will be sold on a totally different market, according to quite different contract rules and at different price level so I just sum up everything about the device itself. On the one hand, the company has released apparently, the most powerful Android-based device, in many ways the best on the market as up to date the EVO can be compared only with the Galaxy S. On the other hand, everyone understands, and, hopefully, HTC, too, that by its announcement the company strongly undermines sales of the Desire. The fact that the EVO was released only for the U.S. market and will not work in 2G-networks is insignificant. The device has been announced, millions of users and owners of other HTC-branded products worldwide will learn about it and doubt whether they should move to Desire, if in half a year or a bit later Europe will see the release of such a device as HTC EVO 4G.

Artem Lutfullin (artem@mobile-review.com)
Twitter
Translated by Vera Paderina (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published - 07 April 2010.

Having something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

HTC EVO 4G и Samsung Galaxy S

Новые Android-флагманы, первый взгляд

В этой небольшой статье я хочу вкратце рассказать о двух анонсированных новинках и оценить их перспективы на рынке. Речь пойдет об аппаратах HTC EVO 4G и Samsung Galaxy S.

Samsung Galaxy S

Новый Android-флагман компании Samsung, который, по предварительной информации, появится в продаже летом 2010 года, в том числе и в России. Устройство в форм-факторе моноблок с большим сенсорным экраном и минимальным количеством клавиш. О внешнем виде самсунгов можно спорить долго, на мой вкус, в Galaxy S нет ничего особенного с точки зрения дизайна, он совершенно простой внешне, но в этом есть и свои преимущества. Аппарат с типичным, привычным дизайном не вызовет неудовольствия, он может не нравиться кому-то из-за своей простоты, но едва ли при всех прочих «за» пользователь откажется от выбора Galaxy S только из-за его дизайна. Проще говоря, простой внешний вид «эски» - скорее плюс, чем минус.

Смущает глянцевая, а следовательно очень маркая крышка аккумулятора, но это, опять же, особенность дизайна, часто характерная для аппаратов от Samsung. В плане управления компания следует модным веяниям, к сожалению, как и HTC, и многие другие производители. Итог: В Samsung Galaxy S нет ни джойстика, ни трекбола (по центру под экраном, судя по всему, клавиша), нет аппаратных кнопок ответа и отбоя звонка, как в Google Nexus и Apple iPhone, эти клавиши заменены экранными аналогами.

Технически это одно из самых лучших Android-устройств на рынке:

  • Форм-фактор: моноблок
  • Материалы корпуса: пластик
  • Операционная система: Android 2.1 (Eclair), оболочка TouchWIZ 3D
  • Сети: GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 МГц, UMTS/HSDPA 900/2100
  • Платформа: процессор с частотой 1 ГГц
  • Экран: Super AMOLED 4”, WVGA (480x800 точек)
  • Оперативная память: 512 МБ
  • Память для хранения данных: 8/16 ГБ
  • Интерфейсы: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 3.0, разъем microUSB (USB 2.0) для заряда/синхронизации, 3.5 мм разъем для гарнитуры
  • Камера: 5 Мп с автофокусом (запись видео в разрешении до 720p)
  • Навигация: GPS, предустановленная программа Google Maps Navigation
  • Поддерживаемые аудио- и видеоформаты:
    Аудио: MP3, AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, WMA, OGG, AMR-NB, AMR-WB, WAV, MID, AC3, IMY, FLAC, XMF
    Видео, кодеки: Mpeg4, H.264, H.263, H263Sorenson, DivX/ XviD, VC-1, форматы: 3gp (mp4), WMV (asf), AVI (divx), MKV (контейнер), FLV
  • Аккумулятор: 1500 мАч
  • Габариты и вес: 122,4 x 64,2 x 10 мм, вес 118 грамм

В Samsung окончательно переходят на использование Super AMOLED-экранов в дорогих смартфонах, Galaxy S - первая ласточка среди Android-устройств. Из заявленных возможностей можно отметить использование Bluetooth версии 3.0 и наличие док-станции, при подключении к которой Galaxy S можно использовать в качестве фоторамки, плеера, настольных часов и т.д.

Производительности устройства должно хватить для воспроизведения видео в высоком качестве, до 720p. Одна из сильных сторон Galaxy S, помимо характеристик, - поддержка большинства распространенных аудио- и видеоформатов «из коробки». Для интереса взгляните на этот пункт в характеристиках выше. В аудио это множество форматов, включая OGG и FLAC, в видео в том числе поддержка кодеков divx, xvid и контейнера mkv. На мой взгляд, это очень серьезное преимущество аппарата перед конкурентами, по сути, Galaxy S - это мультимедиа-комбайн без скидок на недостаточную оснащенность ПО и поддержку кодеков при хорошем железе. В аппарате есть и первое, и второе.

В продаже Samsung Galaxy S должен появиться летом, в России этот срок может немного сдвинуться, но пока такой информации нет, как нет данных и о стоимости смартфона. Если мы взглянем на стартовую стоимость для Samsung i8000 на Windows Mobile (а Galaxy S, известный так же, как i9000, своим положением в линейке Android-аппаратов похож на i8000), то увидим ценник в районе 30 000 рублей. Логично предположить, что цена для Galaxy S на старте будет примерно на такой же отметке – в пределах 32 000 рублей.

Перспективы у аппарата есть, хотя, по большому счету, такой флагман, как i9000, нужен компании Samsung больше для того, чтобы «поиграть мускулами», нежели для продаж, но учитывая мизерное пока еще количество смартфонов на базе Android, и при очень высокой стоимости устройство будет интересно.

На мой взгляд, у Samsung Galaxy S есть, помимо всего прочего, один очень серьезный плюс - это поддержка огромного числа аудио- и видеокодеков; и один ощутимый минус – дизайном аппарат никак не тянет на тридцатидвухтысячного флагмана.

HTC EVO 4G

Еще один флагман среди Android-устройств, смартфон от компании HTC, представленный на CTIA, аппарат разработан эксклюзивно для оператора Sprint в США. Пока. Что такое HTC EVO 4G? Это практически полный аналог HD2 внешне, технически устройства также очень и очень похожи.

Дизайн EVO понравится тем, кому нравится HD2 - большой экран, вокруг которого и строится внешний вид по мере возможностей. Кто-то называет такие аппараты лопатой, а кому-то нравится, в любом случае, это дело вкуса. В отличие от HD2 в EVO крышка аккумулятора из пластика, это матовый soft-touch-пластик, в нижней ее части есть «ножка» для установки аппарата, например, на столе или на любой другой ровной поверхности. Полезная штука, если вы хотите посмотреть фильм где-то в пути, а держать аппарат в руках два часа неудобно. Можно найти «ножке» и другие применения, я думаю.

У аппарата есть вставки красного цвета - обод вокруг камеры, пространство под «ножкой» и решеткой динамика. Решение интересное, немного разбавляет общую строгость внешнего вида устройства.

С аппаратными клавишами в EVO та же беда, что и у Samsung Galaxy S, кнопок ответа и отбоя звонка нет, а те клавиши, которые в HTC HD2 были аппаратными, здесь стали сенсорными - это кнопки возврата к главному экрану, вызова меню, клавиши Назад и Поиск под экраном.

Технически аппарат похож на HD2, хотя есть некоторые отличия:

  • Форм-фактор: моноблок
  • Материалы корпуса: пластик
  • Операционная система: Android 2.1 (Eclair), оболочка HTC Sense
  • Сети: 3G (CDMA), 4G (WiMAX)
  • Платформа: Qualcomm QSD8650, процессор с частотой 1 ГГц
  • Экран: сенсорный емкостного типа 4,3”, WVGA (480x800 точек)
  • Оперативная память: 512 МБ
  • Память для хранения данных: 1 ГБ + слот для карты памяти microSD
  • Интерфейсы: Wi-Fi (поддержка режима работы в качестве точки доступа), Bluetooth 2.1+EDR (A2DP), разъем microUSB (USB 2.0) для заряда/синхронизации, разъем HDMI, 3.5 мм разъем для гарнитуры
  • Камера: 8 Мп с автофокусом и двумя LED-светодиодами (запись видео в разрешении до 720p), фронтальная 1.3 Мп камера
  • Навигация: GPS, предустановленная программа Google Maps Navigation
  • Дополнительно: FM-радио
  • Аккумулятор: 1500 мАч
  • Габариты и вес: 122 x 66 x 13 мм, вес 170 (?) грамм

Впервые HTC использует в своем устройстве 8 Мп камеру, первый раз в качестве постоянной памяти берется модуль на 1 ГБ. Из особенностей EVO можно отметить наличие режима «хот-спот», как и в HTC HD2, то есть аппарат может служить точкой доступа для подключения к нему по Wi-Fi других устройств, с учетом того, что в EVO есть WiMAX, функция должна стать востребованной.

Теперь немного о перспективах развития идеи EVO для других рынков.

Смартфон HTC EVO 4G – эксклюзив для оператора Sprint, как я и писал выше. Следуя логике, можно подумать, что ничего подобного для Европы и других рынков, например, России, компания выпускать не будет, раз аппарат изначально разрабатывался под Sprint. Однако против этого выступают два факта: во-первых, компания HTC не настолько велика, как Nokia или Samsung, чтобы позволить себе локальные продукты для отдельных операторов и стран. Во-вторых, в подтверждение первого факта есть отличный пример сотрудничества HTC и Yota, российского оператора 4G. По заказу Yota компания HTC полтора года назад выпустила коммуникатор HTC MAX 4G, как мы помним, эксклюзивный аппарат для российского рынка и, в частности, оператора Yota. Однако почти в одно время с анонсом MAX 4G состоялся анонс европейской версии этого аппарата в немного другом дизайне и без WiMAX-модуля – HTC HD.

Не берусь на сто процентов утверждать повторение этой ситуации для HTC EVA 4G, но по всем признакам она должна повториться, возможно, в несколько ином ключе, например, европейская версия выйдет спустя полгода или около того, будет изменен не только дизайн, но и часть характеристик. Но причин для не-выпуска аналога EVO для других рынков у компании попросту нет, единственное ограничение, которое существует сегодня, - это HTC Desire, текущий флагман компании на Android, который в некоторых странах только-только поступает в продажу и, очевидно, должен некоторое время быть топовым продуктом на этих рынках, чтобы получить продажи.

В США аппарат появится летом этого года, о цене никакой информации нет. Остается ждать новых анонсов компании, чтобы понять ее планы и то, изменились ли они после анонса компании Samsung, и если да, то насколько кардинально HTC пересмотрела свой график смены одного флагмана другим.

Перспективы аппарата оценивать сложно, он будет продаваться на совершенно другом рынке, по совершенно другим правилам с контрактами, по ценам иного уровня, так что просто подведу итог по самому аппарату. Компания, с одной стороны, выпустила, очевидно, сильнейшее для себя устройство на Android, по многим параметрам лучшее на рынке, а сравнивать EVO можно сегодня только с Galaxy S. C другой стороны, все понимают, и, надеюсь, HTC тоже, что своим анонсом компания сильно подставляет продажи Desire. Тот факт, что EVO выпущен только для американского рынка и не будет работать в 2G-сетях, роли не играет. Аппарат анонсирован, о нем узнают миллионы пользователей и обладателей других продуктов от HTC по всему миру и задумаются, а стоит ли им переходить на Desire, если вот-вот, через полгода или чуть больше, в Европе появится такая железка.

Обсуждение на форуме >>>

Артем Лутфуллин (artem@mobile-review.com)
Twitter
Опубликовано - 25 марта 2010 г.


Купить в ulmart

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

24.10.2017 2 ноября презентуют всё-таки HTC U11 Plus

24.10.2017 «Живые» фото новых смартфонов Xiaomi c экранами 18:9

24.10.2017 «Лаборатория Касперского» раскроет исходный код своих продуктов

Hit

23.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор компактного флагмана Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact

23.10.2017 Pay with Google использует автозаполнение форм

23.10.2017 У Google Pixel 2 XL возникли проблемы с экранами

23.10.2017 Intel предложила формулу оценки безопасности беспилотных автомобилей

23.10.2017 Через легитимные приложения пользователей Mac заражали вирусом

23.10.2017 Китайцы сертифицировали новый таинственный смартфон от HTC

23.10.2017 МТС закупит оборудование Ericsson на 400 миллионов евро для подготовки к запуску 5G и IoT

23.10.2017 Боливийский смартфон с российской ОС появится в России в следующем году

23.10.2017 Сбербанк может в этом году запустить своего собственного мобильного оператора в Москве

20.10.2017 Скрытая кнопка меню в Pixel 2 оказалась «багом», а не «фичей»

20.10.2017 Vivo официально дебютирует на новых рынках, включая Россию

20.10.2017 HTC представит новый смартфон 2 ноября

20.10.2017 Российские покупатели могут приобрести программу видеонаблюдения Faceter, которая распознаёт лица

20.10.2017 Bosch: Обновление ПО автомобилей через интернет скоро станет стандартной функцией современных автомобилей

20.10.2017 МГТС будет раздавать абонентам 4К телевизоры

20.10.2017 Samsung опубликовал технические характеристики на свой защищённый планшет Galaxy Tab Active2

20.10.2017 HMD представила новый смартфон среднего уровня Nokia 7

19.10.2017 Microsoft прекратила поддержку Lumia 640

19.10.2017 Взрывы аккумуляторов смартфонов продолжаются: Moto E4 Plus

19.10.2017 Рендеры HTC U11 Plus подтверждают сохранение дизайна

19.10.2017 Второе поколение Bixby научится управлять умным домом

19.10.2017 «Лаборатория Касперского» обнаружила в свободной продаже программу для кражи денег из банкоматов

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.